We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 4-Star property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Firenze Suites & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
San Firenze Suites & Spa
Ranked #4 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A 4-Star property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel will never qualify for an "official" 4-stars rating because the reception is open only 9a-9p and there is no room service. However, the rooms and amenities are definitely deserving of that rating. North Americans are easily disappointed by European hotels located in historic centers. Not this one! It is a unique property in historic Florence that will exceeds the expectations of the pickiest North American tourist.

Brand new, luxurious renovation located 300ft (yes! 300ft!) from the Palazzo Vecchio and the Uffizi. Large room with king-size beds with a mattress that is just as comfortable as the one we have at home. Several of the rooms are equipped with a high-tech mini kitchen.

Elena provided very friendly and courteous service.

Not easy to find as it is only identified by a small plaque next to the door. Just look for the door to the left of the Brown Sugar restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trufflelvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S F, Direttore at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for these wonderful comments, when our guests are so pleased we are more than happy and our efforts are highly rewarded !
I shared the review with the entire staff and particularly with Elena, she was very proud of it and thanks you for your nice words.
Of course we would be very honored to be your home during your next visit to Florence, don't miss to visit our website to be informed on our best rates and offers and feel free to call us directly to get the best accomodation!
Thank you for recommending our hotel
Warm regards
Margherita Usai - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    68
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
137
293
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights at the end of October and its a brilliant find. The location is excellent within easy walking distance of all the main tourist attractions and situate in a lovely area of the city. We stayed in a junior suite which was beautifully decorated and furnished and it all felt well maintained and clean. It takes bait of indignant if you are driving as the sign is just a wall plaque but the reception is super friendly and were really helpful in arranging for our car to e dropped off in the middle of the night for an early flight. Breakfast is taken in an adjoining bar/restaurant which is adequate but lacks a bit of choice. All in all a great place to stay

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S F, Direttore at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Client,
greetings from San Firenze Suites Staff and many thanks for Your review! Our clients' satisfaction is one of our main important mission: being in the centre of Florence is actually a bit of a help… but knowing that we have been helpful and You have enjoyed Your stay it is always a great pleasure!
Thank you also for your suggestions about our breakfast , they are very important for us, as we can improve our service day by day.
For your future stay in Florence visit our website to be informed on our best rates and offers or call us directly to get the best accomodation.
We hope to have you soon as our guest again and thank you for recommending our hotel.
Margherita Usai – Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We happened to stay at this hotel via an auction award at a charity auction. It is an absolute find. The hotel has only 15 rooms and is located perfectly in San Firenze Plaza. it's been open for only 15 months, which may account for its lack of recognition. The standard rooms are large and inspiringly appointed in a modern motif. The plumbing fixtures, and lighting are top drawer, and the drawers and closet are finished with quality. The shower is frameless and smooth marble floored and walled. The window overlooks the plaza. The floors are an attractive wood, and our room had a contemporary king-size poster bed with canopy. it's hard to imagine a more tastefully furnished accommodation.

The breakfast, which is served in the small attached restaurant, is very ample and served by a warm competent staff. The young women, who work at the welcome desk, are attractive, knowledgeable, english-facile, and helpful. Overall, I can't imagine a better value in Florence.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are the same size, which is very commodious. Most of the rooms face the plaza...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EasternShoreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S F, Direttore at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Client,
GRAZIE! all Your comments are a pleasure for us to be read, it is with great satisfaction that we have seen your review and we hope that You will be back soon, so then we will do our best to provide one of the suite which has also the view on the chapel of the Duomo!
Staff is really happy for all Your nice comments, all the front desk is grateful and say "Thank you" !!
We would love to have You back here, whenever you wish: if You haven’t tried our SPA yet , winter would be the best to enjoy a relax time with our Sauna, Hammam and Hydromassage.
We also have a new menu in our restaurant Brown Sugar for winter time, special Tuscan courses in order to let know to all our clients our wonderful Italian food!
It has been great to have you as customers in our residence, having clients like you is always a pleasure!
We hope to see you back soon and we invite you to visit our official website in order to be always informed on our best rates and offers or call us directly to get the best accomodation and ......of course a special treatment reserved to our special friendly guests!
Thank you for recommending our hotel
My best
Margherita Usai – Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

After a long research for all hotels in Firenze, we decided to stay at San Firenze Suites for 3 days during our Italy trip. And it was a great choice!
Hotel is really well located, confortable and all staff is friendly and helpful.
Room is well decorated, cozy and confortable. And it is perfect for sightseeing around Firenze, you can go to major sights walking.
The only negative points about this hotel is parking, which is pretty expensive - 30 euros per day - and breakfast, which is poor. On our last day we decided to have breakfast outside the hotel.
But we enjoyed our stay, hotel is a nice choice in Firenze.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessaVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S F, Direttore at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Client,
thanks for Your email, we are really happy that You enjoyed Your stay here with us, and hope You will be back in the future! We are doing our best to improve all the services connected to the hotel, and our clients’ suggestions are really important for us! Until a short time ago the breakfast included in the room rate was an Italian one, then with one hot drink – one juice and pastry and panini, but as we noticed that some customers were not completely satisfied, in order to make clients happy and offer the best service we can we are now offering a buffet breakfast, for the same price.
Street parking is not permitted in the historic center of Florence which has a very large pedestrian area and parking spaces are strictly reserved for residents. Garage price is reported on our website, it doesn't depend from the hotel, and as we understand it is quite expensive, we recommend to our clients to rent a car only if necessary and only for the days which they want to use it outside the city.
We hope to see you back soon and thank you for recommending our hotel
My best
Margherita Usai – Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Just got back from the San Firenze Suites & Spa and what a amazing personal and enjoyable property it was from start to finish. From the moment we arrived at the San Firenze Suites & Spa we was greeted with a smile and passed the through check in very quickly.
When we got to our room we knew that this was the right choice as I was looking at many properties for months.
The location of the property is very central and The Bargello is just oppsite and the other sights are all close to the property. Florence main train station is only a short walk away and is easy to find from the station.
San Firenze has a small spa thou you will have to pay for it and it will be exclusive to yourself, which i think is a bit of a let down as i would like it seen open to all guests at the hotel.
The Deluxe room that we had (room 304) was a good size and had a great views from the window. The bathroom was not a massive or small just the right size and only had a shower but the shower was very good.
There was a walk in wardrobe (small one) with a safe and mini bar plenty of hangers. The size of the TV was good thou there were no channels in English that we could find. The bed was very comfortable.
My suggestions for the hotel is to........have an iPod docking station in the rooms (as we did not hear a sound from the other guests or the outside world), Bathrobes in the bathroom with slippers, Iron and iron board ( thou when asked we where given a steamer for our clothes) and English speaking channels on the TV. Breakfast at the hotel was small but was adequate and the coffee was very nice and is served in the bar downstairs at the property.
Overall the San Firenze was a good place to stay in Florence and I would recommend it to.
i would stay there again next time I am in Florence. Many thanks to all at the hotel staff who made our stay a memorable one and Florence is such a beautiful place.

PS......A big thank you for the bottle of bubbly and chocolates for my birthday.

Room Tip: We had room 304 which is a Deluxe room.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank London1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S F, Direttore at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your nice words and for your suggestions, they are very important for us, as we can improve our service day by day.
We are sorry about the iron, the building code does not permit this for safety reasons, that’s why we provide in the suites booklets with a pricelist of a laundry service, which also give you the chance to have only the ironing service for Your clothes!
Our Spa is available for guests' exclusive use and only on booking in order to ensure the utmost privacy and intimacy and we have verified that the exclusivity of the service is very appreciated by customers who live those moments in perfect relaxation.
We hope to see you back soon and thank you for recommending our hotel
My best
Margherita Usai – Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our family of 5 ( 2 adults, 3 young's girls) stayed here last June 2012 and had the best time of our vacation. The location was perfect. Not too far from everything yet you were on the quiet side of town so we all had a good nights sleep. Very good restaurants nearby, everything walking distance. The staff was always very helpful. The restaurant by the hotel served the best croissants and cappuccino, which we had ever morning, made us feel like it was our home. The rooms were very nice, clean, comfortable beds and spacious enough for a family of 5 (we got 2 connecting rooms ) that we still had enough space to move around. The bathrooms were very clean and brand new which makes your stay even more comfortable. Loved it. and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ea g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S F, Direttore at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dears,
greetings from San Firenze Suites Staff!
We are very proud you had with us the best time of your vacationto and I thank you for coming to visit us and to write your opinion on this traveler site!
Of course we would be very honored to be your home during your next visit to Florence, don't miss to visit our website to be informed on our best rates and offers and feel free to call us directly to get the best accomodation and ......of course a special treatment reserved to our special friendly guests!
Thank you for recommending our hotel
Warm regards
Margherita usai - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Researched accomodation in Florence thoroughly prior to our break - as usual we were looking for 5 star on a budget. We wanted quality, cleanliness and location, and we didnt want a business hotel either. Found Firenze Suites & Spa and it did not disappoint!
I advised the hotel beforehand that this was a special occasion and they gave us their best room - 111. The room was refurbished a year ago, but it looked brand new! The standard of finish was superb, with the highlight being the spectacular en suite facilities, with spa bath and flat screen tv.
Every aspect of the room was impressive - I would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone!
Its a small hotel with only 14 rooms - this allows the staff to get to know you and their service was excellent.
As far as location - in my opinion it could not be bettered - central, but quiet, and every room had large windows with great views.
Small bar next to hotel was again finished to a high standard and this is where breakfast was served.
Nice touch was complimentary early evening antipasti.
Don't take a car in to Florence - leave it outside the city along the tram line route - parking is usually free there. The hotel offered underground parking though at 36 euros a day.
Would definately stay here again!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for room 111
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bashbarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S F, Direttore at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
I love your title!
Thank you for these wonderful words, comments like yours reward all our efforts!
We all hope to welcome you back very soon , for your future stay in Florence visit our website to be informed on our best rates and offers and don't miss to contact us directly to get the best accomodation and ......of course a special treatment reserved to our special friendly guests!
Thank you for recommending our hotel.
Warm regards
Margherita Usai - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,990 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Firenze Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Firenze Suites & Spa

Property: San Firenze Suites & Spa
Address: Piazza San Firenze, 3/a, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Firenze Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an aristocratic residence dating to the 17th century, formerly home to the noble Florentine families Raffacani and Sacchetti and restored by the architect Marianna Gagliardi, the San Firenze Suites & SPA enjoys an enviable position in the splendid Piazza San Firenze next to the Piazza della Signoria and the Uffizi Gallery and across from the impressive Bargello museum. Thanks to its location in the heart of the city, all the main points of historical and cultural interest as well as the most important shopping streets, including Via Tornabuoni, with the shops of great Italian designers such as Prada, Gucci, Roberto Cavalli, Valentino, Ferragamo etc., Are within easy walking distance. Immersed in the atmosphere of historic Florence, San Firenze Suites & SPA was designed based on the boutique-hotel concept and offers the ideal place to experience the city in a unique and exclusive way. Fourteen suites provided with all modern comforts harmoniously combine Italian design style with the expertly recovered original architecture to offer spacious and elegant rooms in a perfect symbiosis of elegance, style and warm welcome for a truly unique and unforgettable holiday. You will discover the pleasure of not being just a customer in a grand hotel, but rather a "friend visiting Florence", with all of our staff ready to fulfil your particular requests. The state-of-the-art spa can be reserved for exclusive use and offers special moments of well-being and relaxation. All areas of the hotel are covered by Wi-Fi, offering free internet access to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your San Firenze Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing