We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,642)
Filter reviews
1,642 results
Traveler rating
922
550
110
39
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
922
550
110
39
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect location great hotel breakfast room piazza della signoria street noise gelato train station pastries by european standards walking distance uffizi gallery cold cuts two blocks minute walk the heart of the city mini bar the air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,642 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile



The visit to Florence was memorable but the hotel definitely was not. Very average & poor customer service.
Some of the disappointments regarding the hotel Calzaiuoli were as follows:
Very poor view from the room ie onto a brick wall less than six feet away!!
Made the room very dark.
No complimentary small bottles of water or any beverages available after a long journey. No greeting from receptionist on arrival.
Bathroom hairdryer kept switching off after 15 seconds! Suggest bringing your own.
Soap was minute & poor quality, no hair conditioner.
General state of the bedroom was old fashioned & dingy, needs updating.
Breakfast room all dark brown decor, dingy & outdated.
Reception staff were very off hand & totally disinterested eg When I paid the bill they didn’t ask if we had a pleasent stay or even say thank you!
All in all would never stay at the Calzaiuoli again or at any other FH hotel group hotel.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Vacation735612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calzfirenze, Direttore at FH55 Calzaiuoli Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jan/Guest, I am really disappointed to read that your stay hasn’t been in line with your expectations.

Your comment has been reported and verified with my team and I can confirm that front desk staff did the best to satisfy all your requests in terms of room and furniture. I personally checked your room and I also confirm that everything in the room is working well.

Our Hotel is in the centre of the city, for this reason, in some rooms we can’t guarantee a good brightness in cloudy days, but we also offer very bright rooms with a breathtaking view over monuments.

Our Guests can also enjoy every afternoon a refreshment to regenerate and relax after travelling or going around Florence, this service is very much appreciated and it’s free of charge. This year, Hotel Calzaiuoli renovated Prestige and Superior rooms overlooking the famous Duomo as well as the reception and the welcome area, we are sorry if you perceived our Hotel like a dated one. Furthermore, our staff has always been working in the hospitality sector putting customer care first, and it sounds strange that you didn’t perceive it, and we are sure that with our Viprogram you had enjoyed benefits that would have make your stay exclusive.

Thank you for sharing.
Best regards
Michele Bricci
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2018

We enjoyed our stay at the Calzaiuoli Hotel. This was our 6th time staying here and we were always satisfied. Staff is very friendly especially Oreste, Michele & Raymond at the front desk. The newly refurbished rooms are lovely and very comfortable. Bathrooms now need an uplift. Location is fantastic. Breakfast can be improved slightly. On the whole, we were very very satisfied ☺️

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lara_Dunbar_Cousin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calzfirenze, Direttore at FH55 Calzaiuoli Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Lara, thank you for sharing with us and other travellers your experience at Hotel Calzaiuoli. We are delighted to learn that the quality of the service provided by the team has turned you into a regular visitors and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for many more stays to come. Your comment represents a truthful incentive to constantly work at our utmost and will be shared with the team. For a next stay at our hotel, we suggest you to subscribe on our Viprogram, a loyalty program designed to offer our direct guests benefits that will make their stay exclusive. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards.
Michele Bricci
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2018

Great hotel with the very best people. Room 408 is perhaps the smallest hotel room I have ever had but the people make it enjoyable. Great professionals. The very best location for safe walking, sights and restaurants.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sightsee761974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2018

A perfect location! Easy walking distance to the beautiful Ponte Vecchio, Duomo, Uffizi .... all the major Florentine stops. The hotel location made seeing the city on foot quite manageable. We were completely satisfied with our breakfast: an elegantly appointed room, filled with delicious and sustaining treats, courteous staff ready to assist. We were able to have a good breakfast and coffee and make it to our tour in plenty of time. The room was exquisite; quite luxurious. The accommodations were lovely, clean, and comfortable. Completely happy with our stay, I highly recommend Calzaiouli Hotel and look forward to staying there again! Grazie Mile for a memorable trip to Florence.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Inspiration314179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calzfirenze, Direttore at FH55 Calzaiuoli Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2018

Dear Guest, thank you for sharing with us such an enthusiastic and detailed review following your stay at Hotel Calzaiuoli. We are so happy to learn of your overall satisfaction with your stay and your comments give us the right sprint to continue on working hard to keep and enhance our standards. For a next stay at our hotel, we suggest you to subscribe on our Viprogram, a loyalty program designed to offer our direct guests benefits that will make their stay exclusive. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards.
Michele Bricci
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2018

A superb hotel in every which way. Outstanding location, service, breakfast, cleanliness and warmth. The property was beyond our expectations and was a good value for money too. We look forward for coming again. Thank you.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank manojnagrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calzfirenze, Direttore at FH55 Calzaiuoli Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest, thank you for your kind words. We work with passion to constantly provide the best service to our valued Guests and I am so happy to learn that you loved our hospitality and the atmosphere at our Hotel. Looking forward to welcoming you in FH55 Hotels. Kind regards.
Michele Bricci
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews