We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,164)
Filter reviews
1,164 results
Traveler rating
358
434
207
89
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
358
434
207
89
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barastoria hoteltrain stationold palacesan lorenzobreakfast room isdecent sizeold world charmside streetfifth floorhotel is in a great locationpastriesmajor attractionsbeautiful roomon footan easy walkponte vecchio
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 1,164 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2017

The hotel has two small lifts which most of the time not working so have to walk the steps. Breakfast is the same every morning and food cold when they start at 7 am. There is no tea or coffee in rooms, but they will send you up hot water and cups but nothing else. Rooms are small so two bags in a room is a problem. Asked for a glass of ice, was told to go to the roof bar and the lady was upset she had to stop using her phone. I found this the worse Hotel in all of Italy.

Room Tip: room very small
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank kpurnell57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direzione H, Responsabile reception at Palazzo Gaddi, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Dear customer, thank you very much for taking the time to write to us.
With regards to the situation mentioned, we would like to inform you that during you stay we experienced a small problem with one of our lifts that was put under maintenance immediately the same day.
Another lift was operating normally. As per our breakfast, we are sorry it did not satisfy your expectations despite it is served on a buffet basis with a wide range of different products. No kettle is provided in the rooms for making your own tea/coffee but, as you said, we do serve hot water whenever requested, otherwise the bar is always open if your desire an hot drink served. We feel sorry for the bartender behavior, our staff is constantly trained to provide a very good service to our guests.
We thank you again for your attention and we hope to see you sometimes soon, our sincerest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017

This hotel is in a great location for discovering all the sights in Florence. The entrance and reception area are very grand and imposing. While our room was fairly spacious, the decor was tired and there was very little natural light. (Our view was of a small courtyard and spiral fire escape) . Still, we didn't plan to spend much time in our room as there is so much to do in this vibrant city. The Reception staff are extremely helpful but our one real moan was breakfast! The food was fine but staff were hardly to be seen, and after an influx of guests, tables were not cleared and the supply of cutlery, plates, cups ( and hot water and coffee) ran out - even at 8am! Guests were left to move used plates and dishes in order to find a place to sit. There were no staff around to notice this mayhem! Once a member of staff was found, and a few complaints were made, the tables were cleared, but this should be an ongoing process with a staff member overseeing the dining room throughout breakfast. I do hope this is rectified for future guests as it is not a good start to the day! (The rating I have given service is purely based on breakfast)

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welshdragon101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direzione H, Direttore at Palazzo Gaddi, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback about our hotel. Thank you for appreciating the central hotel location and our imposing hall. We are sorry to read that the room assigned was not responding to your expectations. We always try to match our guests preferences and if they request a different room typology, we always offer them an alternative choice, upon availability. With regards to the breakfast, we are sorry to be informed that the staff has not been so efficient as expected. We will forward this note to the f&b department in order to take action.
We would like to apologize again and hope you could consider to choose our hotel next time you will be in Florence, making you sure that we will try to do our best to make your stay a wonderful experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017

I had the pleasure of visiting Florence for a few days. I stayed at the B4 Astoria Hotel and I was most satisfied with the customer service. Sabina at reception went out of her way to make sure I was happy with my room and my overall stay - giving me very good advice about where to shop and printing anything I needed. Don't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mabrown3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017

The Astoria Hotel is a delightful location in the true heart of the charming city of Florence. The accomidations are 1st Class and the food is number one! If you want to visit this charming city, be sure you savor some delightful evenings at the Astoria! The roof top bar has this wonderful 360 degree view of the city with one of the best views in the evening. The service is outstanding and the rooms are wonderful.
Don't miss some of the other local cuisine too, and some great shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Dome!
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direzione H, Responsabile reception at Palazzo Gaddi, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2017

Dear guest, thank you very much for writing such a wonderful review, we are glad to hear that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us. The sunset on the terrace is quite breathtaking and the location is perfect to move around town and for shopping also. We hope you will come back here another time to enjoy again the amazing view from our roof top terrace, best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile

Spent three nights in August at this s Hotel, which we booked through Travelzoo. The hotel has seen better days and could do with a refurb. That said the room was reasonably spacious and very clean but TV was far too small. The Hotel staff were friendly and courteous throughout our stay. Breakfast was varied with something for everyone. It is just the dated decor and furnishings which let or down.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Chas2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direzione H, Direttore at Palazzo Gaddi, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017

Dear guest, thank you for writing us a feedback. We are very happy to know your stay has been very enjoyable. As regards our palace, we try to do our best in order to maintain its original features, in the common areas as in the rooms, by keeping a furniture that reminds the arte povera fiorentina, according to the style of that period. Sorry if it did not meet your preferences. Waiting to have you as our guest again, best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews