We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel, nice staff”
Review of Hotel Magenta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Magenta
Ranked #267 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good hotel, nice staff”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

good hotel- near the Fiume river .
location 15 min from the central train station (Santa maria novla) by walking .
u can definitely walk to all of the sites.
clean hotel. simple breakfast.
small bathroom

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orel2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    61
    37
    13
    8
See reviews for
28
45
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

we loved it!! clean; close to everything; owners, their son, and dog of course, made us feel like family. two women traveling together could not have felt more safe. would go back next trip to florence.

Room Tip: try to get a room not on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

A great location. Only a short walk from the train station. Handy to the river and to the main town. Easy access at front entrance. We stayed in a wheelchair accessible room on the first floor. The room was very spacious and clean. there is a great spacious bathroom with a tiled wet floor shower . The lift to the first floor was very narrow and any wheelchair wider then 650mm wouldn't fit although there may be an accessible room on the groud floor. Basic breakfast, friendly staff. Definitely recommend

Room Tip: There is a bit of noise in rooms facing road, but not too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is near the Amrigo Vespuci bridge on the city side of the Arno and about a 12 minute walk from the Ponte Vecchio. The room was clean, comfortable, not too large, but not too small either. The breakfast was good but not as extensive as some I have had. The staff was extremely helpful especially pointing out good places for dinner in the neighborhood. It is a good value in an otherwise rather expensive city.

Room Tip: I had a room on the ground floor and expected it to be noisy, but it was not and I had no trouble ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallasbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The good:

20 minute walk from Duomo and center of town. Owner very helpful and willing to show you attractions

The bad:

Terrible breakfast (worst I've had in Italy). Very poor selection and stale pastry. The room had a musty smell to it and the ones not facing the street is literally two feet from someone else's window. If you have your window open you can hear them talking like they're right next to you..and the mosquitos will really get you. At the same time, the AC in one of our rooms was not working, so we had no option but to leave it open. The elevator is tiny, fitting two people and two luggages at most. Not a bad place to crash for a night or two and if you're not too picky about room quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I was quite disappointed with this hotel after the glowing reviews I read before booking. Our stay here was quite different.

The hotel room itself was clean and had decent facilities but yes the bathroom is very very small. However our room on the second floor lacked air con and therefore being able to sleep / getting ready was very difficult! We ended up having to open the windows to let in a draft and then couldnt sleep at nights because of the constant noise - people, cars, dogs! As another side effect the room would get filled with mosqitos - leaving us with some nasty bites as a reminder of our stay!

Location wise - the hotel was ok I guess although it was a 15 minutes walk along the arno away from the ponte vecchio - if walking away from the uffizi. Whilst this wasnt a problem - I think staying closer would have been better given we'd spend all day walking around and then had a trek to the hotel at the end of the day as well.

Breakfasts at the hotel were typical and basic (and often minimal) - although I have to admit the cappuccinos were fantastic.

Staff - very friendly always said hello and tried to help with queries, however some were more helpful than others. One evening we tried to ask for a taxi and were told 'there are no taxis in florence tonight' after the receptionist tried and failed with the one taxi company he was calling. The same person was very unhelpful when asking for tips re wine tasting tours.

I hope to return to florence sometime and probably wont return to hotel magenta after this experience. I think if you are after somewhere basic and cheap (and poss in cooler months) go for it - however there were lots of better places for the same budget closer to the centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingPocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. Owners very friendly and great for asking information about Florence. Parking for our van was around corner. Room was originally set up as two beds, 2nd day staff joined the beds into one. Room very simply decorated but was spacious and clean.Had an early trip the 1st day so were too early for breakfast. A bus group arrived that day so next morning at breakfast was a bit crowded, staff were kept very busy with this group making coffees etc and a bit slow in clearing the tables, and restocking the food, but as we weren't in any rush this was not an issue. Able to walk easily to main sights of Florence, quiet location. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ikedeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Borgo
Hotel Borgo
#268 of 422 in Florence
115 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Boccaccio
Hotel Boccaccio
#221 of 422 in Florence
486 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Ariele Hotel
Ariele Hotel
#309 of 422 in Florence
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Bella Firenze
Hotel Bella Firenze
#119 of 422 in Florence
115 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Luxor Florence
Hotel Luxor Florence
#99 of 422 in Florence
227 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#304 of 422 in Florence
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magenta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magenta

Property: Hotel Magenta
Address: Via Montebello 40, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Magenta 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Magenta is a small family hotel run by the Avuri family, located in the historical center of Florence. Thanks to its strategic position you can easily reach both the Renaissance heart of Florence with its museums, the cathedral and historical buildings, Fortezza da Basso and Palazzo dei Congressi and the new "Music and Culture Park ". Hotel Magenta is also located within walking distance of the Polimoda International Institute of Fashion and Design, the American Consulate and the central railway station of Santa Maria Novella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Magenta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing