We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a lovely antique place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bernini Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bernini Palace Hotel
Ranked #29 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“What a lovely antique place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for three night me, my wife and my two kids.
The 1st moment you got in, you feel how important you are to tho hotel staff, it was really an amazing attitude, the receptionist went with us to the rooms to make sure we like :)
The location was beyond perfect, you are in the middle of the beautiful Florence, make you feels the love in every corner
Rooms are so nice
For a 4 Starr hotel, it worth an excellent review

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SALEISSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluadvance, Direttore at Bernini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Madame,
thank you very much for your nice words.
We are proud of our precious Palace so we are really pleased to learn that you appreciated it.
Our Staff has been more than pleased to assist you,
We look forward to welcome you again,

David Foschi
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    258
    54
    28
    13
See reviews for
209
611
41
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We found this hotel via tripadvisor itself so thank you. Our trip to Florence was one of rest and recuperation after a difficult time and we wanted everything to be as easy as possible. This hotel is in a great location and easy to get to from the train station. It's near to the Duomo and the Uffizi and only a short walk to the river and the beautiful covered bridge. The rate included breakfast and we were very happy with what was offered in the inclusive rate. The pastries and the hot bacon and cold meats are all lovely and there are various juices and cereals as well. It made life a lot easier than finding an open cafe early in the morning every day.
The only thing that worried me slightly when we arrived at the hotel was that we were then informed that the restaurant was closed for 2 weeks. I'd have really liked to have been told about this when we booked. I realise we went off season but we weren't really up to any hassle and it took the shine off a little. On the plus side though the barman at the hotel bar was really good at suggesting places nearby to go for dinner though and this helped a lot.
I've read the reviews that say there were no tea and coffee facilities in the rooms or water but in my experience that’s normal for European hotels. The tea/coffee thing seems to be a very British thing I think. The staff were so nice I suspect that if you ask for this they would try to arrange it. There are a few little supermarkets nearby where you can pick up water.
The room we had was near the back of the hotel on the 4th floor and overlooked a small courtyard. It was quiet and was really spacious, the bed was comfy and everything was very clean with a lovely tiled floor. The bathroom was big and the shower was over the bath but did what it said on the tin although there was a small leak from the shower door onto the floor which I'm glad we spotted otherwise we'd have slipped. The only other thing was the air conditioning doesn't really work and the room we had was very warm even in February when the temperature outside didn't get above 14 degrees c. One tip I would give if you are anything like us and think oh well we'll just leave the window open - don't. We forgot that midgies are around all year round and ended up with a few bites. Our own fault though. Although, if we were to go back I'd check about air conditioning.
The best thing about this hotel is the staff, who are very welcoming and friendly. On check in the receptionist sorted everything out with my husband and then showed us to our room herself and made sure we were happy and a porter brought our bags up for us. The barman at the hotel bar was particularly lovely and willing to chat and point out the best places to go and things to see. He's an absolute star. The bar area is beautifully set out with comfy chairs and low tables and we succumbed to the lure of a night cap a couple of times, mostly due to the service and welcome we received. I was also tempted into the hot chocolate which arrived in a large silver jug and is served with various shorbread biscuits. It tasted exactly like molten chocolate - just the thing to salve a girl's wounds.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms towards the back of the hotel on a floor that's above street level as they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angela0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluadvance, Direttore at Bernini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Bernini Palace Hotel.
We are happy to learn that you appreciated our location and our breakfast in the amazing Sala del Parlamento.
Unfortunately during your stay the restaurant has been closed for some maintenance, we re-opened it in one week. We hope you will have the opportunity to try our menu as soon as possible.
Our Staff has been more than pleased to assist you,
we look forward to welcome you again,

David Foschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costa mesa
Level Contributor
239 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We were expecting more from the Bernini Palace Hotel.

The good points are location, location, location.

However, small things let it down, like charging extras for breakfast for squeezed orange juice, porridge, eggs, I mean come on, it is breakfast and the room rate includes breakfast which should encompass all breakfast items and not be penny pinching charging extra. However the breakfast food quality was below par, so would not have paid extra for these items.

We got the impression that the management of the hotel were penny pinchers, so it didn't exude the luxury we expected from a 4* hotel.

The internet code had to be re-entered which is annoying. No tea or coffee facilities or water in the room.

Recommend rooms away from street level as the noise outside does reach the hotel and can be annoying.

Not sure if we would go back to the Bernini we were expecting luxury and it didn't deliver.

However, the staff are super friendly at the hotel and cannot make any negatives regarding the staff.

Room Tip: Choose rooms away from street level and at the back of the hotel, the noise does carry and seems to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blink99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

A colleague suggested this hotel and he was right. its in the center of everything very walkable, clean with a great breakfast, helpful staff and well kept. we were able to walk to all the great sites, from duomo to uffizzi, and the hotel was able to make our reservations for us. couldn't have been easier.....

Room Tip: ask for a room in the front for the view but make sure you dont mind a little street noise until 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spbeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluadvance, Direttore at Bernini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your nice words.
We are happy to learn you appreciated our central location, our rooms and our services.
We look forward to welcome you again,

David Foschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We drove from Rome to Florence on December 26th without a reservation and plugged the US Consulate into the GPS. That ended up being a great random point to start in Florence because it put us right in front of the Bernini Palace Hotel. They had rooms available and we spent three of the best night you could have imagined in Florence. The Hotel was right near the Uffizi Museum and Piazza della Signoria. It was walking distance to all of the major points in the city and had great service. The staff was courteous and helpful. The consigner was thorough, knowledgeable, helpful and detail oriented. They truly made our stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishpat85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluadvance, Direttore at Bernini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your precious feedback.

Looking forward to welcome you again at the Bernini Palace Hotel we remain,

With best regards,

David Foschi - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange NSW AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

The Bernini palace hotel in Florence is location, location. We stayed for 3 nights over the weekend.Unfortunately the great location was noisy each night and the Friday night noise on the street did not cease until about 5 am.
The room itself was really nice, very clean and decorated beautifully. The bathroom was large and had a lovely soaking bath. It was clean and had the little touches of a 5 star hotel.
We had spoken to staff to get advice on tours and we had a cooking class arranged at TOuch ristorante was was fantastic, we had so much fun there we went back for dinner that night. The other tour was appalling and a total rip off. We arranged for a private mini van to take us and show us the sights of Tuscany. Our driver, Silvio, was no tour guide. He was on his mobile ph non stop and gave us very little information about the areas we were visiting. He dropped us at each place, and was in a hurry to get back to Florence in the afternoon. We had been told that we would go to a vineyard in the chianti region but they were all conveniently shut.
I guess my advice is don't book tours through the hotel, yes they organized the cooking class which was great by the other one was appalling.
The bar area is very nice in this hotel and the service good. The most disappointing thing about this hotel was the inconsistencies, it should have been amazing but the noise and the terrible tour to the Tuscan area pulled it up very short of amazing.

Room Tip: Any room away from the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BecJ43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Immaculate hotel, situated perfectly in the centre of cultural attractions.
The bar service in particular is excellent. I recommend afternoon coffee, even if not a resident. At 10€ for 2 including biscuit selection it's a perfect retreat away from the crowds.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CarricktoRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#15 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#19 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#23 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernini Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernini Palace Hotel

Property: Bernini Palace Hotel
Address: Piazza di San Firenze 29, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#27 Business Hotel in Florence
#35 Family Hotel in Florence
#42 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bernini Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 15th century “Palazzo”, the Hotel Bernini is built according to the Classic Florentine architectural style, with string-course cornices along the walls and wooden shutters giving it a charming antique flavor. The Bernini Palace is located in Florence’s historic center, right behind Piazza della Signoria - just a stone’s throw from the Uffizi and Florence’s main historical attractions. The rooms are 74, Classic, Superior, Deluxe, Junior Suite and Suite, all are fitted out with the best, most up-to-date mod-cons and still preserve the charm of the past. The Tuscan Floor is reminiscent of old world Tuscan colours and themes, very warm and inviting. The new restaurant La Chiostrina is located in a historical courtyard of the hotel, it is the ideal place for delicious gastronimic specialities in Florence, its versatility makes it an excellent restaurant offering an innovative menu. A full breakfast is served in the magnificent Sala Parlamento (complete with a splendid frescoed ceiling) formerly a meeting place for members of Parliament and Senators of the Kingdom of Italy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Bernini Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernini Palace By Baglioni Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing