We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel With A Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bernini Palace Hotel
Ranked #34 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I recently spent several days at the Bernini Palace and loved every second of our stay. The facility is gorgeous and the central location could not be better. Located behind the Uffizi, the hotel is a short walk to all the major sights in Florence yet was absolutely quiet in all areas of the hotel.

We booked a junior suite on a non-Tuscan floor and loved the bright, cheerful decor. The room was spacious, quiet, and very comfortable with a wonderful bed and large bathroom. We found the employees at the hotel were consistently helpful and warmly greeted us each night when we returned to the hotel. Breakfast in the amazing morning room were complete and included toasts, cereals, fruits, meats, cheese, scrambled eggs, a variety of pastries and cappuccinos.

We absolutely loved Florence and hope to return to the Bernini Palace on a future trip!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LightFighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

633 - 639 of 1,234 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

After living for 4 stays in a closet-like room in Rome, staying here at Bernini lives up to its name - a Palace !

After checkin, 2 staff members escorted us to the room ! One had the luggage and the checkin person described all the amenities. This was amazing service. The Rome hotel basically had the porter do that part of the work.

We got a real bathroom with 2 sinks, sink-tub-shower, real tile floors, exquisite linen sheets, real TV with English language channels as well as 3 chairs in the room to sit on. In Rome, it was just 1 chair.

The breakfast buffet is a princely experience. 20' ceilings - lovely service by 3 to 4 service staff - even for self service -- was amazing ! 4 to 5 newspapers to choose from in English to other languages.

The staff in the lobby were generally helpful -- and many cases, open the door as you exit or enter. The evening turndown service was automatic.

Most of all, it's quite central - just right behind the Palazzo Vechio / Uffizi.

This is hopefully a place I will return to stay again and again !

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montegobay88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We reached Bernini at around 5pm from Sorrento (via Naples). When we checked (we had booked a Junior suite) in we were taken to Room 117 (I believe it is called the Tuscan Floor). It was dark and scary. When we entered the room it was black as night and we needed to use lamps to see anything. The heavy drapes cut of what little natural light there was and the dark (almost medieval looking) furniture made things worse. The highlight was the bathroom which was light and well designed.

My wife freaked. As Indians we are used to seeing the sun. She headed back to the reception and asked for a better room. Initially we were told that we would have to upgrade our room to get a better room and this room was the only Junior suite they had. Finally my wife met a lady manager who requested her to stay in room 117 for 1 night and we would be moved to another room the next morning (we were woken up at 6;30 by the noises the staff made while getting the hotel ready).

The next morning we had a scheduled walking tour of Florence at 9am (the original Florence walk). So we had to cancel this and as promised we were shifted to Room 509. Room 509 was everything Room 117 was not. It was bright, airy and had a view of the Piazza.

The staff were all very helpful. We heard some guests complaining about their rooms being cold and ours was a bit cold too but not really unbearable. We were told that Italy has some rule about not turning on heaters in May so if May is cold your room will be cold. Night temps in May 2013 dropped to 13-14 deg. C and day temps were around 18-22 deg. C.

Other than this one hiccup (change of rooms) we can safely say that Bernini is a place we would use again. It is well located and the buffet breakfast was very good (eggs other than scrambled were chargeable). My brother in law is visiting Florence in July and we have recommended he use Bernini for his stay too. Of all the hotels we visited (including Rome, Sorrento, Venice) in Italy, Bernini gave us the best experience.

So what prevent the 5 stars - for one thing the first room (room 117) we had. Additional pointers - at least offer guests free water bottles (Hotel Artemide in Rome offers a free mini bar) and a hotel of this standard should not charge of omelettes and other egg breakfasts (scrambled and boiled were part of the buffet).

Room Tip: Get a room on the 2nd or 5th floor. 1st floor has no view, the 3rd floor makes you walk half a floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Navin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hotel Bernin was clean, elegant and the service was outstanding. Great location right in the middle of everything. So beautiful, but makes you feel like it was back in the day!! Only downfall were the linen sheets.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FoodieChick214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary by treating ourselves with a trip by train through Italy. We arrived by train and took a taxi to the Bernini Palace. Not necessary. The hotel is within walking distance. In fact, its with walking distance to everything! Perfect location. We loved strolling thru town after a romantic dinner. The city has everything.
The hotel was perfect. Many amenities with friendly and helpful staff. Its one of our favorite memories.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheftate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The staff made us feel at home the moment we arrived and throughout our stay they were always helpful. The service, cleanliness and the standards are an optimium class found only in 5 star superior hotels. The Bernini Palace offers an above average service in every respect and is ideally located to tour Firenze. The breakfast buffet was reasonable and we had dinner once at the hotel which was also of a high quality. I strongly recommend this hotel. R Spiteri

Room Tip: Choose a room from the Tuscan Executive range. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Excellent hotel, clean and staff faultless. Brilliant location just adjacent to the Uffizi and ideal for the city on foot. However the restaurant was very disappointing. We ate there one evening and to be honest grossly overpriced......it looks ok and competitively priced so you are tempted but believe me the quality just isnt there. Pay the same or slightly less outside and get a better meal. Otherwise the hotel.....great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,890 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 410 in Florence
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lungarno
#9 of 410 in Florence
1,291 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#14 of 410 in Florence
1,312 reviews
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol - Starhotels Collezione
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernini Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernini Palace Hotel

Address: Piazza di San Firenze 29, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Florence
#29 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#30 Family Hotel in Florence
#42 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $261 - $640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bernini Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 15th century “Palazzo”, the Hotel Bernini is built according to the Classic Florentine architectural style, with string-course cornices along the walls and wooden shutters giving it a charming antique flavor. The Bernini Palace is located in Florence’s historic center, right behind Piazza della Signoria - just a stone’s throw from the Uffizi and Florence’s main historical attractions. The rooms are 74, Classic, Superior, Deluxe, Junior Suite and Suite, all are fitted out with the best, most up-to-date mod-cons and still preserve the charm of the past. The Tuscan Floor is reminiscent of old world Tuscan colours and themes, very warm and inviting. The new restaurant La Chiostrina is located in a historical courtyard of the hotel, it is the ideal place for delicious gastronimic specialities in Florence, its versatility makes it an excellent restaurant offering an innovative menu. A full breakfast is served in the magnificent Sala Parlamento (complete with a splendid frescoed ceiling) formerly a meeting place for members of Parliament and Senators of the Kingdom of Italy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bernini Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernini Palace By Baglioni Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing