We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trippa & Zampa

Trippa & Zampa
Ranked #529 of 2,676 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Uffizi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Amazing little restaurant in Via dei Neri. We had two drinks and two pasta's which came to €14! Great value and the pasta was incredible - made to order with fresh local ingredients. The staff were friendly and helpful. Sad that we didn't find this restaurant earlier on our stay.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeniwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    206
    52
    27
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic meal! so fresh”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

we loved this place, we went back a second time too , to sample more of the menu. its tiny but the food is so very good. and the owner /chef just cook what you want. we thought we ordered the same thing both days for the kids and it had different ingredients and different taste, it just depends what he has in his kitchen.
really awesome esp as its right in the heart of touristland.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moniskill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tasty excellent food at good price”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Excellent meal, we went twice. Have the speciality lampredetto (tripe - its called reed in England). So tasty we had it twice. Located just behind the Uffizzi. Owner was pleasant and chatty, told us how to make the dish. Evening meal - 3 pasta, 1/2 ltr house red, coke and an ice tea = €25 good value. Owner went next door to get my daughter the icetea! You have to ask for bruschetta as the menu is very minimal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyb1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“best meal of the holiday!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

we came across this place bu accident after looking for lunch having just been to the Uffizi. it is located just down the street behind the gallery. The first time we went the manager was amazing, he stood at the front and explained the menu to us and all the different combinations we could have, also saying that he could really make anything we wanted aslong as he had the ingridients! we choose the local dish Lampredotto, it was honestly the best meal we had of the whole trip. everything was cooked from scratch infront of us. the waiters and the manager were friendly throughout the meal, even giving us advice on how to recreate the dish at home. i would highly recommend this place, worth trying to find, you wont be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Florentine Culinary Sanctuary”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I concur 100% with ceslothy's review, as not only is Paolo is a kind and intelligent man, but was my civilizing beacon during my three weeks at Apicus Culinary Institute this Summer (2013). The chefs at Apicus knew the restaurant as "a place once entering, you want to stay forever," and Paolo as a bit of a culinary artist, and local expert on Tuscan foods. At first, Paolo gives you 10-15 minutes to relax, pointing to a Chianti as yours, and when he senses you're comfortable, Paolo kneels beside your table and together you design your meal. Paolo has 12-15 pasta dishes, but the best is for him to make you a personal meal. The atmosphere is like chilling in a friend's living room drinking wine, getting a peaceful buzz, and wobbling to the dinner table. Endless parade of old Italian men discussing politics and helping to serve, women stopping by for a hug, people getting their pictures taken with Paolo - he stands in the doorway and seemingly knows all of Florence. Personally, I got hammered the first night there, as I drank two bottles of Chiant, letting the American rat-race catheterized itself. Paolo speaks perfect English, so on your way back from the famous enoteche on de'Neri, enjoy that culturally enlightening and civilizing experience the Florentines have been providing for 2000 years. Best of all, he loves to explain Florentine and Tuscan gastronomy ... so ask... and drink the wine. Great record albums on the store front: MC5, Elvis, the Doors!!
In my opinion, if Hemmingway or Kerouac ever hung out in Florence, they would have gone straight to Club del Gusto...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FunkyZildgian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trippa & Zampa also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trippa & Zampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing