We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Don't stay at Hotel but had drinks on the roof top” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
Ranked #111 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't stay at Hotel but had drinks on the roof top”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

We have been to the roof top a couple of times and would say this is the best place to view the city and have a drink. Yes the service is a bit slow but just soak up the sites. They usually serve chips and nuts with your drink and have not been disappointed.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    794
    269
    137
    70
See reviews for
400
774
89
404
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had a beautiful suite on the second floor. The room was dark, with heavy furniture, but quite large, so it didn't feel claustrophobic. The location is about five minutes from the train station and within walking distance of all museums, etc. The buffet breakfast was extensive and the rooftop bar very pretty. We were able to get a triple, which is helpful when traveling as a family. (King size bed plus single; not three single beds!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amybriskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

I was really looking forward to staying here, but the single room was smalland dark at the end of what seemed like an endless corridor. It was more like a converted servant's quarters. The desk staff were very snooty...but turned on the charm to the guests from the Far East or America. Was my Scottish accent looked down upon? My euros held the same value..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Our first, and hopefully not last time in Florence.
This is a very traditional hotel with cool dark interiors, very professional and friendly staff
We will definitely return if the opportunity presents.
We stayed on a bed and breakfast deal, the breakfast in the great restaurant has amazing views over Florence and the roof top restaurant/bar has AMAZING views over the city, which is even more beautiful at night.
Breakfast is a buffet with an excellent selection of food, again with kind attentive staff.
The maitre'd was so helpful in inviting us and showing us round.
We had a 3 bed room which was spacious, clean and with every facility you could need. The bathroom was fully updated with a very nice selection of toiletries.
Very fast free WiFi also included.
Location of this hotel is perfect for train station and a very short walk to all the main tourist sights.
We had a late flight/train journey, so the hotel looked after our bags free of charge for the full day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OOK_Librarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Third time to Florence and first time at this hotel. I will definitely return. Very helpful front desk people. Great restaurant and maitre'd. He was so helpful in setting up a lovely anniversary dinner. Location of this hotel is perfect from train station and short walk to all the tourist sights. Their valet service parked our car and it was a perfect stay. Be sure to go to the rooftop for a drink in the evening and take pictures with the city of Florence in the background, it's picture postcard perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

This an old, tired hotel with dark interiors with a rabbit warren of rooms connected with narrow hallways - located across from the train station
The rooms were dark and a little shabby, but surprisingly the bathrooms were modern and well equipped, plus nice toiletries
Staff were helpful
Nice breakfast with good views

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RabaulUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

My mother and I stayed here for 2 nights whilst traveling through Italy in May. The hotel itself is beautiful and very close to the train station which was great for us.
Our room was lovely, clean and comfortable however we were on the side of the hotel and during the night we could hear people shouting at each other and police cars screaming past.
Breakfast was very nice and the view from the roof top terrace is amazing.
I would stay here again but I would ask for a room on the quieter side of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leighandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#56 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#29 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#19 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#64 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#34 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze

Property: Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
Address: Piazza Dell'Unita' Italiana 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#77 Business Hotel in Florence
#103 Family Hotel in Florence
#142 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Hotel set in converted palace, located downtown, near Conference Center & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing