We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Location”
Review of Room Mate Isabella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Room Mate Isabella
Ranked #46 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This great hotel is in the center of Florence. Everything is in walking distance. The rooms were spacious, the breakfast was great and the service outstanding. The front desk staff was much more accomodating and helpful than one would expect. They booked a wine tour and a cooking class for us (which we enjoyed immensely).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harob100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Isabella, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for leaving this nice comment here and let us know about your experience with "Isabella".
We have congratulated our staff for the special treat they gave you and give all our visitors every day. Also the location is important: not only it is so close to every main attraction (museums, monuments, building, bridges), it is also in the exclusive and central road Tornabuoni, right in front of the Strozzi Palace.

We would like to remind you that there are more Room Mate Hotels around the world, so do not miss the chance to look for some more nice atmosphere like the one you had here with us for your next travel.

Best regards,

Luca Albonetti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 481 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

I should tell anyone this,but Room Mate Isabella is the BEST KEPT secret in Florence, at least regarding places to stay! It's located in the center of the city, the staff is amazing, and the breakfast from 0730-1230, really hits the spot! I loved it here and plan to stay there whenever I visit Florence...and you should too!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uncaduke2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Isabella, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your words and your time.

There is nothing greater for us than knowing that you had a wonderful stay with us. We have greated our staff for the good service they provide every single person.

We really hope to see you again and thank you once more for revealing the secret about Isabella.

Best regards,

Luca Albonetti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were fortunate to get the Room Mate Isabella as a Hotwire deal that was very affordable for Florence. When we first purchased the deal, the hotel was in the process of re-branding (and apparently re-decorating). We definitely appreciated the fresh and lovely decor!

The hotel is located just a few blocks away from the train station as well as all of the main tourist sites in Florence. The street on which it is located has many high-end stores, and Gucci actually is located on the street level under the hotel. Since the hotel is over the store, you must be prepared to climb stairs to get to the check-in area and lobby, so this hotel would not be a good choice for anyone with mobility issues.

We arrived in the late morning just planning to drop off our bags, but we were pleased that the hotel had a room ready for us. The room was decorated in lovely gold tones and patterns that meshed classical and contemporary style. The bed was very comfortable, and there was a desk, wardrobe, flat-screen TV, and tea kettle. The bathroom seemed quite contemporary in style, with off-white mosaic tiles.

Breakfast was served all morning and was included in the rate. The servers provided fresh cappuccino, and there were rolls, meats, cheeses, eggs, yogurt, and other choices. We really enjoyed the fresh juice that (I think they said) included carrot and citrus juices.

The only (minor) complaint is that it took a while at night for the air conditioning to cool off the room, since the electricity (and air) would go off when you were away. However, it was comfortable by the time we were trying to sleep.

Given the quality of the hotel, the helpfulness of the staff, and the location, I would have no hesitation in returning to the Room Mate Isabella in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NC_Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Isabella, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Visitor,

we are so happy to read your comment here! Thank you very much for letting us know how comfortable you felt here with us.
"Isabella" wishes to become a friend of those who come and stay with her and it is a great pleasure to see that "she" has reached this achievement: your full satisfaction is what makes us proud of our efforts and really give us the proof that we are making our guests know what a Room-Mate experience is.

We thank you again and hope to welcome you soon in other city where you can find us. Best regards,

Luca Albonetti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at Isabella for 3nights and were upgraded to a suit on our arrival. Such a lovely surprise. Our room was big, bright and airy( good job as the temperature in florence was over 35degrees). our rooms were serviced everyday with new large towels and toiletries.
The staff were always friendly and seemed to genuinely care about their customers. The breakfast was beautiful and again efficient and friendly waiter.
the location was perfect just a few minutes walk to all the main attractions.
Over we had a fantastic experience here and will definitely be recommending it to friends and hopefully will be able to stay again sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for room 36-it has two large windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N_IrelandJessy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Isabella, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

we have had such a pleasure in reading your full satisfaction about "Isabella"! Thank you very much for letting us know and for sharing your opinion here.

Actually, you have shown us that you have found what we wish to give our visitors, that is a "best friend" for their visit to Florence. We have communicated our staff your words and celebrated this happyness with them.

So, maybe it is the case to say: see you the next time you will come to Florence! thank you once more, kindest regards,

Luca Albonetti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Had an absolutely fantastic weeks stay at this hotel. Firstly we did not receive our luggage on arrival the staff at the hotel dealt with this for us which was great and we received Extra toiletries which was greatly appreciated.
Excellent room (we upgraded on booking) friendly staff and great location very central. Taxi from airport only 10/15 minutes and fixed charge 20 euro. Good variety of foods at breakfast and staff very helpful. We were advised by receptionist to visit Lucca well worth seeing.
The street the hotel is on is very nice and very expensive but it costs nothing to look. We could not fault this hotel and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Excellent size of bathroom in the deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Isabella, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your comment and for sharing it with other people who are looking for the same kind of experience, a Room Mate one!
We have cheered our staff for the great service and the smile they offered you, as well as we know we all are happy to make people feel at their ease while with us.

"Isabella" wishes to see you again on your next visit to Florence. Best regards,

Luca Albonetti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The staff here was very nice and helpful and the location is quite good for the price. We found that we couldn't control the air to cool off the room, as if it was centrally controlled by the hotel and I was quite hot at night. Also, I was very frustrated about the bed: there was no fitted sheet and the sheet they had tucked into the mattress moved all night and before we knew it we were sleeping directly on the mattress, if we were even able to sleep at all. The room was nice enough as was the bathroom, but I was ready to move on to get a decent night of sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Parcho2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Boy oh Boy - Location Location Location!!!
This hotel is certainly worth the price.......it's not over the top but it's lovely!
Beautiful decor and the rooms are very quiet! I would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#44 of 410 in Florence
1,202 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#11 of 410 in Florence
421 reviews
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#53 of 410 in Florence
1,453 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#42 of 410 in Florence
1,293 reviews
San Lorenzo
Glance Hotel In Florence
Glance Hotel In Florence
#22 of 410 in Florence
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Isabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Isabella

Address: Via Dei Tornabuoni 13, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#56 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#97 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $124 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Isabella 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Isabella is a modern design hotel located right in the historic centre in a 19th century building within a 5 min. walk from the Duomo, the Cathedral of Florence. Renovated in 2013, the rooms feature free Wi-Fi, 37'' flat TV, double-glazing soundproof windows, complimentary buffet breakfast until noon 12:00, bell boy and a reading-room perfect for enjoying the Palazzo Strozzi views while savoring a fine wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Room Mate Isabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergotto Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing