We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,753)
Filter reviews
2,754 results
Traveler rating
1,150
1,023
331
166
84
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,150
1,023
331
166
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant train station top floor old world charm classic hotel roof garden breakfast room high ceilings room was large loved this hotel santa maria novella major attractions hotel is in a great location four nights old building beautiful city within easy walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 2,754 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2018

As another reviewer pointed out, this is an old world hotel that is proud of its heritage. We enjoyed our stay in a large and charming room with a sofa, chair, table, desk and windows that opened from an enclosed balcony onto the busy street below. We requested a walk in shower and the bathroom was huge! I only wish I had know to ask for a matteess topper because the bed was very hard. We found the housekeeping staff very efficient and helpful ( especially when we had trouble getting into our room! ) The front desk staff provided a sack breakfast for us on the day we had to leave the hotel before the dining room opened. It was quite substantial!
The breakfast was included and offered a large variety. The views from the dining room are spectacular!

Room tip: Don't book on 4th floor. There was a wedding reception above us the first night!
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaglioniHotelmanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2018

Dear Helen S
We are very glad to read your review and we are very proud that we were able to accomplish your needs during your staying. Since so many years Grand Hotel Baglioni is a distinctive product of Florentine hospitality, its strategic position near the train station and in the heart of historical centre, make it perfect for any kind of travelers, leisure or business.
Hope you come back soon as our precious guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2018

The hotel is only 10 min walk from train station in an excellent position also 10 min walk to Duomo and Basilica. Hotel is old and quite dark but on the whole well maintained. Our room which was a superior was large and clean with tea and coffee making facilities and free safe and mini bar with soft drinks and water. We also had a great view of the Duomo and Bell tower. Slippers and toiletries also provided. The standard rooms looked quite small and had no view so worth upgrading. The restaurant, where breakfast is served, is on the top floor and has excellent views of the city. The breakfast had good selection mainly continental although scrambled egg and bacon was available. The rooftop bar was also lovely but expensive as was the restaurant for evening meals. Free wifi was available although this wasn't great. Not all staff were friendly especially at breakfast. They obviously had a problem with drains also during our stay which led to quite an unpleasant smell and took a couple of days to sort. Would recommend but would suggest booking a superior room.

Room tip: Book superior room for size and views
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaglioniHotelmanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2018

Dear Sarah C,
It was really a great compliment to receive your positive feedback about our hotel and the services we provided. It is always helpful and rewarding to understand that our guests are truly happy and that many efforts to care and pay attention to all our customers have been noted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2018 via mobile

Beware from this accommodation. Incompetent, rude, disparaging personal.
The smell in this hotel is absolutely bad smelling, in the front of the rooftop restaurant is a persistent strong feces smell. Worst accommodation in my life!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Bogdan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaglioniHotelmanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2018

Dear Bogdan D
I would like to give you my most sincere apologize about the smell we had in the Hotel during your staying. Unfortunately the smell was due to a technical problem we had at the sewer system, even if we have immediately took action in order to solve that issue, it took a few days to get back at the normal.
I really hope you will consider to stay with us if you ever come back in Florence.
Once again please accept my apologize for the nuisance caused.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2018

This property location is strategically located for easy access to the top Florence historic locations, and steps from the central train station. The Staff was most helpful and professional. The rooftop bar and terrace are ideally placed and comfortably appointed, while also providing a "hidden" spectacular view of the Duomo, etc. The included continental breakfast had a wide variety of offerings hot, cold, fresh and delicious, along with a comfortable way to start your day with Florence cityscape views.

Room tip: Request "full" bathroom as some rooms have "really" small dimensions
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaglioniHotelmanager, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Dear Micheal J,
thank you so much for this fantastic report of your stay!
It was a real pleasure meeting you and we hope to see you again at the Grand Hotel Baglioni.
Arrivederci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2018

This hotel is exactly what I would have pictured in my mind if I was to imagine the quintessentially charming Italian hotel. First, you can't beat the location. Very close to many of the attractions and sights. A grocery right around the corner. Walking distance to the train station. Great restaurants nearby.

The rooms were beautiful and romantic. Although this is an older hotel, the rooms were very well kept, and the bathrooms updated with new (relatively) fixtures that had the period correct style. The lobby and hallways are in very good condition, but reflect the period style and grace from an earlier time.

The rooftop area is amazing. Beautiful views (especially at night) and a great place to relax after a log day of sightseeing. Breakfast was also delightful - great selection of things to eat, including sparkling wine!

We plan to return to Florence some day, and would not think of staying anywhere else. This hotel made our stay even more special.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bearcat004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaglioniHotelmanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2018

Dear bearcat004
I would like to thank you for leaving this nice review on Tripadvisor and for sharing your experience at Grand Hotel Baglioni.
Customer satisfaction is our primary goal, therefore we are very satisfied that you have appreciated our hotel and services. We are also very glad to hear that you have spent some lovely days in our beautiful city.
Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews