We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bernini Palace Hotel
Ranked #34 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We had a great experience at this hotel. The staff were very friendly. The room was spacious and included a great bathroom. The hotel had a terrace with lounge chairs and a hot tub.

The location was perfect - short walk to the Arno river, Uffizi Gallery and St. Croce church.

We would definitely return to this hotel but ask for a better view from our window.

Room Tip: We booked ahead through Expedia and got a great nightly rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

806 - 812 of 1,216 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed at the Bernini Palace for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon, we were upgraded on arrival to a room in the Tuscan Executive Suite (first floor). The room itself looked fabulous and had a decent size bathroom. The hotel is located close to all of the main attractions in Florence with most of them only up to a 10 minute walk away, though it is located in the centre of Florence it still seemed very quiet. The breakfast was a good start to the day with all the usual things you would see from an Italian breakfast and all served in grand ballroom. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Bernini for 3 nights with the family. We reserved a Jr suite which was able to accommodate a family of 4 (2 twin beds in addition to a King). The location is awesome - right next to Uffizi and Piazza Della Signorina. We walked everywhere - Duomo, Leonardo Museum, Panto Vecchio. The staff was very helpful. The only knock on it is the breakfast - it was pretty weak. We ended up not eating very much. I hope they see this review and improve it greatly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed for 7 nights at the Bernini Palace and absolutely loved our stay. The hotel is in a perfect location - it's a quick walk to all the major sites but removed enough that it was quiet and not that crowded near the hotel. The staff was excellent and was able to help us make dinner and taxi reservations. The breakfast every morning was wonderful - proscuitto and fresh melon, eggs, granola, made to order coffee/cappucinos - they had it all! Our room was very spacious and nice, with a beautiful bathroom. It was so nice to have such a clean, comfy, and COOL (central AC!) room to come back to every night. We will definitely stay here next time we're in Florence!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank CaraP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Stayed for four nights and had a great stay. The hotel is situated in the centre of Florence about 20 min walk from the station. The staff at the hotel were all very pleasant and helpful advising on directions, organising taxis etc. The rooms we had were pleasantly spacious and were kept very clean. We would stay here again if we ever re-vist.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank river21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Went to Florence for my girlfriends birthday and stopped at the Bernini Palace, after recently coming back from Dubai. The room was not ready when we arrived and so we ventured out into the city.

Great location for all of the sights, and very walkablew to all.

We returned to the hotel a couple of hours later, the foyer very impressive with bar and attentive staff. The room that we had was similar to a room under the stairs, with a gally bathroom (only one person could get in there at one time). We did speak to reception but nothing was sorted. Shower leaked and so each morning the bathroom was like a swimming pool. Iron and iron board (mini one) were available if requested, but you had to return them each night.

We wanted to try a restaurant as recommended on trip advisor and left the details with the conceirage, but he failed to reserve us a table, and even after badgering him whilst we were sat in the bar, he made no calls and then said that the restaurant was full !

There is a hot tub on the 5th floor, which has some nice views from.

Overall, a good short break, but we would probably of liked to stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Look at room before committing to it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andymax7575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

While the interior photos of Bernini Palace Hotel show the calm and classy decor alas the same adjectives cannot be used for the staff.
At this price range some things are a given- a cool calm interior to retreat to after a day in the city, sizeable rooms and dare I write it, courteous staff. For me, the last point is the most important. While I appreciate that it may not be easy dealing with tourists all day long I expect a level of professionalism, even at the end of the day, which I found lacking at the Bernini palace.

In a city like Florence, with so many good hotels to choose from, I would find it hard to go back to this one.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyclingsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#15 of 410 in Florence
1,282 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
San Firenze Suites & Spa
San Firenze Suites & Spa
#7 of 410 in Florence
618 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#26 of 410 in Florence
1,034 reviews
Hotel Lungarno
#11 of 410 in Florence
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernini Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernini Palace Hotel

Address: Piazza di San Firenze 29, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Florence
#29 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#35 Family Hotel in Florence
#42 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $268 - $970 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bernini Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 15th century “Palazzo”, the Hotel Bernini is built according to the Classic Florentine architectural style, with string-course cornices along the walls and wooden shutters giving it a charming antique flavor. The Bernini Palace is located in Florence’s historic center, right behind Piazza della Signoria - just a stone’s throw from the Uffizi and Florence’s main historical attractions. The rooms are 74, Classic, Superior, Deluxe, Junior Suite and Suite, all are fitted out with the best, most up-to-date mod-cons and still preserve the charm of the past. The Tuscan Floor is reminiscent of old world Tuscan colours and themes, very warm and inviting. The new restaurant La Chiostrina is located in a historical courtyard of the hotel, it is the ideal place for delicious gastronimic specialities in Florence, its versatility makes it an excellent restaurant offering an innovative menu. A full breakfast is served in the magnificent Sala Parlamento (complete with a splendid frescoed ceiling) formerly a meeting place for members of Parliament and Senators of the Kingdom of Italy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bernini Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernini Palace By Baglioni Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing