We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
Ranked #111 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Expected everything in Italy to be smaller. Very surprised and refreshed to find a beautiful hotel with spacious and beautiful accommodations. Breakfast on the roof was beautiful. Dinner at the roof left much to be desired...but who eats dinner at their hotel anyways. Excellent location. Would stay there again when we return without reservation.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spudski67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    797
    269
    137
    70
See reviews for
402
774
90
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Grand Hotel Baglioni is grand in name only ! The building itself is impressive, however the sleep is disturbed by noise. The walls must be thin, you can hear toilets being flushed, showers running the place is noisy. Staff can be rude. We requested a kettle so we could make tea, but was told no because of safety, however It turns out if you have a deluxe room they will provide you with tea and coffee making supplies. I saw a member of staff carrying a tray with kettle into a Deluxe room. We met another Lady who had experienced the same problem. The mattress on the bed was hard. The shower temperature changes when it wants to. We did not use the Hotel Rooftop restaurant, except for breakfast because it is far too expensive. The Hotel has rated itself as five Stars, but believe me it is flat out at ★★★ the hotel promotes something called The red carpet treatment. I think if you pay Top price perhaps the service would improve. Not impressed and would not recommend. The one positive thing is its location near the train station.

Room Tip: Lower Floor Less Noise From restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel was used as a part stay between a River Cruise in Venice and land stay in Rome. Conveniently situated almost directly opposite the rail station it was in walking distance of almost everything. Rooms were large but dark (but this was only to be be expected in an old Florence building) and comfortable and we had the added advantage of having a mini balcony from which we could see the Duomo. The rooms remained cool even on the hottest days and often without the use of air conditioning which was an added advantage. The highlight is most definitely the view from the roof top terrace - a must do if you stay here - both early morning and early evening - spectacular. Some guests had a few issues with some of the personnel but we had no complaints at all. We only had breakfast at the hotel which was average compared to what we had been used to.

Room Tip: Top floor at the back for views - not many rooms had a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 255060Angela_v_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

We have been to the roof top a couple of times and would say this is the best place to view the city and have a drink. Yes the service is a bit slow but just soak up the sites. They usually serve chips and nuts with your drink and have not been disappointed.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had a beautiful suite on the second floor. The room was dark, with heavy furniture, but quite large, so it didn't feel claustrophobic. The location is about five minutes from the train station and within walking distance of all museums, etc. The buffet breakfast was extensive and the rooftop bar very pretty. We were able to get a triple, which is helpful when traveling as a family. (King size bed plus single; not three single beds!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amybriskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

I was really looking forward to staying here, but the single room was smalland dark at the end of what seemed like an endless corridor. It was more like a converted servant's quarters. The desk staff were very snooty...but turned on the charm to the guests from the Far East or America. Was my Scottish accent looked down upon? My euros held the same value..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Our first, and hopefully not last time in Florence.
This is a very traditional hotel with cool dark interiors, very professional and friendly staff
We will definitely return if the opportunity presents.
We stayed on a bed and breakfast deal, the breakfast in the great restaurant has amazing views over Florence and the roof top restaurant/bar has AMAZING views over the city, which is even more beautiful at night.
Breakfast is a buffet with an excellent selection of food, again with kind attentive staff.
The maitre'd was so helpful in inviting us and showing us round.
We had a 3 bed room which was spacious, clean and with every facility you could need. The bathroom was fully updated with a very nice selection of toiletries.
Very fast free WiFi also included.
Location of this hotel is perfect for train station and a very short walk to all the main tourist sights.
We had a late flight/train journey, so the hotel looked after our bags free of charge for the full day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OOK_Librarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#56 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#28 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#19 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#63 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#34 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze

Property: Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
Address: Piazza Dell'Unita' Italiana 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#77 Business Hotel in Florence
#103 Family Hotel in Florence
#142 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Hotel set in converted palace, located downtown, near Conference Center & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing