We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best ice cream in the world” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Botteghe di Leonardo

Le Botteghe di Leonardo
Ranked #9 of 216 Dessert in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Street Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: San Lorenzo
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
1 review
“The best ice cream in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

The best ice cream in the world. Really nice place with a very gentle owner, and amazing ice creams (specially pistachio) and sweets. A must go in Florence.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    44
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not worth detour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We went because of raving reviews, but I must say it's not worth a detour. We were in the area and the ice cream is definitely good, but that's it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful gelato”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

My daughter and I loved both the gelato and hot chocolate here - great, even by Florence standards. We went to the via de Ginori location.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen31416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

The man behind the counter told my husband and me that "you have to love gelato to make it well." If that's true, then he must really, really love it. He takes great pride in what he does and that pride is reflected in the incredible quality of his product and his desire to help customers pick their favorite flavor and combine it with other flavors to achieve the best gelato experience possible. Don't be afraid to take his suggestions for flavor combinations - even if it sounds odd, like cinnamon with almond, it will be delicious. He is a true gelato expert and will not steer you wrong. We will definitely be going back next time we're in Florence.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank K_Russell_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
“REAL Italian Gelato! Fantastic Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Leonardo's is by far my favorite gelato place in Florence. I lived in the city for 3 months while studying abroad, and I had my fair share of gelato. I found that a lot of what you see around the Duomo, the shops with big signs and neon piles of gelato a foot high, is terrible quality and tastes like cheap ice cream rather than real Italian gelato.

Leonardo's is different. The gelato there is fresh, delicious and comes in a wide variety of interesting flavors, some of which change according to what's in season! The service is excellent and the men who work there are friendly, helpful and speak English very well. You can find Leonardo's on via de' Ginori, which is just past the Basilica of San Lorenzo and across from Palazzo Riccardi. This is also the area of the San Lorenzo Market and is only a four minute walk from the Duomo, up Borgo San Lorenzo (which turns into Via de' Ginori). I highly recommend Leonardo's to anyone who wants to try real Italian gelato in a fresh, friendly atmosphere located in the heart of Florence.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CMay221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Botteghe di Leonardo also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Le Botteghe di Leonardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing