We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm welcome at the Magenta” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Magenta

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Magenta
Ranked #283 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
67 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A warm welcome at the Magenta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

I always enjoyed staying at the previous hotel that the Avuri family managed. In fact I enjoyed it so much I went there twice a year for 10 years and also stayed at their wonderful hotel in Chianti, the Villa Rosa, several times. When I heard that they were running a new hotel, of course I had to stay there!
The welcome was fantastic, the room spotless and the location very central. All this for great value for money in what can be a VERY expensive city.
I will certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jscHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    56
    36
    13
    8
See reviews for
28
39
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Very comfortable, modern and clean hotel within walking distance of all the fun in Florence and the SMN Station. The hotel is quite practical without any unwanted luxury. The mattress was excellent for my taste, the best in many stays this year. The only flaws I see were the not so good isolation from the street and sometimes you hear loud motorcycles running through the street and the shower was a bit too small.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bicimann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

The Hotel Magenta is a very comfortable, family-run hotel, recently opened and renovated by well-known and very hospitable Florence innkeepers, Giancarlo and Sabina Avuri.

The Avuri family also owns the charming Villa Rosa di Boscorotondo located in Panzano in Chianti. We have enjoyed numerous stays at the Villa Rosa and plan to return next July.

However, this was our first stay at the Hotel Magenta.

We found the staff to be very welcoming, helpful, and eager to please in all respects.

Our room was quiet, spotlessly clean and spacious. It had the traditional high ceilings of a Florence hotel combined with tasteful modern furniture and fixtures. The hotel also has a comfortable seating area in the lobby where guests can enjoy a glass of wine or beer.

The central location of the hotel is great. It is within easy walking distance of both the Santa Maria Novella train station and the historic center of Florence. There is a wide variety of restaurants and interesting small shops nearby. The price is right too!

We highly recommend the Hotel Magenta and have already booked our room for next July.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneToronto_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

I booked this hotel for a 10 day stay in Florence. I decided to go with Hotel Magenta initially for the location (as it is close to the Arno, walking distance to the train station and to many of Florence's attractions). I was VERY happy with my choice.

The Staff: They were extremely friendly, welcoming, helpful and ready to answer any questions I had about Florence and its neighboring cities. This was particularly helpful for someone traveling to Florence for the first time.
Rooms: VERY CLEAN! This is a brand new hotel.
Breakfast was as they promised.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammi006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Borgo
Hotel Borgo
#269 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Arcadia
Hotel Arcadia
#224 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Tourist House
Hotel Tourist House
#251 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Albion
Hotel Albion
#215 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
De Rose Palace Hotel
De Rose Palace Hotel
#214 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Executive Florence
Hotel Executive Florence
#110 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magenta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magenta

Property: Hotel Magenta
Address: Via Montebello 40, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Magenta 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Magenta is a small family hotel run by the Avuri family, located in the historical center of Florence. Thanks to its strategic position you can easily reach both the Renaissance heart of Florence with its museums, the cathedral and historical buildings, Fortezza da Basso and Palazzo dei Congressi and the new "Music and Culture Park ". Hotel Magenta is also located within walking distance of the Polimoda International Institute of Fashion and Design, the American Consulate and the central railway station of Santa Maria Novella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Magenta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing