We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive”

Church of Santa Maria Novella
Book In Advance
More Info
$86.52*
and up
Private Tour: Fashion and Perfumes Tour in Florence
Ranked #26 of 443 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dominican monastery that serves as a distinguished monument to the religious and artistic history of Florence, which features valuable examples of Florentine paintings from the 14th and 15th centuries..
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
94 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

One of the most important Gothic churches in Tuscany, this convent was built by Dominican friars and is architecturally impressive.
Also impressive inside the coloring of the central arches, as well as the inumerous great works of art

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HANGARinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,380
    747
    158
    25
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Favorite Church, No Question”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Even though the outside is unassuming, it's totally worth the 5 Euro admission. It's a very beautiful place in the simplest of ways. There are tons of beautiful frescos and paintings,and there's even a really neat mini museum on display with some relics. The courtyards, too, are very pretty and extremely nice. You just have to experience it, especially if you're a history lover.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
328 reviews
171 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Great art inside”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

This church is very near the train station and makes a great first stop for anyone arriving by train. Perhaps most famous for "The Holy Trinity" by Masaccio, which is in the left aisle, I was most struck by the murals in The Spanish Chapel, which is located on the north side of the green Cloister just outside the main church. These are some of the most beautiful and best preserved in all of Firenze. Don't miss them!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diverdad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
106 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We visited on Sunday, June 30, 2013. I ended up sitting this one out because I was exhausted by this time in our day, but my husband enjoyed it. There are some great artworks displayed and the history behind this church is interesting. We purchased the Firenze card, which included admission to the church. This church is near the train station, we didn't realize that when we were making our plans but it might be an easy stop to/from the train station.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth-Josh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“"No one expects the Florentine(!) inquisition!"”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This Dominican church is not on fascinating thanks to its artwork (the famous Masaccio "Trinity", the Nardo di Cione depiction of Dante's Inferno, and the Cappella Strozzi), but it is also an important historical site. It was here that the Latin (Catholic) church tried to unite again with the Greek orthodox church (and end the Great Schism) in the Council of Florence (1431), and it was here that St. Catharine of Siena was brought before an inquisitorial court to prove she was not a heretic (Santa Maria Novella was also seat of the local inquisition). The inquisitorial court was held in the Cappellone degli Spagnoli, to see it go to the inner court the entrance is from there, it is an amazing space full of frescoes depicting Thomas Aquinas, the sciences and the roles of the Dominican order.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LeonJE32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church of Santa Maria Novella also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Church of Santa Maria Novella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing