We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting buildings and good exhibitions” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Pitti

Palazzo Pitti
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.36*
and up
Skip the Line: Pitti Palace and Palatine Gallery Walking Tour
Ranked #25 of 426 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A complex of art museums housing some of the most celebrated treasures in the city..
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
317 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Interesting buildings and good exhibitions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We visited this attraction on the last morning of our stay in Florence before going on to Volterra, having chosen it from a range of [possible alternatives, and we were not disappointed. We arrived two minutes after opening time and were glad of this as by the time we had finished the crowds were pouring in. We were very impressed with the costumes and carriage museums but these were only the highlights of an overall delightful visit. We even managed a decent cup of coffee in the café! Well worth a visit, but do try to get there early.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,191
    1,021
    347
    87
    43
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, USA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Plan to spend most of the day, along with the Boboli Gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

This huge museum has so much to offer from paintings (of course! this is Florence!) to decorative arts, costumes, the carriage museum and special exhibitions. The museum is vast (and not cheap if you get the ticket to all the museums and the gardens), so plan on the whole day or select which museums within the building you want to see. If you are a fan of architecture, Palazzo Pitti is worth a visit just for the structure. Although not attractive on the exterior, the interiors are splendid and a must-see while in Florence. The Boboli Gardens are beautiful (much better-maintained than my first visit in 1999) and are a nice respite from the crowds of Florence. It

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank akker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I would like to commend the Pitti Palace for not allowing tour groups to overtake the galleries. It was great not having to try and get through tour groups that think they own the gallery. It was nice to see that the Palace dedicated an area where tour groups could meet but were not allowed to go through the Palace as a group. So wonderful! Wish that more galleries and museums would follow suit.

Unfortunately, most tour groups instead of gathering off to one side and the tour guide talking in a low voice (they all have these recorders with ear buds which they never seem to use) they take over the the whole area of what they are viewing and tour guides talking so loud that it is impossible to concentrate on what you are reading.

The bottom line is, that we all pay to go into these galleries and museums and tour groups should not be allowed to think they own the area. Again, kudos to the Pitti Palace for their excellent way of handling these groups.

As for the Palace and the grounds, definitely worth the visit. We went 3 times to the Palace we enjoyed it that much. Definitely recommend Friends of the Uffizi card if you are in Florence for more than a couple of days.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CDillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Medici palace OK but avoid the cafe like the plague”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Huge palace with thousands of paintings and lots to see - if a bit confusing but the main memory is of our lunch in the cafe. It was the worst food I have ever eaten. They got our order wrong and made us feel it was our falt for not being clear enough so like a fool I said OK we will have what they had brought (which was more expensive). It was the driest, most tasteless food I have ever had the misfortune to eat. I have never had a worse meal.When we got the bill our original order was clearly written. I know I should have complained at the time but the waiters and the woman in charge were so surly and fierce we just paid up and left- they looked like they might not let us out if we didn't. The experience soured our trip to the Pitti Palace.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank cathandneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good mix of things to see - plus a bit of greenery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Great exhibitions and variety of things to see. My favourites were the Royal Apartments and the Modern Art. Try to get a friends of the ufizzi or Firenze card so you can pop in and out and not get museum overload. Plus avoid Mondays when parts are closed and the cafe which is expensive.

The gardens are surprisingly untidy compared to UK stately homes but none the worse for that and green - a rarity in Central Florence. If you go all the way up to the porcelain museum there are great views over the valley behind. You can walk through to the lovely Bardini gardens in about 5 minutes from the top of the Boboli gardens too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison1360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palazzo Pitti also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Palazzo Pitti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing