We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“definitely not a 5-star standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Ranked #83 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“definitely not a 5-star standard”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Montebello Splendid claims to be a 5-star hotel but actually they are all over the place, the service is poor, the food at the restaurant is pretty average, the last night of our stay the A/C was not working, and to top it up.. they lost our bags, putting in somebody's else car ALL our stuff, obviously that almost ruined our trip.. having to wait for the guests to come back to the hotel because for sure they had no idea of the problem. Overall, very disappointing experience, NOT something I would recommend.

Room Tip: They had rooms with a little terrace and that's the only thing I really enjoyed about the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani_Valkyrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    227
    77
    33
    32
See reviews for
149
447
38
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We spent 4 nights at this hotel with lovely time, I am going to be back there again.

Not far from city and train station, all is walking distance.

Good local restaurant is not far and front desk is very helpful to give you a recommendation.

Room Tip: try to have breakfast when you stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B-Kookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights at this lovely hotel, a short walk away along the Arno to the heart of the city. Quiet. Well maintained. Excellent food and service. My luggage was lost in transit and the helpful staff followed up with the airline. Bag found!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ShakespearesGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This is a very clean hotel with helpful front desk. A little off the beaten path, but a nice getaway from the city. The breakfast was nice and a pleasant outdoor courtyard area. Happy hour was nice, however, the drinks and food are very pricey.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a really nice hotel, a hidden gem not far from the Arno river and about 15 mins from centre of Florence. The staff are courteous and helpful. When we returned to Florence for a second visit we stayed here again., I really love the courtyard with the fairytale lighting and the fountain, It's a peaceful place to sit and have a glass of wine after a hard days sightseeing. The buffet breakfast is very good, I only had one minor disappointment on this second visit, on the Sunday the scrambled egg and cherry tomatoes where slightly burnt and had tainted the flavour of the normally tasty scrambed egg. All in all this is a nice hotel that I would recommend to my friends.

Room Tip: If you can go for a room with a spa bath, you get a shower and a jacuzzi all in one, but you may get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This was a very good boutique hotel in Florence..very close to the main shopping area.the rooms very very spacious and very nice..the bathrooms were excellent..the staff also was very polite..a good value for money..one must stay at this property in florence

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Was a great experience. The rooms were really beautiful and I'd say not a bad location. It's really just a great place to stay.

My only qualm and why I didn't give them 5 stars is that their wifi requires you to sign on with their social media. It was sort of annoying. They ask you to connect your facebook / twitter and then and only then will they give you wifi.

Breakfast is very very good. Concierge is excellent. Beds were wonderful. Rooms were large.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennethlchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#110 of 422 in Florence
694 reviews
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
#144 of 422 in Florence
538 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#22 of 422 in Florence
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 422 in Florence
766 reviews
Hotel Regency
#146 of 422 in Florence
332 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#17 of 422 in Florence
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montebello Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montebello Splendid

Property: Hotel Montebello Splendid
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 14, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#68 Business Hotel in Florence
#78 Family Hotel in Florence
#92 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Montebello Splendid 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old villa from 19th Century with private garden located in the lively heart of Florence and transformed into a boutique 5 stars hotel full of charm and warm atmosphere, according to the neoclassical Florentine tradition. All rooms are elegantly designed and decorated differently but all equipped with the most up-to-date comforts. In a few step from the hotel you can easily reach all the most important attraction of Florence. Capriccio restaurant is the gourmet option for hotel guests to experience greta italian food in a very relaxing enveiroment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montebello Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montebello Splendid Florence
Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing