We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time to Italy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
Ranked #103 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I visited Florence for 3 weeks with my 2 sisters and sister in laws. We had wonderful rooms at the Baglioni Hotel. Across the street from the train station. We traveled to other cities on the train. The staff at the hotel was wonderful. Bar staff was awesome. Took total care of us, gave us ice for our room, let us visit in their lounge with comfort. Great coffee and cocktails and snacks. The dining room was incredible. The view was fantastic from the top of the hotel. Wonderful food and staff took wonderful care of us. We had a private driver to Assisi and tour of a winery with tasting, lunch and lessons of how to drink wine . Wonderful day in the country. Geovonie, our driver, was wonderful and took great care of us in the comfort of the Mercades van. Thanks to this hotel for making iur dreams come true. We also took the on and off bus tour of the city and enjoyed all the sights of this beautiful city. Local restaurants, markets, stores, street markets were wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pehouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

696 - 702 of 2,476 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

This hotel is ideally situated for visiting Florence with the train/coach station just a two minute walk away and the Duomo and tourist Florence a five minutes stroll. We stayed in a standard double room which was small but clean and comfortable my only complaint would be a tired looking bathroom in need of updating, there was plenty to choose from for breakfast with stunning views across the city from the restaurant, they also have a roof terrace with amazing views however although temperatures were in the mid twenties this was not being used (it was October so was apparently shut for winter) all in all a good choice for a long weekend in Florence.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank KelBowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We are staying here now for two nights (30 Jan and 1 Feb) on a company outing. We booked 5 standard rooms and paid an extra £20 for a deluxe double room. They put us in room 152 which is large, on the first floor with a view of the tall unattractive building across the street. I do not know what is "deluxe" about it. However one of the "standard" rooms is on the 4th floor with a glorious room of the Duomo and we are all meeting there for a drink before going to dinner.
Other than this criticism, we agree with the other reviewers and the location cannot be faulted. The roof terrace and restaurant are now closed.

Room Tip: Ask for a standard 4th floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robinp500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My associates and I visit the Grand Hotel Baglioni twice a year and are never disappointed! Their mini suites are spacious and comfortable and the service is impeccable. A very copious and delicious breakfast is served in the fifth floor restaurant with the most breath taking panoramic view of Florence below. The friendly and helpful staff and management cannot do enough for its guests.
Fabrizio Valgiusti, the General Manager, is always welcoming. He remembers the names of his guests and makes them feel like old friends.
It is an old world grand hotel in the heart of amazing Florence!

Room Tip: Strongly suggest a mini suite on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sion E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Just got back from a lovely 3 night break in this lovely historical hotel. Firstly, it's a very old building so expect atmosphere, Italian dark wood, and traditional "old school " very polite service, don't expect chrome and modernist! We upgraded our booked room to a suite (admitted not cheap!) but we got separate lounge, dressing area bedroom and a lovely view of il duomo, listening to the church bells was fantastic! Great bathroom with powerful shower, bidet and massive sinks. The top floor restaurant although being returned is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and breakfast was excellent. All self serve with delicious scrambled eggs, bacon and the usual cold continental offerings and yes the view is amazing, on our last morning we watched the sunrise over the hills in mist which was worthy of a Turner painting! But the best thing about this hotel is its location, perfect for walking to anywhere in Florence, great for local excellent eateries and a must is a early morning visit to mercado central, amazing local produce, fish cheeses, pasta etc so colourful!
I loved this hotel. It's also mentioned in Dan Browns Inferno, which is a great read as it's mostly based in Florence!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank THE2KSSTOURBRIDGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. You prob can see this hotel is more than 4 star hotel and everything is PERFECT (except that Roof top garden & restaurant were closed for construction at that time). Most of must-see places to go within 10min walk(just a 3min walk distance to SMN st.),having uncountable nice restaurants and shops around,kind staffs ,comfortable classic room and BF full of variety. I'd say my choice was totally right:)))

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Marvelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Great location to see all the sights , very impressive inside , with good sized bedrooms , best feature is the roof top terrace , fantastic views over the city and a great place to have a glass of wine or dinner . Staff at reception were helpful and polite , unfortunately bar staff and restaurant staff didn't have a clue , service was pretty bad , and breakfast in the restaurant was akin to a rugby scrum .The big issue we did have was that there was renovation work going on with drill hammers next door to the point that they drilled a hole through the wall into our bedroom , they did apologise , but should not have happened .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#30 of 411 in Florence
1,714 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,917 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 411 in Florence
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#50 of 411 in Florence
2,047 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Santa Croce
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
#53 of 411 in Florence
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze

Address: Piazza Dell'Unita' Italiana 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#71 Family Hotel in Florence
#78 Business Hotel in Florence
#142 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $147 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Hotel set in converted palace, located downtown, near Conference Center & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing