We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel coveniently located in Florence!”
Review of B4 Astoria Firenze

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
B4 Astoria Firenze
Ranked #145 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on our recent visit to Florence. It's coveniently located within walking distance of the train station , the duomo, and the open air markets. We found the room to be spacious and the air-conditioning was very welcome! Also the breakfast is served in a lovely room with high ceiling. One thing we didn't like was the wifi was only accessible in the lobby and breakfast room -- but not in the guest rooms. But it was free -- so okay. Overall we thought this hotel was reasonably priced and in a great location for the things we wanted to see and do in Florence!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (974)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 974 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is a lovely, quaint, old hotel. It has a bit of wear around the edges, but the decor and the service make up for that. There is a lovely roof top terrace where you can sit and have wine while you look out over the Duomo. The staff were very helpful and patient. The only downside was that the bathtub shower leaked water all over the bathroom floor and when we told the desk staff about the problem, nothing was done to rectify the situation. Still, for the price, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

One of our main reasons for choosing this hotel was its location: about five minute's walk from both the railway station and the Duomo. And its location didn't disappoint. Other than that however, not much going for it. It's got lot's of character in the lobby and breakfast areas and rooms are large. But lots of little quibbles for a four star: no tea/coffee in room and difficult to get in general, mediocre breakfast, wifi only worked in lobby, not a proper double bed, general lack of amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and overall found the rooms very comfortable and clean and the hotel could not be in a better location - 5 mins walk walk from both the train station and the Duomo.

That said we did have some issues during our stay. We paid for a standard room which wad large but right next to the hotel's two, old lifts. This caused some noise added to the traffic from the corridors and roof terrace above. However the main issue was a very loud party on the roof terrace of the neighbouring hotel in our first night. We are not light sleepers and are a couple in our early 20s yet even even we felt like we were trying to sleep in a nightclub. We understand that this was an infrequent event however the hotel's handling of it left a lot to be desired. We complained to the reception twice in person (first at around 10.30 and then again at 11.30pm). Both times we got a frosty reception and the guy behind the desk seemed more interested in serving other customers than speaking to us. On the second occasion we discovered that another guest had been moved after our first complaint and that there was then no more rooms left, we simply 'had to put up with it'. He did phone the hotel manager of the othet hotel but was more apologetic to him for complaining than to us for the inconvenience. The music lasted until around 12.30am when it was then turned down to a slightly more manageable level. The staff the next morning could not have been more helpful when we raised our concerns and we were moved rooms that day. Other guests that morning were also complaining but to our knowledge there was no issue the following night.

Both rooms we stayed in were large and very comfortable. The bathrooms do need need updating (minor plumbing issues etc) but was clean. Breakfast was average - not a 4 star standard (orange squash instead of juice, little choice of hot food etc). In addition there was only wifi access in the lobby and not in the rooms, something which we expected in a 4 star hotel, and there were only 2 sockets in the rooms and not by the bed.

Overall the location is what makes this this hotel 4 star and on first appearance it looks more impressive than others in the area. They do however need to iron out a few wrinkles that can make all the difference. Worth a stay if you can get it for the right price.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are a good size but we found that they tended to be next to the lift shafts and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jemmapol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Having read the initial negative comments....On arrival, our assigned room was the size of a cupboard... Having complained, Sabrina was kind enough to move us.... But the hotel is overall very, very TIRED! Some of the rooms are well sized (not unless you assigned the cupboards, ie the first room on every floor)... The lack of maintance (shower cubicles leaked, there is only a single power point in the room, wifi restricted to lobby etc.)... It's a pity though, as the grand old lady would be a gem (primarily due to her position to the railway station and to star attractions and some of their staff, esp. Sabrina....)... Breakfast is only worth the view of the room... The plus was the staff, their assistance was of great value, the wonderful roof top terrace, wonderful lobby area...But that's it!!... With regret...

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank 02Slo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at the Boscolo Astoria in Florence for four nights, in early May, having travelled to Florence from Foggia.
Boscolo Astoria Hotel is very close to the Florence S.M.N. Railway Station; less than ten minutes walk. It is also within walking distance from the Duomo and the Cathedral. It is also only one hour by train to Pisa.
It is surrounded by many eating places and shops, which made it very convenient.
The room we had was big and clean but looked very tired the way it was furnished. The Bathroom was also clean but the fittings looked very old.
Our room overlooked the street, which made it very noisy.
The elevator was very small and could hardly fit three people.
We had dinner at the Hotel Restaurant one night and found the food to be excellent, with some lovely Tuscany Wine. The restaurant staff were very nice and helpful.
All in all it is an average hotel and whether it is value for money is questionable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingsleyhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just back, and I struggle as to what people do not like about this quaint old Hotel. It has a lovely history, and bang in the middle of Florence. We had a standard room, lovely and big, fantastic large very clean bathroom. Bedding changed everyday. We had the buffet breakfast, nothing to write home about, so if you are after a full English look elsewhere. Staff were excellent, and good English spoken. As for the roof terrace, it is a true sight to be seen, we had a drink in the evening and the view was just breathtaking. I have stayed in many, many hotel,s. I am sure you can say it may well be a little tired, but it has charm, and it is clean, and as for location just fantastic.

A note of warning we sat around the Duomo on our last night for a drink, I had my bag across my body for safe keeping, alas it was cut while we sat, and gone for good, although apart from my phone, and reading glasses nothing of value, so just be aware of how good they are .

I know the Americans we spoke to in the hotel, said they find it hard to come to Europe and not compare to the US, and they do struggle with the quirky and smaller hotel,s. For us we would return. It was only a five minute walk from the bus station, so for us all the boxes were ticked. I have to also ask, how long do people sit in a hotel room for? we were in and out as we did not want to waste a second of this lovely city.

If we were to return to Florence we would not hesitate to stay at the Boscolo again, a little gem in Florence.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kizzwizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
San Lorenzo
Hotel Art Atelier
Hotel Art Atelier
#124 of 410 in Florence
443 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Atlantic Palace
Hotel Atlantic Palace
#136 of 410 in Florence
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#94 of 410 in Florence
863 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#76 of 410 in Florence
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B4 Astoria Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B4 Astoria Firenze

Address: Via del Giglio 9, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $105 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — B4 Astoria Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Boscolo Astoria Firenze is the ideal choice for your stay: you'll be accommodated in the rooms of the Palazzo Gaddi and Palazzo Arrighetti, historic buildings belonging to noble Florentine families, where art recounts the passage of centuries every step of the way. Indeed, it was while living at Palazzo Gaddi that the great English author John Milton found inspiration for his masterpiece, Paradise Lost, and in these very rooms that he wrote it. The noble past of Hotel Boscolo Astoria Firenze is also reflected in its location: the church of Santa Maria Novella, abounding in great art, is right nearby (as is the convenient railway station with the same name), and a short stroll will take you directly to Florence's historic centre. An undeniable advantage that puts the most beautiful areas of the city right at your fingertips. The prestigious salons of the luxury Hotel Boscolo Astoria Firenze, decorated in original Florentine Baroque style, are the perfect backdrop for important events. The restaurant will pamper you with typical Tuscany and Mediterranean dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your B4 Astoria Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing