We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Church of Santa Maria Novella
from $41.46
More Info
from $159.93
More Info
from $58.05
More Info
Reviews (3,697)
Filter reviews
3,697 results
Traveler rating
2,225
1,156
233
36
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,225
1,156
233
36
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews holy trinity filippino lippi stained glass side chapels entrance fee white marble worth a visit works of art renaissance art cloisters frescoes crucifix facade duomo perspective arches brunelleschi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 3,697 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2019 via mobile

A beautiful church with all access to chapels, gardens and cloisters. Wonderful stained glass windows. Go behind the altar to see a spectacular array of murals. The courtyard gardens offer a brief respite from the urban world outside.

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank RichJellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2019

Compared to other attractions in Florence, this one is not too crowded (at least when I was there) with many things to explore and enjoy.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank JulieSakuraTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2019

We were on our way to purchase our Firenzecards (this church was listed as one of the selling points) and my better half had tagged this into our Florence itinerary. What a great old building and magnificent church, one thing the Italians excel at is their churches, quite spectacular. Well worth a visit and right next door to the main train station. A shining example of 14th century Florence art.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2019

This church is near the train station. We nearly walked past but were very pleased we called in. For me the masterpiece is the Giotto crucifix and there are many other works of staggering quality. A revelation was the Ghirlandaio frescoes. He wasn't really on my radar before this visit.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank J_Jarndyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2019

even with work going on to maintain the church, it was well worth the visit. The cloisters, the gardens, the stained glass, just beautiful.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Solokj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews