We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite Florentine Gelato” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gelateria Pitti

Gelateria Pitti
Ranked #77 of 216 Dessert in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Takeout
Neighborhood: Pitti
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
234 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Favorite Florentine Gelato”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Located just across the street from Pitti Palace, Gelateria Pitti is a quaint and perfect shop for delicious gelato. This was definitely my favorite in Florence! Loved the Amareno and Straticella combo. It was so fresh and super creamy, yum! Good value for only 2€ too!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank medatsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    22
    0
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“The best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

This is the best gelato I had in Italy! So creamy and silky with real flavours. Just the way it should be!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ladyinareddress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best gelati at a great price too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Delicious flavours to choose from but it's the incredibly creamy texture that makes this gelati a winner. All made on the premises from local produce, the result is an extremely high quality product which sets the standard. You can watch the gelati being crafted if you have the time at this specialty shop.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
194 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Hands down the BEST gelato in Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is the best gelato in Florence. It is located across from the Pitti Palace and very easy to find. All the ingredients are fresh. Do a taste test. When you can find a lemon seed in your lemon gelato and taste the nuts in your pistachio, you know you have found the freshest gelato. In fact, when we would visit other gelato places, we judged the quality of that gelato based on what we tasted at Gelateria Pitti. They have a super selection of flavor choices, too. They are all so good that it is hard to decide. So we kept going back to try more of the flavors. Their prices are very reasonable. The smallest size is 1.50 euro and the two scoop size is 2.00 euro cone or cup. Notice that the gelato is not piled high in mounds. This is another indicator of excellence. When you see gelato piled high like that, know that the high parts are above the freeze line in the freezer case; therefore they are not being kept at the proper temperature and are breeding bacteria. At Gelateria Pitti, you not see those high mounds and you will taste the best gelato of your whole trip. Great service, too. Don't miss it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Favorite Gelato in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

After eating gelato nearly everyday all over Italy, this is my favorite. We were actually taken there by our guide after a bicycle tour of Florence. The strawberry with Nutella is absolutely divine!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria Pitti also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Gelateria Pitti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing