We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very Nice Hotel.....Staff could be a little more pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Montebello Splendid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Ranked #123 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel.....Staff could be a little more pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was my 2nd stay at this very nice hotel. Last stay was back in 2005. The hotel itself still lived up to my expectations. The room (shared w/ my sister) was quite spacious. Very clean and excellent amenities (love the slippers and turn down service!). It's funny, though......in 2005 when I went, my best friend's husband commented about how rude the staff was. I didn't really notice. THIS TIME, however, I kind of "got" what he meant. And I think the reason it stood out so much was because this was the 3rd hotel during my trip of 5 hotel stays (city-hopping among Venice, Florence, Milan, Naples and then Paris) and I had some other places to compare it to. I wouldn't call the staff "rude," but they definitely did not come close to being as pleasant as the staff at most of the other hotels I stayed in (and those hotels weren't 5 star, but rather 4 star). Some people may call them "snooty," some may call them "rude," but there was just "something" missing from the staff at this hotel....maybe some smiles and warmth...appreciation for choosing their hotel to stay? And I think it's funny that the front desk is positioned so that when you come through the hotel door (the rotating door), you really don't see the staff member(s) who are stationed at the desk. So, there's no "Buongiorno" or "Buona Sera" each time you return to the hotel (and yes, I did get that at the other hotels...except for Paris). Anyway......the hotel property itself is exquisite. Since I really didn't have to bother w/ the staff while there, my stay was just fine. Wait...I did have to ask the lady that checked us in about a shoe repair place. She did give us directions, but we didn't find that one. We did end up stopping in a shoe shop to inquire about the direction of the shoe repair place and were guided (quite politely) to "Centro Servizi Rapidi" on Via Palazzuolo where I received FABULOUS shoe repair (re-heeled my boot) while I waited! And the owner/shoe repair man "Francesco" (I think that was his name) was delightful!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    200
    68
    30
    30
See reviews for
128
397
34
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mystic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Never been treated so rude and disrespectful ! Service was outrages the waiter actually yelled at us during our dinner! The front desk argued with us over the price, I should of left then but the place is very nice to look at! I called the front desk twice about a dog barking in the room next door, he said " dog there are no dogs barking here"! "DO NOT STAY HERE" !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottPatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear ScottPatten,
It’s very sad to reply to this review. Every guest is very welcomed at Montebello Splendid, but of course when we encounter friendly and polite people everything is easier.
You arrived at our hotel by taxi without a reservation. We informed you about the availability and daily rate, and then you started bargaining a rate at the front desk pretending to pay “your rate”. Front desk staff is not allowed to adjust rate according to a guest requirement, nor we are on a street market.
We don’t have either waiters that yell to guests and is pretty useless to mention the details of that night.
Again, you mentioned a dog barking, but when we checked after your first and second call, there was no dog barking in the rooms next to yours – probably he stopped sometimes.
From negative reviews there is always something to learn to improve our service, unfortunately in this case there is just a little.
Kind regards,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel has a wonderful staff, very friendly, courteous, and if you are American, English speaking as well. Our room was very nice, not small, and the price was extremely competitive. My wife and I spent 2 nights here on an 8 day trip in Europe and would certainly come back here. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palisade, Co.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We spent two weeks in Italy starting with Rome, Venice, and the last 6 days in Florence. Montebello is by FAR my favorite hotel of our entire trip. From the second we walked in the door we were greeted by warm, friendly and incredibly helpful people. Front desk helped with directions to everywhere we wanted to go, including finding out how to return our rental car on our day of departure.
I must say a special thank you to the restaurant/bar manager and his AMAZING staff. We had cocktails every evening after sightseeing and I am still raving about the amazing service and attention to detail. Everything from breakfast in the morning to our evening cocktail was served with meticulous care and grace. The hotel itself is beautiful and has all of the amenities one would expect from a 5 star, but the staff here puts this hotel in a category all its own.

If you are driving, it is a bit difficult to navigate to, we finally gave in to the directions on our GPS and sneaked down the wrong way on a one way road. Easy walk to everywhere you want to be.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MzRotn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We returned to this hotel because we enjoyed it a couple of years ago. Found it to be as well appointed and comfortable as before. Surprised at how well maintained the hotel is - not tired at all. Beds extremely comfortable. Try to reserve a room overlooking courtyard - much quieter than streetside. Staff very helpful. Breakfasts great, late afternoon cocktail specials served in a very friendly manner - felt really welcome. Dinner in the restaurant was fine if you didn't feel like going out, but we all know Florence has so much more to offer. Forget the negative reviews about the walking distance to attractions - easy 25 minute stroll to Uffizi etc, and this is along the river. Also - no hills!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank opus11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is simply fabulous. We had a suite with the bedroom on a mezzanine floor. It was beautifully decorated and maintained; the bathroom was gorgeous. Hospitality was second to none with helpful reception staff and the room being serviced twice a day.

Whilst the weather was inclement during our stay, the courtyard area looked inviting and would be a lovely area for a glass of proscecco on a balmy summer evening.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gannongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

This Hotel is on a quiet street a very short stroll to the Arnos River. Walk along the river to Ponte Vecchio Bridge and view all the jewellry stores. Also within walking distance to Duomo and many restaurants in the area of the hotel. Lovely court yard to sit out in the evening with a glass of wine. Service at this hotel was excellent and even arranged a tour of Tuscany for us. Also, close to the train station. Would most definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slicricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#75 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
#131 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Hotel Regency
#150 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#20 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#13 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Uffizi
Bernini Palace Hotel
Bernini Palace Hotel
#30 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montebello Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montebello Splendid

Property: Hotel Montebello Splendid
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 14, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Florence
#71 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#78 Family Hotel in Florence
#92 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Montebello Splendid 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old villa from 19th Century with private garden located in the lively heart of Florence and transformed into a boutique 5 stars hotel full of charm and warm atmosphere, according to the neoclassical Florentine tradition. All rooms are elegantly designed and decorated differently but all equipped with the most up-to-date comforts. In a few step from the hotel you can easily reach all the most important attraction of Florence. Capriccio restaurant is the gourmet option for hotel guests to experience greta italian food in a very relaxing enveiroment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Montebello Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montebello Splendid Florence
Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing