We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of beautiful art and ceilings”
Review of Palazzo Pitti

Palazzo Pitti
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.60*
and up
Skip the Line: Pitti Palace and Palatine Gallery Walking Tour
More Info
$25.69*
and up
Skip-the-Line: Palatine Gallery and Modern Art Gallery Ticket at the Pitti...
More Info
$60.97*
and up
Private Palatine Gallery Tour with Skip-the-Line Access
Ranked #25 of 635 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A complex of art museums housing some of the most celebrated treasures in the city..
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lots of beautiful art and ceilings”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had advance timed tickets which was great since there was quite a long line when we arrived, but I was able to walk directly to the ticket window. The art in the palace was impressive, but not my favorite venue in Florence. The structure is lacking a bit in character. Worth a visit, but I enjoyed other places more.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SaraMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,449
    1,160
    374
    90
    50
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Overlooked and as good as Uffizi”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

A must see attraction often overlooked as it is on the opposite side to the Uffizi but it's just over the Ponte Vecchio bridge. The gardens are beautiful and the rooms are stuffed full of beautiful treasures. There's also a courtyard where musicians perform. You don't have to book in advance but this is well worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank thegees1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pitti Palace and Boboli Gardens -- both beautiful”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

You can gain access to both the Pitti Palace and the Boboli Gardens with the Firenze card. We enjoyed them both. The views of central Florence, from the Gardens, is spectacular.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhxTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Expensive, but Palatina is good alternative to Uffizi”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is an expensive attraction by anybody's standards and you have to choose carefully which part you are going to visit, unless you have the time and budget to see both. The two different tickets are completely clear and there is no excuse for getting it wrong. We saw the Palatina and the artworks were fantastic, as are some of the room decorations, especially in the Royal Apartments. We appreciated the fact that they had stuffed as many paintings as they could into each room, but after a while I started to get problems with my neck/back from looking up high all the time. If you are prone to this take great care here or it could spoil your holiday. There were not enough seats in the early part of the gallery, though they remedied this nearer to the exit. They should remember that tourists are likely to have walked miles while in Florence and so can't be expected to stay on their feet for hours. Overall, I would say this is worth a visit, especially if, like us, you could not face the queues of the Uffizi, though it is very expensive. I'm less sure about the Boboli Gardens ticket - from what we could see they were less impressive than many UK National Trust gardens of much smaller size.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobjob21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exquisite Art”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Only place in Florence that has greater art is the Uffizzi. The Palace with its painted ceilings and huge amounts of art is beautiful. The reviewer who said the gardens have no color didn't know that they are not planted with flowers and are just green with walks and views.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank threepiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palazzo Pitti also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Palazzo Pitti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing