We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,184)
Filter reviews
1,185 results
Traveler rating
368
444
207
90
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
444
207
90
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar astoria hotel train station old palace san lorenzo breakfast room is decent size old world charm fifth floor side street beautiful hotel perfect location pastries major attractions beautiful room on foot an easy walk
Filter
Updating list...
348 - 353 of 1,185 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is a lovely, quaint, old hotel. It has a bit of wear around the edges, but the decor and the service make up for that. There is a lovely roof top terrace where you can sit and have wine while you look out over the Duomo. The staff were very helpful and patient. The only downside was that the bathtub shower leaked water all over the bathroom floor and when we told the desk staff about the problem, nothing was done to rectify the situation. Still, for the price, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

One of our main reasons for choosing this hotel was its location: about five minute's walk from both the railway station and the Duomo. And its location didn't disappoint. Other than that however, not much going for it. It's got lot's of character in the lobby and breakfast areas and rooms are large. But lots of little quibbles for a four star: no tea/coffee in room and difficult to get in general, mediocre breakfast, wifi only worked in lobby, not a proper double bed, general lack of amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and overall found the rooms very comfortable and clean and the hotel could not be in a better location - 5 mins walk walk from both the train station and the Duomo.

That said we did have some issues during our stay. We paid for a standard room which wad large but right next to the hotel's two, old lifts. This caused some noise added to the traffic from the corridors and roof terrace above. However the main issue was a very loud party on the roof terrace of the neighbouring hotel in our first night. We are not light sleepers and are a couple in our early 20s yet even even we felt like we were trying to sleep in a nightclub. We understand that this was an infrequent event however the hotel's handling of it left a lot to be desired. We complained to the reception twice in person (first at around 10.30 and then again at 11.30pm). Both times we got a frosty reception and the guy behind the desk seemed more interested in serving other customers than speaking to us. On the second occasion we discovered that another guest had been moved after our first complaint and that there was then no more rooms left, we simply 'had to put up with it'. He did phone the hotel manager of the othet hotel but was more apologetic to him for complaining than to us for the inconvenience. The music lasted until around 12.30am when it was then turned down to a slightly more manageable level. The staff the next morning could not have been more helpful when we raised our concerns and we were moved rooms that day. Other guests that morning were also complaining but to our knowledge there was no issue the following night.

Both rooms we stayed in were large and very comfortable. The bathrooms do need need updating (minor plumbing issues etc) but was clean. Breakfast was average - not a 4 star standard (orange squash instead of juice, little choice of hot food etc). In addition there was only wifi access in the lobby and not in the rooms, something which we expected in a 4 star hotel, and there were only 2 sockets in the rooms and not by the bed.

Overall the location is what makes this this hotel 4 star and on first appearance it looks more impressive than others in the area. They do however need to iron out a few wrinkles that can make all the difference. Worth a stay if you can get it for the right price.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are a good size but we found that they tended to be next to the lift shafts and there was as expected some noise as a result - specific request or ask to be moved straight away.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jemmapol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Having read the initial negative comments....On arrival, our assigned room was the size of a cupboard... Having complained, Sabrina was kind enough to move us.... But the hotel is overall very, very TIRED! Some of the rooms are well sized (not unless you assigned the cupboards, ie the first room on every floor)... The lack of maintance (shower cubicles leaked, there is only a single power point in the room, wifi restricted to lobby etc.)... It's a pity though, as the grand old lady would be a gem (primarily due to her position to the railway station and to star attractions and some of their staff, esp. Sabrina....)... Breakfast is only worth the view of the room... The plus was the staff, their assistance was of great value, the wonderful roof top terrace, wonderful lobby area...But that's it!!... With regret...

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank 02Slo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at the Boscolo Astoria in Florence for four nights, in early May, having travelled to Florence from Foggia.
Boscolo Astoria Hotel is very close to the Florence S.M.N. Railway Station; less than ten minutes walk. It is also within walking distance from the Duomo and the Cathedral. It is also only one hour by train to Pisa.
It is surrounded by many eating places and shops, which made it very convenient.
The room we had was big and clean but looked very tired the way it was furnished. The Bathroom was also clean but the fittings looked very old.
Our room overlooked the street, which made it very noisy.
The elevator was very small and could hardly fit three people.
We had dinner at the Hotel Restaurant one night and found the food to be excellent, with some lovely Tuscany Wine. The restaurant staff were very nice and helpful.
All in all it is an average hotel and whether it is value for money is questionable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingsleyhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews