We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
Ranked #54 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel and our stay was average. We always check tripadvisor before booking a hotel and believe in the hotel ratings. So with all the good reviews, we expected a lot, and I think it fell short.

Upon arriving at the hotel, the man at the front desk told us we were in room 105. Having read all of the 'terrible' one-star reviews on tripadvisor, I knew that all of the worst rooms are on the first floor. So we asked the gentleman if there wan another room on a higher floor we could stay in. He told us all of the rooms were booked and that 105 is all that is available. We told him we can't stay on the first floor because we heard it's noisy from both the street and from the breakfast room in the morning. He kept saying nothing was available, so then we said we would leave since we hadn't paid yet. Suddenly a room on the fourth floor became available! How miraculous!

We go to our room and it's a decent size and looks ok. The location of the hotel is really good as it's right on a busy street and close to everything.

The negatives are, well, the service we got on the first day, and that the bathroom is very narrow. It's like a long hall. The bathtub is open so that water sprays all over the floor. The bed was not very soft either.

The breakfast buffet was included but lacked a lot of good options. There was juice/coffee/tea, some pastries, fruit, eggs, sausages and cold cuts which sounds good but the quality was lacking.

In a nutshell, the hotel was ok, the breakfast was nothing to write home about, but the service on the first day regarding a room change was poor. After having seen where the room would have been, I can't believe they would even offer that room to customers. My advice is that the hotel is ok, AS LONG AS YOU ARE NOT ANYWHERE ON THE FIRST FLOOR, I.E. THE 100'S. You will get street noise (we could even hear the street from the 4th floor so I can't imagine what the first floor would be like) and the rooms are in between the kitchen and the breakfast room so from early morning you will be woken up by kitchen sounds.

Room Tip: Avoid staying on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mastablastas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 437 of 1,482 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

Very nice hotel right in the centre of Florence.You step out onto one of the main shopping street and the bustle of this spectacular city. Its just 100 metres from the Piazza Della Signoria and most if not all the sights.Great restaurants are within walking distance from the hotel so you won't be needing taxis.We had a very nice and very large junior suite which was beautifully decorated and well soundproofed in the newer end of the building.We took advantage of the 3 night stay and got a discounted rate as advertised on their website.Breakfast was simple and nice in quality however its a tight squeeze in the small dining room even early in the mornings.I travel on business to Florence regularly and this is definitely one of the best in the category.Highly recommended at the right rate.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dec o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Pros. Spotlessly clean and comfortable room. Quiet (room 211). Friendly, helpful and professional staff. Excellent breakfast. Central location.
Cons. The safe refused to lock and the hair dryer kept coming apart and, despite us asking for these to be fixed, they weren't. Thankfully we had a solid suitcase with good padlock in which to leave our valuables during our stay but that's not the point. If a facility is advertised one would expect to find it in working order in a quality hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Osbog23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is a block from the Duomo on the main street of Florence so you have an easy walk to almost everything you might want to see. Excellent service behind the desk. Lovely buffet breakfast. Large, well-appointed rooms, especially if you're upgraded. Only negative: because you're in the middle of everything, there is a problem with street noise on the weekends. As someone who lives in a big city, this doesn't bother me; in fact, I sort of like it. So if you need King Tut's Tomb to get some rest, you might want to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Requesting a room away from the street might help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maimonChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Fantastic location! This hotel is located in the heart of Florence; very close to the Duomo, Baptistry, Uffizi, everything. Hotel is quaintly old and as such did creak at night but there were no noises from the outside. Nice breakfast. While efficient, staff were not overly friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Pretty centrally located. In the middle if the main touristy sights. Try to get off the beaten path for local flare. U can walk pretty much anywhere. The restaurant recommendations were good from the staff

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olsonclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We reserved just a Classic Room because we knew we would be out most of the time and just wanted a good location to sleep. As you've read, the location cannot be beat. The staff was friendly and our room was ready when we arrived at 10:30. Our room was on the 4th floor on the main street because we wanted to look out on it and experience it. If you are bothered by noise, this may not be the room for you. There are several bars nearby and we woke the first night a couple of "gentlemen" belting their hearts out. But we were in Florence and that was the charm for us :). The Classic Room is small, but the bathroom is clean and updated and had a very nice shower. We enjoyed ourselves and found the breakfast to be delicious and more than ample. We would have a hard time finding anything to complain about because we were thoroughly delighted with the experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,960 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#35 of 410 in Florence
2,097 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#45 of 410 in Florence
1,883 reviews
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 410 in Florence
3,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FH Calzaiuoli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FH Calzaiuoli Hotel

Address: Via Dei Calzaiuoli 6, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#42 Family Hotel in Florence
#76 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $137 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — FH Calzaiuoli Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Calzaiuoli is a 4 stars hotel in the historical centre of Florence, 2 minutes walk from Uffizi Gallery and from Cathedral and 10 minutes walk from train station.53 Rooms, wifi connection free, continental buffett breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your FH Calzaiuoli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calzaiuoli Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing