We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy local cafe that makes you feel welcome.”

La Cantinetta Osteria con Cucina
Reserve with
La Cantinetta Osteria con Cucina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #87 of 2,712 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $34
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: San Lorenzo
Florida
Level Contributor
138 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Cozy local cafe that makes you feel welcome.”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We ate at this little wine bar at least three times on our trip to Florence. The service was welcoming and efficient. As I was not feeling well the first two times, all I had was something light. That didn't bother the staff at all. When I was finally feeling better, we went for a steak dinner.
So, among our meals were included Ribollita (Italian vegetable soup), spaghetti carre, bruschetta, ravioli with spinach and cheese, and the very large steak Florentine, served rare as usual. We either had the house wines, and with the steak, some Brunello di Montalcino.
We were delighted that this café was so close to our hotel.
I wish it were close to our home in the States.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bornfreenowexpensive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    899
    489
    116
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two Visits in Four Days”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Wonderful service! We'd spent about 30 minutes walking around the historic centre looking for somewhere to eat, and we were just about to give up and get a takeaway pizza when we stumbled upon La Cantinetta! The food was gorgeous, lasagne and the antipasto 'Chianti' were spectacular! We're going back on Thursday! Great selection of Wine, the House Red was particularly good, as well as one of their many Chianti's!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joep837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
144 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Best meal during our visit to Florence”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We were on our way to a different restaurant when we spotted this one. We both found items on the menu in the window that sounded good to us and we thought that the pricing looked more reasonable than the place we were planning to go so we decided to give it a try. As it turned out, our meal here at La Cantinetta was our best meal in Florence. We loved the simple but warm atmosphere. The food was fantastic, beautifully presented, and reasonably priced. The menu in the window was different than the menu they gave us inside but to our delight, that meant it contained more fabulously yummy options. We ended up sharing two dishes and a dessert with hot tea and had plenty to eat. The service was very good. I just can't say enough good things about this place. Note that TripAdvisor has several restaurant listings in Florence with similar names so if you go in search of this one, be sure to bring the address.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snickerseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Cozy little wine bar in the heart of Florence”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I happened upon this little wine bar by complete accident, as I was shopping the leather market at San Lorenzo on a cold and rainy day. To escape the rain, we were running down the street and passed this trattoria. It looked so cute and inviting that we spontaneously decided to duck in. So glad we did. The wine was superb, the food was good and the staff was lovely!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valeria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Florence Experience”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Don't let the location close to the Duomo turn you away. La Cantinetta is well priced, with a broad menu and excellent wine. Massimo will serve you only the best choices. This cucina is rated in Wine Spectator and other travel logs for a good reason. You can mix and match entrees and plats, primo and secundo and split if needed. Make a reservation if possible as it does fill up as you near the 20:30-21:00hrs.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmmara10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cantinetta Osteria con Cucina also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Cantinetta Osteria con Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing