We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location great, all else poor ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
Ranked #105 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for location near city just opposite train station, then this is fine. It fails on all other aspects except for historical. Dark and creepy hallways and musty carpets, wifi too slow, front desk especially concierge is extremely rude. No place for your own amenities in bathroom, no latch on door. Asked for a non smoking room was told at front desk at check in it is but the room had smoke odors from previous guest. A very tieed old hotel that needa refurbiahment. The hallways on the same flpor has many stairs up and down and splits the floor level. Choose only for location and dont mond the rooms and service.

3  Thank Tony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

783 - 789 of 2,448 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband & I unexpectedly stumbled upon this hotel after being booked at another hotel very far from the heart of Florence that we were unhappy with due to the distance from the town. We walked in and were lucky enough to get a reservation even though they were quite busy with a men's fashion week show. The room was spectacular! Everything you might imagine of a hotel room in Italy! Beautiful wood floors, high coffed ceilings, a garden terrace outside our room, and a spacious, CLEAN white marble bathroom with all the amenities. Not only was the room extremely comfortable and included a beautiful breakfast each morning, but the 3 hotel concierges were extremely helpfu, patientl and knowledgeable about where to go and where to eat! The hotel was literally across the street from the train station, which made our day trips to other towns very easy, and central to the main heart of Florence so we were able to walk everywhere with ease and were always very close to our room if we needed something. I would definitely recommend the hotel and hope to be able to visit it again one day.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and had a garden terrace right outside the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Huge bedroom, big wardrobe (with plenty of coat hangers), good showers and bath, very clean, good variety of food to eat for breakfast while enjoying the wonderful view. All the staff were very polite. Location good for railway station and the city itself. Loads of eateries in the near area. Check out the view from the rooftop terrace, where you can have a meal or a nice cup of cappuccino!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have visited this hotel for drinks on the roof terrace on numerous occasions and this time its the last, the service is awful, I'm not sure if its because your not staying at the hotel, but we order a bottle of champagne and every time it takes forever and a day to arrive, if it wasn't for the views we would go without waiting for it to arrive, But the last time was the last I'm sure there's better places to spend your money with just as good view.. Bring on the cosmopolitan Hotel...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HayleyGirardier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaglioniHotelmanager, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

I am very sorry you couldn't fully enjoy your experience at our Roof Garden. The standards we have set at the American Bar are extremely high, which is how we have garnered such popularity. At the moment to me is hard to understand what it could be happened, however please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you encountered.
I hope you will reconsider your position and possibly decide to spend once more a nice time enjoying "your drink with a view"!
Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Late arrival and really good reception. Room was upgraded but terrible noise when trying to get some rest. People shouting and noise of water running... On the other hand wonderful bathroom. Breakfast was at 5th floor but inside the building, not allowed to go outside and enjoy the view of wonderful Florence
. Will not recommend this hotel, had high expectations.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Jeroen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaglioniHotelmanager, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. In the other hand I regret very much having not fully responded to your expectations. I am also very sorry to learn that even if a very good reception, a wonderful bathroom and our inner breakfast room with a spectacular view of the city (outside we only serve american bar service and dinner) were much appreciated you would not recommend us.
I hope you could reconsider your position in order to give me the great pleasure to welcome back soon!
Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I love this hotel and have stayed many many times, great location and great roof top bar and restaurant.

However this time the service was terrible. I waited 1 hour 20 mins for a tomato salad then a cold grilled chicken turned up 1 hour later.

When I complained I was told there were 50 diners and things take time, they eventually apologised when i had to go and try to make them settle my account.

Breakfast was packed half empty plates not what it used to be like.

Lots of students pretending to be waiters who had trouble serving, did not feel like a luxury hotel!

On my last day and asked about having any stamps to send some postcards I was advised there would be a little extra to pay but instead of 65cents they wanted 3 euros per card.

That was the final insult as I left the hotel.

Generally poor service and I am considering if I will stay there again after 10 years.

When later in the day and I arrived in Milan at The Principe de Savoia, it was great.

Baglioni sort yourself out, if you are going to fill the hotel with American tourists you must not forget your business traveller who pays a premium price and can stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 150londonjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaglioniHotelmanager, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
I regret very much to hear that after many many appreciated stays with us this time we did not fully exceeded your expectations. To clear up your doubts I have to say that the current management is proudly working for the Hotel Baglioni since 2002 and that is completely and continuously aware of how important is the quality of service offered. At the moment I regretfully have no explanations for the disservice highlighted however, If this time we did not achieve our usual standards, please accept my sincere apologies. On regards of stamps surcharge I am afraid probably was due to a sort of misunderstood . The cost for 1 stamp is 85 €cent and, please let me say and assure all guests, that it is absolutely impossible that it could be over priced up to 3 euros.
I hope that on future visits to Florence will consider however staying again at the Hotel Baglioni in order for us to show you once more the well known exemplary service we provide.
Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Can not fault this hotel. It was a lovely hotel with a lot of history and tradition. It gives you a warm feeling and leaves you wanting more. Me and my husband enjoyed the roof top restaurant on the first night overlooking most of florence and the cathedral. It was amazing and so beautiful.
Good service all round and clean! which is a must for me. The room was cosy and was the right size for the two of us. As we were there for work we had good wifi and a lovely desk to work on.

Please please visit this hotel!

you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kirnjit s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#30 of 410 in Florence
1,705 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#54 of 410 in Florence
1,453 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#52 of 410 in Florence
2,027 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#67 of 410 in Florence
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze

Address: Piazza Dell'Unita' Italiana 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#78 Business Hotel in Florence
#103 Family Hotel in Florence
#142 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $141 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Hotel set in converted palace, located downtown, near Conference Center & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing