We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bernini Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bernini Palace Hotel
Ranked #36 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was my first (of hopefully several) visits to Florence and my stay at Bernini Palace was WONDERFUL!! The location was perfect. I rarely felt I was more than 15 minutes walk from anywhere (assuming I didn't get lost ;0))The staff was friendly, efficient and extremely helpful; especially the late night/earlier morning reception staff.

My fourth floor room was charming, clean and very well kept. The breakfast buffet was fresh and plentiful and its service was far more elegant and attentive than I expected. The only time the service seemed a bit off was on a Saturday morning when the breakfast room was fairly crowded. As an art lover, I really enjoyed having breakfast surrounded by the lovely portraits and other frescoes. I also enjoyed sitting at the bar with a well-mixed cocktail and chatting with fellow guests.

Returning to the Bernini Palace after a long morning or day of sight-seeing was truly a pleasure. I can't wait until my next visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDinDMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    245
    48
    26
    13
See reviews for
187
543
37
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rye Brook, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel had both highs and lows. The location was wonderful right in the center of everything which made it super convenient. The porter service was wonderful and we were greeted with smiles everytime. The Breakfast offered a decent selection and the mornign staff serving were always very pleasant. On the down side although the overall appearance of the hotel was lovely the room we had was extremely run down and for the prices you would hope that even the basic rooms would be a little more up to par. Furniture was damaged, not all the outlets worked, some of the fixtures were broken and the tub/shower was extremely slow to drain (which in these all buildings are to be expected I know that but it drained THAT slow that it is worth a mention). Our overall experience with the staff was great, their were just a few individuals behind the reception desk that were a bit stuffy and not very helpful but I would say that was the exception. I would still recommend this hotel but unlike us if you are not happy with your room, speak up.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amcinerney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband & I stayed at the Bernini in early September. We stayed in a suite on the second floor. It was extremely quiet and comfortable. The bathroom was quite large with double sinks and plenty of towels, etc. The location was perfect, right smack in the middle of Florence and close to great restaurants and sites. The breakfast was good and the staff was very attentive. We would definitely recommend this hotel to family & friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I recently stayed at the Bernini in Floence Italy.
Although it is part of chain, you get the feeling it is a family owned boutique hotel.
The staff is well trained and is there to help andmake your stay as comfortable as possible.
A special mention is due to Valentina at the front desk who corrected a problem without hesitation and with grace; Enzo who found a hard to find item I found I suddenly needed.
The location is excellent- close to the Duomo, the Uffizi and the pedestrian shopping street.

I can’t compliment the hotel enough and recommend it to anyone who vacations in Florence.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crownachiever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is convenient to everything and certainly comfortable. They have great concierges and a really good breakfast. I do not hesitate to recommend and I will probably return. Great linens and beautiful decor. Went over and beyond expectations.

Room Tip: The more beautiful rooms are not on the Tuscan Floor although it is quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I've stayed at two other 4-star hotels in Florence before and this is my new favorite!

Excellent location! One short block from Piazza della Signoria! I could see the Fountain of Neptune from the hotel entrance!

Discreet exterior. Beautiful and elegant hotel lobby.

VERY FRIENDLY, EXCELLENT staff who made me feel SO WELCOME :) Arrived late by train from Milano and the super friendly staff who checked me in (sorry forgot to get his name) helped me call one of my favorite restaurants in Florence (Ristorante Paoli) at 10:15pm to tell them I'd be coming over soon and please stay open for me at 10:30pm which is their normal closing time. Thanks SO MUCH again for your help! Much appreciated!!!

The night staff gentleman was also very friendly and helpful. Always willing to help. (unlike the cold staff including one rude with attitude staff at Palace Bonvecchiati in Venice: please STAY AWAY from Palace Bonvecchiati!!!)

I booked a Superior Double Room. Good size room and spacious bathroom with closet space, double sink, bath tub. Elegant chandelier over the bed which was pretty comfy and room quiet.

The main photo on tripadvisor the hotel shows is the ceiling fresco painting in the breakfast room with double height ceiling. Breakfast buffet was nice with good selections including some hot food and champagne brut. Too bad I don't drink!

I think that's silk wallpaper in the room? It is beautiful but unfortunately it is light (golden) color and it has some dirty marks on it. Same goes for the light (off white) paint on the walls. Probably time for a fresh coat of paint and maybe clean the wallpaper if it can be cleaned?

Would love to return next time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cuteasianjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in October for five days through a deal with BA. The hotel is in a perfect location - ideal for popping back to between visiting the sights. Staff at the hotel are very pleasant - they helped us out to get tickets for the football. The breakfast staff were incredibly organised under the charge of Christian. Breakfast was very good - enjoyed the champagne! Room was a reasonable size and the bed was extremely comfortable. I need to invest in some linen sheets!
Overall this is a beautiful hotel which I would most definitey go back to. It didn't bother me, but was mentioned by my fellow travellers that they would have liked a kettle in the room. I guess I was too preoccupied by the complimentary chocolates.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indysowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#20 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#21 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 823 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#16 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#1 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#9 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 1,059 reviews
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
#124 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernini Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernini Palace Hotel

Property: Bernini Palace Hotel
Address: Piazza San Firenze 29, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#27 Business Hotel in Florence
#35 Family Hotel in Florence
#42 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bernini Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 15th century “Palazzo”, the Hotel Bernini is built according to the Classic Florentine architectural style, with string-course cornices along the walls and wooden shutters giving it a charming antique flavor. The Bernini Palace is located in Florence’s historic center, right behind Piazza della Signoria - just a stone’s throw from the Uffizi and Florence’s main historical attractions. The rooms are 74, Classic, Superior, Deluxe, Junior Suite and Suite, all are fitted out with the best, most up-to-date mod-cons and still preserve the charm of the past. The Tuscan Floor is reminiscent of old world Tuscan colours and themes, very warm and inviting. The new restaurant La Chiostrina is located in a historical courtyard of the hotel, it is the ideal place for delicious gastronimic specialities in Florence, its versatility makes it an excellent restaurant offering an innovative menu. A full breakfast is served in the magnificent Sala Parlamento (complete with a splendid frescoed ceiling) formerly a meeting place for members of Parliament and Senators of the Kingdom of Italy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bernini Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernini Palace By Baglioni Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing