We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great location, great food!”

Il David Ristorante Firenze
Reserve with
Il David Ristorante Firenze is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #759 of 2,763 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Uffizi
Sliema, null, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service, great location, great food!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Whilst looking at the menu displayed outside the Il David restaurant we were immediately greeted by 2 of their waiters who were very welcoming and polite. We decided to go in and were given the option to choose where we would like to sit. We were thrilled when one of the waiters offered us blankets to keep warm since it was quite chilly outside in the evening and he even courteously wrapped the blankets around our shoulders. Both waiters were charming and joked with us throughout the evening.

The restaurant menu is very vast with lots of options available and I must say, we were all extremely content with our choices - food was delicious, one of the best pizza's I have ever had! Moreover, the prices on the menu are very reasonable, especially considering the excellent location of the restaurant with an outside seating area in the beautiful Piazza della Signoria.

An all-round fantastic restaurant! Great food, great location and great service. Not sure of their names but we would like to say a big thank you to our waiters for their great hospitality, we hope to be back again soon!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikaela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    214
    119
    65
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were recommended to this restaurant by friends of ours of Italian heritage who said that they had the best lasagna they ever had when eating here. We decided to have lunch outside on the Piazza della Signoria. Although I'm not sure it was the very best, it certainly ranked in the top 5. Our waiter was charming and helpful and those of us who ordered other dishes were very satisfied with their choices. The spaghetti in clam sauce was a hit as was a tortellini dish, which unfortunately I cannot remember the name of.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jwein2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rethymnon, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very rude”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our first night in Florence, my husband and i with another couple, decided to visit il david restaurant. We made an order and we wait for our food. After 5 minutes a woman came and told us with a very rude way that we have to leave the restaurant because our plates were not enough. Very bad behaviour.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank evi83b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Was in Florence for the day and wanted a quick lunch. The location of the Il David in Piazza Signora is fantastic and the prices were very reasonable considering you were sitting outside in one of the famous piazzas in Florence. The waiter was surly (probably fed up with tourists) however the pizzas were OK and considering other reviews thought it was served quite quickly. Just a tip - my friend ordered a coke and I had a glass of red wine - the coke was more expensive than the wine! The loos were clean as well which is a bonus for Italy. All in all a great place stop in the centre of Florence.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, OH
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mistake to go here”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We arrived for lunch and were one of the only customers. Even though there weren't many others to attend to, we felt that service was slow and even when the waiter was attending to us he was looking elsewhere and not really listening. The food was disappointing. Our meals weren't very tasty and the bread was hard as a rock. There was a clear glass or plastic barricade around the perimeter of the restaurant that was probably there as insulation during cooler evenings; however in the warm afternoon sun we were absolutely roasting - adding to our miserable experience. We couldn't wait to leave. We knew dining in a touristy piazza was a risk, but we didn't realize it would be this bad.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RCrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il David Ristorante Firenze also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il David Ristorante Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing