We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ambasciatori

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #202 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

This hotel is opposite the main railway station and a short walk from the centre of Florence so is very convenient for visitors. The hotel is well furnished, the front desk staff were helpful and the breakfast was good.

However, the fridge in our room didn't work, the staff couldn't fix it in the three days we stayed there, and the shaver point in the bathroom didn't produce enough power to run anything.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDovecot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapoStruttura, Responsabile reception at Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
we thank You for the time spent to write about your experience in our Hotel.
The review of our Guests are very important for us in order to improve our quality standard and to understand if our job meet the satisfaction of our Clients.
Hoping to welcoming You again in our Hotel, the Management and all the Staff remain,
Yours Faithfully.

Christian Casati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    492
    210
    74
    52
See reviews for
197
544
34
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Florence was the second stop on a milestone vacation to Italy for me and a friend. We were excited and looking forward to the stay at the Ambasciatori Hotel because of the 4 star rating and central location. We checked in at the front desk and proceeded to our room where found a contemporary well decorated space. There was a lovely kitchenette, a nice bath with a jet tub, great storage and other modern accoutrements. All was well until we got to the bed, the bed was a queen sleeper sofa. We'd booked a classic double for three nights so this was clearly an inappropriate accommodation. Granted we should have protested right away but an obvious decision had been made by the hotel staff/management prior to our arrival to put us on a sleeper sofa with no upfront warning, alternate offer or apology for what appeared to be overbooking the hotel. The room we were in actually appeared to be part of a suite that was turned in to a single guest room for a few days.

We proceeded to have a great time in Florence and upon checking out mentioned to the desk service representative that we were dissatisfied with the sofa sleeper given it wasn't what was booked. He agreed the accommodation was inappropriate and gave me a card with the name of the hotel manager. I followed-up with two emails to the hotel, neither received a response. I wrote a letter which was to be forwarded to the Ambasciatori by the hotel booking company. To my great disappointment, I still have not received a response.

All in all, the hotel is in an excellent location across from the train station. We had no other issues besides the HUGE sleeping mishap. Staff was friendly and helpful so it would be and would have been nice for management to treat customers with the higher quality of service and communication generally expected from a 4 star hotel.

Like another reviewer said, I didn't want to write a poor review but it is important for hotels to provide the best service they can to customers who have traveled thousands of miles and paid handsomely for a nice place to lay down for a few nights. It's a fair exchange I think.

Room Tip: Be sure you are getting what you booked and speak up right away if your accommodations are not satis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redlilacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapoStruttura, Responsabile reception at Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
we thank You for the time spent to write about your experience in our Hotel.
The review of our Guests are very important for us in order to improve our quality standard and to understand if our job meet the satisfaction of our Clients.
Hoping to welcoming You again in our Hotel, the Management and all the Staff remain,
Yours Faithfully.

Christian Casati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
153 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I found this hotel to be in a great location right next to the train station and within walking distance of most everything. The room was comfy and nice. The service was friendly and accommodating. We loved that the hotel provided a happy hour with free, delicious snack food in the bar area every night. The breakfast was good as well. Overall, we were very pleased with this hotel experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarita377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapoStruttura, Responsabile reception at Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
we thank You for the time spent to write about your experience in our Hotel.
The review of our Guests are very important for us in order to improve our quality standard and to understand if our job meet the satisfaction of our Clients.
Hoping to welcoming You again in our Hotel, the Management and all the Staff remain,
Yours Faithfully.

Christian Casati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

First, we started our trip on September 19, 2013 in Athens Greece and continued it through October 2, 2013. Florence was our last stop, so we expected so much more than we encountered. We (my nieces and I) thought that we could not get a worst hotel than "The Golden Age Hotel" in Athens, but the rude people at the Ambasciatori Hotel were the worst. First, on entering, there is no place for the cab to place you baggage, no concierge to help you. The Hotel has no sidewalk, the entrance is hard to get into and people are tramping over you. Yes the hotel is directly across the rail track to the train station, so people are everywhere. If you do not speak a language you are basically on your own, the staff is rude and unhelpful. We only stayed two nights and if we were to have stayed longer I would have found another hotel. The room was small and noisy for three people and they put one of us on a couch that was missing a leg. The wifi is awful, the breakfast buffet is dubious. On leaving we ask for a baggage carrier and no one came to help with our luggage or brought a carrier to us. The elevators are small, so we had to struggle to get our baggage out on our own. The only friendly staff member we encounter was the bartender. The place smells like a geriatric hospital. We asked what was the smell and were told that it was the sewers, that when it rain, the smell invaded the entire hotel. I will be back in Florence on next year, but I would never darken the doors of the Ambasciatori hotel. I thought much about this hotel before I wrote this review, I even thought about not writing at all, but then I felt that money is a value that should not be wasted. When one is paying for a service they should be satisfied with that service. If an entity is not reliable and doing what it is in business to do, it should be reported, so I would not recommend this hotel to family, friend or enemy.

Room Tip: Find another location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dorrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapoStruttura, Responsabile reception at Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
we thank You for the time spent to write about your experience in our Hotel.
The review of our Guests are very important for us in order to improve our quality standard and to understand if our job meet the satisfaction of our Clients.
Hoping to welcoming You again in our Hotel, the Management and all the Staff remain,
Yours Faithfully.

Christian Casati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Upon entering the lobby of the hotel one is instantly enveloped with a horrendous odor. This hotel was part of our tour package and is not one we would have picked on our own. The rooms on the first floor facing the train station were extremely noisy all night long, making it difficult to sleep. We had a triple room and while we understood the rooms would be small, there was literally no room to walk around one side of the bed as that was the only place to place the rollaway bed.

The reason I gave an average rating is that we asked the staff to change our room for the second night and they did. The second room we were in on the third floor was larger and at the back of the hotel and there was no noise from the train station.

Generally both rooms had less than clean bathrooms and the strange odor from the lobby wafted its way through out the hotel.

The breakfast area was dimly lit and again it was challenging to eat with the odor permeating throughout.

The overall location of the hotel was very convenient to the sites we came to see in Florence.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mimi1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapoStruttura, Responsabile reception at Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
we thank You for the time spent to write about your experience in our Hotel.
The review of our Guests are very important for us in order to improve our quality standard and to understand if our job meet the satisfaction of our Clients.
Hoping to welcoming You again in our Hotel, the Management and all the Staff remain,
Yours Faithfully.

Christian Casati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I are regular Hilton brand patrons so this is a rare departure for us to stay at a smaller chain hotel. We enjoyed the location right next to the train station as our trip to Florence was in and out via train. Although situation North of the central tourist area, it was relatively convenient to walk to everywhere. The front desk staff was always friendly and helpful, holding our bags for us, etc. The wifi was sketchy in the rooms, that other than that the room was good. Breakfast was included in our rate and was good. Overall great hotel, I would recommend it for proximity to train station and overall quality for the money.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MigedyMigedyMAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapoStruttura, Responsabile reception at Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
we thank You for the time spent to write about your experience in our Hotel.
The review of our Guests are very important for us in order to improve our quality standard and to understand if our job meet the satisfaction of our Clients.
Hoping to welcoming You again in our Hotel, the Management and all the Staff remain,
Yours Faithfully.

Christian Casati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Rooms were very nice and hotel pretty inside, but road in front of hotel very busy and very unfriendly and even some rude staff. The waiter at the bar (evening) was the only one who was really nice and friendly.

Room Tip: Trip Advisor asked rating for Kids activities and swimming pool - there wasn't any so I gave a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grobler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapoStruttura, Responsabile reception at Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
we thank You for the time spent to write about your experience in our Hotel.
The review of our Guests are very important for us in order to improve our quality standard and to understand if our job meet the satisfaction of our Clients.
Hoping to welcoming You again in our Hotel, the Management and all the Staff remain,
Yours Faithfully.

Christian Casati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#104 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#138 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#79 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#142 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#92 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Albani Firenze
Hotel Albani Firenze
#93 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambasciatori

Property: Hotel Ambasciatori
Address: Via Luigi Alamanni 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ambasciatori 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created by us, dedicated to you!!!!This hotel was established to be one of our most exclusive locations.Its peculiarity is to successfully match our customers’ need of family warmth and luxurious comfort. We will be able to surprise you with our especially tailored services made for dynamic and particularly demanding customers by welcoming you in our warm and comfortable location. Here nothing is done by chance: rooms and services are studied in the least details to create the perfect scenario for your holidays.And you will fill this picture with your presence in: Our elegantly furnished rooms are made to provide emotions without invading your space. In fact guests and accommodation must be for us on the same wavelength. Our bright and refined rooms are in first place to make your staying an unforgettable experience.The Hall - Our refined and fashionable hall is the symbol of a modern customer-centred hotel project, especially designed for the people living in it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambasciatori Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing