We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!”

Il Palagio - Four Seasons Hotel
Ranked #35 of 2,722 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Marco
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Simply superb, The steak tartare was particularly incredible. Hope I get the chance to go back!
Still had Christmas decorations up on 14th January though...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJDBMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSFlorence, Public Relations Manager at Il Palagio - Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Madam / Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comment about one of our restaurant's signature dishes!

The Christmas decorations were so beautiful in creating the special atmosphere I am sure you appreciated, that we have intentionally decided to keep them up for a longer period than expected.

Looking forward to your next visit I send you my best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    129
    45
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thank you Il Palagio for the most wonderful birthday dinner”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

When my husband and I were planning a trip to Florence for Christmas and New Year, one of the most important things we had to plan was Christmas dinner which also happens to be my birthday. We ar foodies and certainly wanted it to be a memorable experience. Of course, we always try to find a Michelin star restaurant for special occasions.There were just 2 Michelin star restaurants in Florence and,guess wha, one of them didn't even take reservations by mail, so we chose Il Palagio We were soooo glad we did!.We wrote an email to the hotel and received an immediate response from Julia, a restaurant Manager.She was simply marvelous in responding to our emails and booked a table for us. When we arrived, she greeted us as if we were her most favourite customers and made us feel really welcome.The waiters were very nice, attentive and made sure our glasses were full and we didn't have to wait for the next dish. The sommellier was very helpful with his advice on local wine selection.That night they served a Christmas Day Dinner with an 8 course menu. Everything was delicious:crabmeat tian with mandarin scented ricotta chees, tortellini in a Chiantina meat stock were the size of your little finger fingernail (no exageration!),capon stuffed with chestnuts and foie gras was simply out of this world, and they even made a litttle birthday chocolate cake for us and sang Happy Birthday to me! There was live music and the hotel was beautifully decorated in white and silver. It was such a memorable dinner that I will cherish for many years to come. THANK YOU Julia and everybody who made us happy that night! We really appreciate it! BRAVO Chef Vito Nollica, you DESERVE your Michelin star!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great tasting menu”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We ate in this restaurant due to it's excellent reputation, the six course tasting menu was really great as it meant we tried foods we had never had before, although not cheap at 85 euros a head + wine. It was what you would expect from a Michelin stared restaurant in a four seasons hotel, excellent service, excellent food, a well contrived atmosphere and a large bill.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Delicious and great service”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Eating outside was awesome. Good was great. Obviously it's expensive, but you're at the Four Seasons in Florence.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank GGTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Smoky Dinner”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had a terrible night here, couldn't wait to finish our meal to leave this place. It is a shame that such a renewed brand of hotels cannot think of we the non-smoker clients who prefer to opt to have a clean and healthy environment and enjoy a dinner without having smokers around you without EVEN HAVE A CHOICE!!!!!!!!!!! this is extremely disappointing. We asked our waitress whether it would be possible to find a table far from smokers and he said that that wasn't possible because Italians and French people are mainly smokers...wow, was that an answer copied from a pageant contest or what??? And on the top of that the food took too long and was in all honestly very average, so it wasn't even worth to have all that smoke in our lungs!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Hayuelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSFlorence, General Manager at Il Palagio - Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on our Restaurant and sharing your experience.
I am really mortified for the inconveniences occurred as we were not able to meet your expectations of a Four Seasons. Our constant aim is to provide only the highest level of service and hospitality to our guests and I am sad that on this occasion we have failed.

I totally comprehend your dissatisfaction and wish to inform you that we have followed up taking the necessary corrective steps to avoid recurrences, both on the food quality and the smoking matter.

We are surely going to dedicate a specific area of the restaurant to smokers and I hope that you will grant us a future opportunity to restore your confidence in us and to show you our ability to give you a first class service that Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts are renowned for.

Once again, thank you for your constructive feedback and please do not hesitate to contact me personally if I can be of assistance to you.

Kindest Regards,

Patrizio Cipollini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Palagio - Four Seasons Hotel also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Palagio - Four Seasons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing