We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent little hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Firenze Suites & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
San Firenze Suites & Spa
Ranked #4 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent little hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here in the first week of March and were very pleased with the experience. The hotel is very centrally located, round the corner from the Uffizi gallery and walking distance from practically everything else. There are many lovely little restaurants and shops nearby -- across the road, for instance. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable with a small kitchenette attached. The room overlooked a small piazza and was generally quiet except for one night when people appeared to be partying all night until around four in the morning. But once we shut the windows the sounds were eliminated altogether.
The two young receptionists Lavinia and David were VERY pleasant and helpful. This was true of everyone at the hotel, including the manager from their sister hotel who had to come over late one night to let us into our hotel as we couldn't figure out the codes to get in. There is no one at the hotel after nine, but we were given a list of emergency numbers to call if necessary.
A simple breakfast of boiled eggs, assorted breads tea and coffee and orange juice is included in the room rate provided you get to,the attached restaurant Brown Sugar before 11 am.
The only tiny issue was the wireless connectivity which was extremely slow and fitful. But if you want a holiday without being hitched to the world and Internet, this is a minor issue.
I would rate this hotel among the best I've been to in Firenze and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madhav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S F, Direttore generale at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Madhav B,

What a pleasure is reading Your review! We thank You for sharing Your experience with Tripadvisor readers about Your stay in San Firenze Suites & Spa. We are glad You appreciated our hospitality and that You congratulated with us for the attention to the details, the beauty of the room, the sound-proofing of our spaces, and the perfect location of which we benefit.
We are always glad to know that our guests appreciated the efforts we do each day in order to make their holiday unforgettable, and when the guests are so kind as You have been with us, our work is easier! We hope we will have the possibility to welcome You again in Florence, and we will always do our best to reserve You our best service, therefore, please do not hesitate to contact us directly if You are planning to come back to San Firenze Suites & Spa!
Kind Regards
Fargion Micol - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    68
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
137
293
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Positives:
Excellent location, walking distance from all the major touristic highlights of Florence .... Good variety of pizzerias and other restaurants in walking vicinity.
Staff is very friendly and helpful. They gave my 4 year old daughter small gifts on several occasions. Also since my husband and my birthday fell on a date during our stay there they left a gift (a box of chocolates) for us on the bed.
That was a very nice gesture. Free wireless Internet in the room is a big plus. But then for such an expensive room.... Maybe it's not a big deal!

Negatives:
The entrance of the hotel is too small and unimpressive. Its an expensive hotel but the exterior and entrance gives the impression of a motel. Rooms are not spacious and due to bad lighting felt claustrophobic at night. Maybe would be ok for a couple but with family it was certainly a tight room. (No. 112)
The kitchenette though very well equipped was inside a cupboard (probably due to lack of space) and that was quite a strange and unpleasant sight!
The front desk is manned only till 9pm and this felt uncomfortable because as a family with small kids one can face an emergency situation at odd hours. (Thank God we didn't)
The breakfast was lackluster and by 11am there was nothing left. I stopped going down after day 1 (we were there for 4 nights)
There was a sofa bed in the TV lounge which we were using for my 4 yr old daughter to sleep on... We did not use an extra bed for her yet the hotel charged us an extra EUR 20 per night for the sofa bed usage. Never seen that anywhere before.

Considering the high room rate the above aspects were quite disappointing.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank tjafary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S F, Direttore at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Tjafary,
I would like to begin my reply by thanking you for sharing your feedback about your stay at San Firenze Suites & Spa.

We are pleased that among the positive aspects you have noticed the perfect location of San Firenze Suites Spa and the availability, friendliness and kindness of our staff. However, it appears we have failed to meet your expectations as regards the size of the hall. It is the price to pay for being located in the heart of a historic city like Florence, and in particular for being in a mansion dating back to the 17th century, where the renovation had to be chaired out under the strict control of the Monuments and Fine Arts office.

Breakfast is offered to our guests from 8.00 am to 11.00 am, then the buffet is removed to give room for lunch. Our reception is open till 9:0 pm to accommodate customer demands, whereas the Restaurant Café connected to our reception stays open till midnight. Furthermore, when the reception and the café are closed, apart from the emergency telephone there are internal and external direct entry phones and a member of our staff will answer immediately your call and if necessary will arrive within minutes. We consider guest comfort and security as our priority and all this information is given at check in.

Our suites are much more spacious than the standard hotel rooms. The executive suites are at least 45 sq. m., with a double bedroom, a living room and a spacious bathroom with shower and bathtub. In particular, the room 112, being on the main floor of the Palace (the piano nobile), has a ceiling that is 4 meters high and windows that are 2 meters high. Perhaps this may have given you a wrong perception of the actual room size. We also offer larger solutions, such as our "Apartments" of approximately 60 sq. m., obtained from two interconnecting rooms deluxe or executive types, ideal to accommodate families or groups of friends.

I would also like to point out that the kitchen is intentionally hidden inside a piece of furniture that was tailor made by the best Italian craftsmen to give our suites a touch of elegance, taste and charm.


I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our residence. The Executive Apartments with a view would definitely be the best option for you and your family and if you book the "special family offer" through our website, children stay for free.

Kind Regards
Fargion Micol - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed in this great little hotel over Easter weekend. We had a very nice room overlooking the piazza. I thought it might be noisy, but it was very quiet! Everything is clean and new. The location was great as was the service. When we returned from Saturday night mass, we found beautiful Easter baskets in our room! Talk about service :)! We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S F, Direttore generale at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Patti C,
Thank you for your review and for wanting to recommend San Firenze Suites & Spa to Tripadvisor readers.
We are pleased that You enjoyed our hospitality and made us compliments to our attention to details, the beauty of the room and the perfect location of San Firenze Suites & Spa
We are very careful with the service we offer to our guests every day, which is why the Easter weekend we wanted to "pamper" you and the other guests, especially the children, giving wonderful surprises of chocolate! An Easter without chocolate would not be a perfect Easter!
Staying with us means choosing the comforts of a luxury hotel, but also receive the attention given to the customer of a boutique hotel.
We hope to welcome You again very soon. Do not hesitate to contact us directly in order to be able to guarantee You our best rates.
Sincerely
Micol Fargion - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trussville, Alabama
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is truly a very nice hotel located in center of Florence. My wife and I stayed here 3 days in March 2013 and we loved every minute. We were in room 401 with a view overlooking the Piazza. The room itself was very spacious and comfortable and even came with a sink, 2 burner stove, dishwasher, microwave, pots, pans and all eating utencils. The receiption and staff are only there from 9-9 but this was a non-issue as there was easy access to everything. They were very friendly and helpful and also very welcoming as this was our first time in Florence. They had a "no problem" attitude and greeted us by name every morning on our way to breakfast at the ajoining restaurant. Now as for the restaurant....breakfast was basic but it was good enough to get us going in the mornings. We really enjoyed our stay and to us there is now better in Florence. !!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Piazza.....Beautiful !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank camara73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S F, Direttore generale at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Camara73,
Please let me to thank you very much for having made public Your beautiful opinion on San Firenze Suites & Spa after Your visit in Florence and to have advised readers of Tripadvisor.
Despite having only three days spent with us is a pleasure to read how and how much You have been able to capture every nuance of our Hotel from the aesthetic beauty to the friendliness of our staff. Almost all of our suites have a beautiful view over the main monuments of the city and are equipped with every comfort to allow our guests to enjoy all the features of a luxury hotel.
Our target is to make You feel "at home" thanks to the professionalism, warmth and friendliness of our staff, so we are glad to know You enjoyed our service.
The breakfast, for the convenience of our guests, is assigned to the bar next to our reception, but it is not under our management. The small buffet includes a variety of juices, pastries, biscuits, cookies, jams, honey, butter, nutella but also eggs, ham and cheese. We hope that the breakfast offered to meet the tastes of all.
We hope to welcome You again very soon. Do not hesitate to contact us directly in order to be able to guarantee You our best rates.
Sincerely

Micol Fargion- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

If you want comfort and wonderful service this is the place to stay! We loved all our new friends there, ladies you were all so wonderful. Thank you for the hand holding and going out of your way for us each day with your helpful site suggestions, this is the way to travel after a very long flight from the States. Each of us having our own bedroom and large bathroom to relax was very nice. The rooms was spacious, clean and the beds very comfortable.

The location was close to everything making it easy to get around...Thank you again and I am looking forward to coming back someday with all of my family...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S F, Direttore generale at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Mrs. Lisa,

We thank you for taking your valuable time in a nice review on our hotel. I also want to thank you for the compliments about our staff. They loved your feedback! We want that the reception and the service be absolutely our strong points and Your review proves the quality of experience they deliver to our guests every day.
We are glad that You appreciated our spacious rooms, comfortable beds and the bathrooms in modern style furnished with fine marbles, with all the accessories for frequent travelers.
We hope that You will come back to Italy soon and that You will have the possibility to come back with all Your family!
Please contact us directly to make sure to get the best price for your next stay.

Warm Regards,

Micol Fargion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We spent 4 nights with our two kids (10 and 13). the large separate living room had two separate twin beds so it was great. we really enjoyed a nice separate bedroom. very modern amenities and fixtures. large and modern bathroom. lots of space to hang things and put clothes away. we did not use but it had a little kitchenette. wi-fi was good but weird with individual passwords and user ids needed for every single device. great location so walked to everything. breakfast was fine but very simple and no buffet as in other cities of our trip. What makes the stay remarkable, however, was its service. the front desk people including David went over and above their duties. the desk closes at 9 pm (a bad thing) but he stayed late when our train was delayed. something was not right with our beds upon arrival and he called someone in immediately to fix things when we went out for a late dinner. great with maps and directions. we needed an early departure two mornings and they a rranged for free breakfast next door with our coupons. no issues with cab reservatiosn amde by them for bus and train trips. GREAT service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwexel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S F, Direttore generale at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Mr. Wexel,

We thank you for taking your valuable time in a nice review on our hotel.
San Firenze Suites & SPA has large bedrooms, spacious and equipped with every comfort to ensure a fabulous stay even for those traveling in groups or families; it is possible to reserve "executive suites", as in Your case, so that You have a double bedroom, separate living room with sofa bed for two and kitchenette, or "apartments" of about 55 square meters, composed by two adjoining rooms, like the deluxe apartment or the executive one, consisting of two bedrooms, two living areas and two bathrooms. All spaces are modern, tastefully furnished and equipped with all the technology to make our guests feel at home.
In addition, we are pleased that because of the central location clients have the possibility to walk to all the main sights of the city, as well as the hospitality of our staff has been up to Your expectations. Our staff is always ready to welcome customers even late at night (which is why we always recommend our clients to communicate their arrival time in advance), but also to organize tours, suggest itineraries, restaurants and plan to book tickets for museums.
We hope that You and Your wonderful family will be back soon in our hotel!
Please contact us directly to make sure to get the best price for your next stay.

Warm Regards,

Micol Fargion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,562 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 809 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

The receptionist telephoned us 1 hour before and when we arrived the staff took. They came out to the car took our keys parked the car carried the bags to the room, what a reception we werer swept off our feet. The rooms are spacious quiet beautiful and clean the staff are very generous and the location is perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thefooddood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S F, Direttore generale at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Mr Dogsheep,
Thank you for posting a review about your stay at San Firenze Suites & Spa. It sounds like you had an amazing welcome from our receptionists. We are all committed to make you stay enjoyable.
The location is one of our best features, however we are particularly glad that you loved the space, quietness, cleanliness and beauty of our rooms.
Please let me know if your travel plans bring you back to Florence. Customer loyalty is important to us and we would love to have you stay with us again. If you contact us directly, we will make sure that you get the best price for your next stay.
Warm Regards,
Fargion Micol - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Firenze Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Firenze Suites & Spa

Property: San Firenze Suites & Spa
Address: Piazza San Firenze, 3/a, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Firenze Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an aristocratic residence dating to the 17th century, formerly home to the noble Florentine families Raffacani and Sacchetti and restored by the architect Marianna Gagliardi, the San Firenze Suites & SPA enjoys an enviable position in the splendid Piazza San Firenze next to the Piazza della Signoria and the Uffizi Gallery and across from the impressive Bargello museum. Thanks to its location in the heart of the city, all the main points of historical and cultural interest as well as the most important shopping streets, including Via Tornabuoni, with the shops of great Italian designers such as Prada, Gucci, Roberto Cavalli, Valentino, Ferragamo etc., Are within easy walking distance. Immersed in the atmosphere of historic Florence, San Firenze Suites & SPA was designed based on the boutique-hotel concept and offers the ideal place to experience the city in a unique and exclusive way. Fourteen suites provided with all modern comforts harmoniously combine Italian design style with the expertly recovered original architecture to offer spacious and elegant rooms in a perfect symbiosis of elegance, style and warm welcome for a truly unique and unforgettable holiday. You will discover the pleasure of not being just a customer in a grand hotel, but rather a "friend visiting Florence", with all of our staff ready to fulfil your particular requests. The state-of-the-art spa can be reserved for exclusive use and offers special moments of well-being and relaxation. All areas of the hotel are covered by Wi-Fi, offering free internet access to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your San Firenze Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing