We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truly superb stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Lucchesi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Ranked #55 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A truly superb stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed her for three nights over a long weekend. We found the Lucchesi to be an excellent hotel with very friendly, helpful staff. We were upgraded on arrival and found ourselves to be in a balcony room looking out over San Croce and the Duomo. Excellent views.

Breakfast was good, the room was clean and very well presented. The staff at the hotel were superb. The concierge was able to provide a huge wealth of advice for getting around and when would be a good time to see various parts of the city. He also managed to get us tickets for the Fiorentina vs Juventus game at very short notice. The location is great. A short walk gets you into the centre and the major attractions are all well within walking distance.

When we are next in Florence, we will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Stay away from the riverside to get great views of the Duomo and San Croce.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mr8kc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    399
    115
    43
    25
See reviews for
321
650
41
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as part of a business trip. Had a single room, and I was told I had been upgraded....wondered what the initial room would have been. The room was ok, no more, not my style, but that is personal taste. From other reviews, I see people enjoyed the breakfast, I found it quite sad...croissants tasted like the ones you buy in the supermarket with a one-year expiry date, not fresh at all. Pre-packed toast....haven't seen that anywhere before. So zero points for breakfast. Location wise, this as a good pick, close to the river and musea. Friendly staff, except for the concierge....was waiting for a taxi and was observing him for some time when responding to other guests...I think it's time he retires, think he cannot stand tourists anymore;-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bo-Boheme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Booked through Trailfinders. A great place to stay and explore the city. We were over looking the river and found the road abit noisy, but it was great having the view up and down the Arno. Excellent breakfast - eat as much as you like buffet so really good to set you up for the day in the city,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here as a solo traveller for three nights. My double romm was very spacious with a large bathroom and separate dressing area. furniture and decoration was traditional and I had a huge balacony overlooking the Santa Croce ( yo could here the bells ringing) and Dumo in background...all added to the atmosphere. The hotel has a lovely lounge area with lots of large sofas which are ideal of you want to spend some time reading up on guide bookes with a drink without being confined to your room. Felt very comfortable as a solo traveller in there however the dining room was less relaxing as they insisted on squeezing me in between couples on small tables and at breakfast beiing so close to to other people made me feel self conscious. On one quieter morning I managed to get a larger circular table at the window which was a totally different and relaxing experience. Overall the hotel is in a fabuous location, a bit of a walk to the main centre but right on the banks of the river Arno which you can follow allow to Ponte Veccio and the Uffizi easily in 10 minutes. Staff on the whole were very friendly and I would certainly stay here again with frriends, family or alone. One tip would be, dont bother asking to use their archaic PC and internet access. the connection is so slow that my time was up before I had accessed everything I needed to. Use the internet company in town which is a real bargain and high speed connection. However this seemed fitting enough as its not an all mod cons type of place but one of elegant laid back sophistication where you can slow down and think about what you are there to see, if like me you want to learn about this fascinating and beautiful city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank climberjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayville
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

From the moment we checked in we fell in love with this place. The Staff was very welcoming & kind. Our room was large and the windows were incredible when opened. We were right next to a Church so when the bell chimed we would open the windows and listen. Our location was with walking distance to many attractions and some great restaurants. The Hotel restaurant served delicious foods as well. The breakfast was a feast for anyone who like to eat sweets. Our room was always clean when we came back from a day of sight seeing. I only wished WI fi was available in room instead of lobby. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by this little gem of a hotel. While we were only there for one night our room was a very spacious duplex with a fantastic view of the Arno. Only complaint was that it was an incredibly hot day during an extended heat wave we arrived drenched and thirsty... noone could find us a bottle of water anywhere... front desk had none and directed me to the bar which was closed, they rang the bellman and he was clueless as to where to find some. We were perfectly willing to buy water but none was available. this was repeated the next day as well... A bit of advice for management, if temperature is north of 95 degrees, the front desk should have a few bottles stashed under the desk. Would have been a nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acrist623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel was in a great location. We were two bridges away from the Ponte Veccio and right next to a bus line which was nice because it will take you to the train station. The room was spacious and had a great view of the river. The breakfast room was not that great and neither was the breakfast. It was nice that the hotel did have bikes to rent for free and was nice to use to get around.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#54 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Lucchesi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Lucchesi Hotel

Property: Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Address: 38 Lungarno della Zecca Vecchia, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#38 Business Hotel in Florence
#41 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#42 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza Lucchesi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Plaza Lucchesi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Lucchesi Florence
Hotel Plaza Lucchesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing