We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not even there yet, so excited!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
Ranked #104 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My 4 sisters and I will soon experience your hotel and menu offerings, so looking forward to this once in a lifetime trip to Florence Italy! Our rooms are reserved adjoining us together, we plan on having the time of our lives, celebrating a milestone birthday in a comfortable traditional Hotel with fine dining, great wines, lots of pillows and really good coffee! See you in a few weeks!

Room Tip: Corner sounds great!
Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank wezi926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,362)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

650 - 656 of 2,363 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

Good...

* Deluxe room was very spacious (small entrance hall, massive bed, sofa, chair, table, desk, 2 wardrobes, his and her sinks, 2 person bath etc.) and well decorated.
* Receptionists we spoke to were both friendly and helpful.
* Concierge was helpful and recommended a couple of good restaurants and booked us in (even after us changing our minds).
* Location - 3 mins walk to the station, 10 mins stroll to the Duomo/Uffizi/Ponte Vecchio/Pallazzo Vecchio etc.

OK...

* Breakfast was ok - bread/yoghurts/fruit/pastries/cereal/pasta/cheese/ham/juice etc. but nothing special.

Bad...

* Air conditioning wasn't working and the room was quite hot so we didn't sleep well
* Rooftop restaurant with the great view was closed for a refurb (main reason we chose this hotel compared to others).

Nice old hotel with plenty of charm but we'd check beforehand that the aircon is working and the rooftop restaurant is open if visiting again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_And_Mrs_J_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We were in town for a conference. The beds were very nice. The fixtures very nice. The male concierge was not friendly - and my mother wouldn't go down there to talk to him again. Loved the Venetian plaster walls - but they don't insulate the walls at all and don't back-to-back the plumbing so the bathroom next door was right on the other side of our desk. We heard EVERYTHING that went on in there.
They need to get a new air freshener for the elevators. I had seen a lady whom I assume was a housekeeping supervisor walking around spraying pine scented spray. After someone vented in the elevator - then it just smelled like piney farts (sorry - really).
Breakfast buffet was good. I really would like to have dinner on their roof in the summer.
Very convenient to the train station.
Hint - our flight was diverted to Pisa due to fog in Florence. Pay for your own bus at the Pisa airport. It will take you right to the train station in Florence instead of to the Florence airport that the airline coordinated bus would have done. Then we didn't have to figure out how to get to downtown. Best buy on the whole trip for 6 euros!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front very noisy (they face the train station). But the windows were double insulated.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This was our third visit this year to this user friendly, caring hotel in the heart of Florence.
We love renaissance Florence for its tradition, wealth of knowledge in art, sculpture and its
surrounding Tuscan countryside with easy rail access to Siena, Rome, Venice and Naples.
Our family including our grandchildren, on their first visit to this breath taking, beautiful city
and the comfortable " home from home" Le Grand Hotel Baglioni, really enjoyed our stay and
we intend to keep coming back to this magical place.
The Baglioni is very conveniently situated, close to the Duomo, the main Rail and Bus Stations, the beautiful Piazzas, not too far to the Ponte Vecchio and the wonderful Pitti Palace Gardens.
The Baglioni staff are friendly and very helpful and it was " home from home" !.
We hope to be back in 2014 !.
Herman & Cecilia Ziegelaar

Room Tip: Try the rooms facing the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herman z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in December. Best location for all attractions, everything in walking distance. Top floor restaurant closed for refurb so restaurant moved downstairs. Breakfast very mediocre unfortunately , terrible coffee for Italy! Reception staff pleasant, concierge could do better in terms of personal service.we were in a family room which was very adequate for a family of 4, King bed very comfortable and 2 singles which the kids loved. No English tv channels thought except for bbc news and cnn. Bathroom small but acceptable. All in all a good hotel and one of the better ones in Florence . Nicely furnished and more traditional .

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shahla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed at the Baglioni for 4 nights in December 2013. The location was great, the room was very nice and super clean, the breakfasts were good and the staff was nice. The view from the top is amazing. The hotel restaurant and drinks were expensive ... we enjoyed the breakfasts and then ate other places.

The only reason I didn't give it a 5* rating is because our room was behind the 'renovation' area, so our view of the square went through the scaffolding and netting. We asked for a different room and were turned down ... and we didn't know up-front that the renovation was going on. Otherwise, I thought this was a good spot. We didn't experience any of the difficulties mentioned by others. Yeah, the lights were dim, but that's typical ...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NROA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Another surprise ob our Italian journey...Grand Hotel Baglioni was fantastic...Great rooms with huge bathrooms...view from dining room on top floor beautiful..A 3 minute walk from Florence Railway...walking distance to everything...will be back

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#49 of 411 in Florence
1,983 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#27 of 411 in Florence
1,670 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#44 of 411 in Florence
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#58 of 411 in Florence
1,408 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 411 in Florence
2,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze

Address: Piazza Dell'Unita' Italiana 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#78 Business Hotel in Florence
#103 Family Hotel in Florence
#142 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $163 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Hotel set in converted palace, located downtown, near Conference Center & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing