We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montebello Splendid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Ranked #149 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We cannot say enough positive things about the Montebello Splendid hotel. Our rooms were lovely and the beds very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious with all the amenities we expected. Because we stayed in the winter the hotel was not full, everyone made us feel as if it was our own private residence. The front desk staff found restaurants, made reservations and transportation recommendations including a local travel agent for train tickets to Roma.
Every evening we stopped in the lounge for cocktails and sodas and enjoyed the conversation of the bartender and wait staff.
Every morning we had breakfast in the garden grill room overlooking the courtyard. We found the breakfast to include everything we would need such as fresh squeezed orange juice, eggs, sausage, bacon, potatoes, cereals, meats, cheeses, breads and pastries. Our cappuccino was served with a smile daily.
We had a classic double room with a connection for our nephew. It is possible we had an upgraded room as an I prefer hotel member so I could not say that every room looked as lovely as ours.
We would certainly stay at this hotel again even over the Excelsior because of the quiet location and the value of the Montebello Splendid. We would like to extend our thanks to everyone on the staff we interacted with at the Splendid.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJF0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    193
    68
    27
    30
See reviews for
123
377
34
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Cannot say enough how happy we were at the Montebello Splendid. Splendid accurately described our stay from the moment we were greeted curbside till we said goodbye one week later. We reserved a deluxe double and had a view overlooking the courtyard. Our room had a shower with jacuzzi bath and double sinks and my favorite warm terry bathrobe and slippers. Other room amenities included a very convenient safe and a hair dryer (so leave yours home). Only thing I would suggest adding is an alarm clock, but the wake up call from the desk works fine. Staff was always helpful without hovering (calling us a taxi or making change or reservations or providing directions). Decor is lovely in all the public spaces too with free newspapers in the mornings, complimentary pastry in the afternoon and snacks in the evening. We included breakfast with our stay which was very convenient and the morning staff got to know us after a couple of days. The restaurant overlooks the courtyard as well. The hotel is about two blocks from the Arno river (right near the American Consulate) and about a 20 minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio. Since ita not in the town center its not crowded and very quiet (which is a plus). Within 5 minute walk to some great neighborhood restaurants and the train station and San Maria Novella. 5 stars for a 5 star hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Steven R.
Thank you very much for staying at Montebello Splendid and for your fantastic review. I’m very pleased you enjoyed our hotel and the service provided, including our morning breakfast and restaurant. For all of us your satisfaction is the greatest reward. Looking forward to welcome you again very soon on the next occasion, I remain at your disposal for any further assistance.

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel is slightly removed from the central tourist area, so if you want a quiet location in walking distance of everything else, this is it. My wife and I have stayed here twice, each time for several days. Great staff, well-designed rooms, and nice neighborhood. Fun little trattoria across the street.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynwhite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Cynwhite1,
It’s a great pleasure to read the satisfaction of a repeat guest who really appreciate the philosophy of our hotel and enjoy the quite location but still walking distance to any sight. From the whole staff of the Montebello a warm thank you for staying with us and for you wonderful review.

All the best,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

I can't really fault out stay at this hotel, we were there for three nights. all the staff we encountered were very polite and helpful! the room was very clean, although looking a little tired. The hotel had free wifi which actually worked that was very useful. it was a 10 min walk from the town centre and most of the attractions which was ok at the beginning of the day, but at the end we ended up taking a cab that cost around 8 euros each time. it's also a 10 min walk from florence station which also wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nabzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Nabzilla,
Thank you for choosing the Montebello Splendid for your stay in Florence and for posting your positive review on this website.
I’m very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that your find the attitude of the staff very helpful and friendly. Looking forward your next visit to our beautiful city, please accept the our best wishes.

Sincerely,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in October 2012. It was fantastic! The room was very clean and spacious. The hotel staff was very accommodating and courteous. I contacted the hotel a couple times prior to our trip with questions regarding the location of a car rental garage and they were quite helpful. This a must stay when I return to Florence!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Quite new hotel, with good location in Firenze.
Courtyard is very inviting and the glass terrace overlooking it is great for breakfast.

Very clean hotel and quiet (at least during winter). Nice roughly 4 star boutique hotel.

We booked the suite and it had one quite big drawback. Being a "penthouse" build in a attick, means it had no window with a view.

Could consider coming back, but would request a room with a window.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was our second long (4-6 day) stay at the Montebello Splendid. The hotel is beautiful, staff helpful with requests, but not omni-presently hovering as in some 5 star hotels. (Some have mentioned the staff as being unfriendly, but this may be because you have plastic room keys and the reception desk is slightly blocked from the door. They responded beautifully to all requests.)

The hotel couldn't be more comfortable, clean, with great beds, lovely junior suites.
Breakfasts are overpriced at 23 Euros (this is typical of higher end hotels in Italy and France) and mediocre. They were included in our pricing, otherwise we would have eaten out. Much as we love the hotel, the location is a quick 25 minute walk from the Duomo and through a couple of streets where I didn't want to wear good jewelry. We might stay elsewhere next time only because of the distance from all we typically do in Florence.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarthaGrace51816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Villa Medici
Grand Hotel Villa Medici
#81 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
#125 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Hotel Regency
#136 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#22 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 961 reviews
Santa Croce
Relais Santa Croce
Relais Santa Croce
#106 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#13 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montebello Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montebello Splendid

Property: Hotel Montebello Splendid
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 14, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Florence
#78 Family Hotel in Florence
#80 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#92 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Montebello Splendid 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old villa from 19th Century with private garden located in the lively heart of Florence and transformed into a boutique 5 stars hotel full of charm and warm atmosphere, according to the neoclassical Florentine tradition. All rooms are elegantly designed and decorated differently but all equipped with the most up-to-date comforts. In a few step from the hotel you can easily reach all the most important attraction of Florence. Capriccio restaurant is the gourmet option for hotel guests to experience greta italian food in a very relaxing enveiroment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Montebello Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montebello Splendid Florence
Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing