We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Freya brought the art and history of Florence to life!”

Freya's Florence Tours
Ranked #19 of 331 Tours in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Freya Middleton is a private tour guide of Florence with ten years of experience. Renaissance Art History undergraduate and postgraduate degrees provide the solid foundation for her knowledge of the monuments and sites, and this, mixed with abundant enthusiasm, humour and a genuine love for Italy make Freya's Florence tours a memorable and thoroughly enjoyable experience. Specialising in all ages and covering artistic, historical and gastronomic interests. Full and half day options.
London, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Freya brought the art and history of Florence to life!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Freya was beyond fantastic. Her in-depth knowledge of the city's artistic and cultural history was amazing, and her delivery was exciting, and filled with fascinating anecdotes. Her knowledge of the contemporary city was helpful too, as she was always good for dining and shopping suggestions. It's clear that despite being an ex-pat, she's spent more than enough time in Florence to know all the local secrets (and the language, obviously).
Unless you're looking for a dour-faced academic to lecture you on renaissance life, you will not be disappointed with this lively and deeply-knowledgeable Aussie!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank Brendan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    7
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous Freya, you need your own TV series!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We just finished a three-hour tour with Freya, and have to thank her for such an inspirational afternoon. Our 15 and 12 year old found her stories captivating, and she skillfully managed to reinforce our growing understanding of the period by repeating themes and characters, and reminding us of contemporary beliefs and customs as we walked around the various sights. Someone really needs to offer this woman her own TV series!

Helpful?
8 Thank Carner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Freya MADE the trip - she was absolutely fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

I traveled to Florence with my teen-aged daughters, both of whom are art history students and art lovers. They had an EXTENSIVE list of art they wanted to see, and only four days to spend in Florence. Freya developed a fantastic itinerary for us, and was not only an amazing guide but an amazing teacher. She was lively, energetic and exceedingly knowledgeable. She was expert at feeling out when to linger and go into greater detail about a particular piece or period, and made everything exciting. Freya also suggested other sites to visit when touring on our own, and recommended great bars, restaurants and stores. Freya really made our trip.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Marbermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Freya combined the History of Florence with its art so that it all came alive for us.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

We, three friends, spent a wonderful afternoon with Freya in her beautiful city of Florence. Had we tried to take a city walk on our own we would have loved every minute, but would have missed out on so much. She has the ability to interweave the history of Florence and its amazing art in a way that makes it all come alive.

Our favorite memories include the Spanish Chapel at the Basilica di Santa Maria Novella and the Orsan San Michele Church. The first was breathtaking on its own, but as Freya guided us around the frescos explaining each with detailed stories, we were absolutely mesmerized. This was an experience we'll always treasure.

When we visited the Orsan San Michele Church she brought us from its time as a granery to its inception as a church by first walking us around the outside to see the niches filled with sculptures of the Patron Saints of individual guilds (now copies), to the interior of the church telling us all about its history as both a granary and a church, and then to museum on the upper floor where most of the original sculptures now live. As we toured the gallery she helped us to understand the evolution of sculpture in a way that we could truly appreciate the changes, and personalized each sculptor by giving us details unknown to us and so interesting!

At every stop along our tour Freya offered us her expert knowledge and her love of Florence combined with her gift as a story teller. And hers is a true gift.

So thank you Freya for the best possible tour!! Wish that we could come back this very minute.

Jo, Andrea, and Ann

And we should tell you that she's also great fun to be with!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank johanad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
a-45451
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“She's great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

I just returned from a 2 week trip to Italy with another couple. On our first day in Florence we toured with Freya. We booked 3 hours and wished we had booked her for the entire day. She had an afternoon tour but willing stayed another hour with us. She really knows Florence and we learned so much. The resturant she reccommend was excellent. We loved Florence and plan to return in the near future. We will be booking Ferya again on our next visit. Maybe even for a shopping tour.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank cwaj45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freya's Florence Tours also viewed

 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Freya's Florence Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing