We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
Ranked #108 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Hotel location was good and close to almost everything. Train was only a few min walk away. Rooftop restaurant has the best view! Breakfast was better than we expected after reading the reviews. We found Florence to be a great city but a bit difficult to understand while walking around.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennyg37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    850
    278
    144
    72
See reviews for
433
826
91
449
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
141 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I did a lot of research to find a good class hotel near to the station that provided a hot breakfast to keep my husband happy. Was a little apprehensive after reading some reviews on here but this hotel I thought might be the best bet. Literally just over the road from the train station the hotel is an impressive period building exuding old world charm. There seemed to be a lot of staff making heavy weather of checking in a few people but never mind. Yes the room was dark and the bed firm but I had been forewarned. The room was beautiful, the bathroom huge and we slept very well.

Breakfast was very good, we didn't realise the first day but you could actually help yourself to a glass of Prosecco, which was well received the next day with it being my birthday! My husband thought they did not cook the bacon enough but I guess it is a British thing and not what Italians have for breakfast, there was a wide selection overall.

The rooftop terrace at night was awesome as mentioned in other reviews. There were quite a lot of interesting old photographs of the hotel on our floor by the lifts.

The hotel booked me a reservation for the Uffizi gallery to save queuing for hours, I realised after that they had charged I think 4 euro for this so you could go to the ticket office direct to make a future reservation but not a lot really for the convenience. I am glad we decided not to buy the Firenze Card (100 euros for 2 people) as after visiting The Duomo complex (not included in the Firenze Card) and spending 3 hours at the Uffizi that was enough culture for me in one visit, as much as I loved it. We did take the train to Siena for a change, takes an hour and a half and easily covered in one day, check the return times for direct trains back though as the last one was quite early.

I had a visit to Casualty after spraining my ankle on a very high kerb when we were out and the Hospital asked my husband to return with my EHIC card to avoid a 68 euro charge. I suggested he ask the hotel to fax a copy to save the journey, they did this no problem.

Intending to return to the Baglioni for my birthday next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZebraLindsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Täby, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have just arrived in our could country where there soon will bee ice and snow. We miss Florens and long for your warm climate and the good food.
We liked the atmosphere at Baglioni with it´s oldfashion scharm och your friendly staff. Our rating is all together excellent and we hope to visit You again.

Room Tip: More information about Swimming Pool and Fitness centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birgitta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ness ziona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

the hotel is located a 5 min walk from the Duomo and 15-20 minutes to everthing else in Firenze.
We got a wonderful recommendation for a resturant apon our arrivle, before we fully understood our location.
The staff was very helpful. The rooms are specious and very clean. the bed is huge.
The breakfast has a large veriaty of foods, and even I who can't enjoy flower based foods had lots to eat.
The view as promised is amazing.
We do recommend going all the way up in the terrece to view the city from above.
We only had one problem with the airconditioner, it was too cold and when a higher temp, was applied at the desk it wouldn't work. (at 25 c)
all in all a wonderful hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located near the train station and perfect for our meeting with Walkabout Florence Tour group in the morning. It was the most beautiful hotel and the service was the best experience on our entire trip to Italy. Only with we stayed more that one night. The rooftop restaurant was relaxing and food was excellent. Extremely helpful staff and finally had someone that could speak good English. Highly recommended for an extended stay in Florence.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

A perfect spot for convenience to the train station and short walk to Ufizzi, and Academy Art Gallery. This is a very well upgraded hotel with old elegance. The room we stayed in was clean, comfortable and quiet. The bed and pillows were fantastic. The staff were welcoming and helpful. Leonardo was perfect in arranging tickets and tips on Florence. A man you can trust! The best hotel we stayed in while in Italy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeneGeneDancingMach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

The hotel is from a bygone era and presents beautifully. A real wow factor when you walk in. The doorman was excellent at his job.
I felt that the other staff were a little "cold" and unfriendly, almost too regimented - you can be relaxed, professional and smile- Raffles in Singapore is a classic example of how well this is done.
It was a very cool night when we stayed and having booked dinner, we did not expect to be seated outside on the terrace shivering all night - it is a beautiful setting but maybe management needs to consider the weather. Yet the next morning was amazing weather and breakfast on the terrace would have been terriifc but they had us inside in the dining area! More flexibility needed?
The rooms were beautiful, classic and clean but as with many hotels, the aircond is not adjustable, despite having controls and far too cold.
The location just across from the train station is great and it is also very central for walking to many places in Firenze.
I would recommend and again stay at the Baglioni now that I have an awareness of the above.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deejay2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#54 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#31 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#69 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#66 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#42 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze

Property: Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
Address: Piazza Dell'Unita' Italiana 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#77 Business Hotel in Florence
#103 Family Hotel in Florence
#142 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Hotel set in converted palace, located downtown, near Conference Center & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing