We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best gelato we have had in Italy!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Botteghe di Leonardo

Le Botteghe di Leonardo
Ranked #9 of 216 Dessert in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Street Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: San Lorenzo
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The best gelato we have had in Italy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have had gelato in Rome, Venice and Florence - this is the best by far. It is artiganale, so it is homemade and all natural. They even make three favors with Stevia. The owner is super nice and will let you try any flavor. Our son is hooked on the gelato sandwiches, stratiacella. And prices are very reasonable. We have been here three nights in a row! Will be back tomorrow...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChacaNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    44
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Gelato!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This might be my favorite gelateria in Florence. The people are really friendly and will let you taste flavors before committing to them. Every flavor I've had has been excellent. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JenPiazzaMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing! Best in Florence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Delicious! Natural! Home made ! Worth every cent! Owner is so nice and funny! This place was in front of our hotel but I didn't want to try it so finally our last night I tried it and it was the best!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kae728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best gelato ever - it's real!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

This place is worth finding!! After three weeks in Italy we finally stumbled on the.best.gelato!! Made fresh daily, super creamy with classic and different flavours this little gelato bar is well worth the visit. The gentleman who served us (maybe Leonardo?) was so happy and friendly - we walked out smiling!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
“My favorite in Florence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is by far the best Gelato place in Florence and it tastes even better when you've already had a taste of the rubbish obnoxiously colored mounds that they serve in the centre -makes it that much easier to realize where the quality is and what good gelato should taste like! The store is quaint with a good atmosphere and you can tell they pay particular attention to hygiene and cleanliness. It is definitely worth the detour, just 10 minutes out of the center, and your life will never be the same again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pensive01trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Botteghe di Leonardo also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Le Botteghe di Leonardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing