We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice gelato”
Review of Gelateria dei Neri

Gelateria dei Neri
Ranked #4 of 215 Dessert in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Uffizi
Northern Cal
Level Contributor
290 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Nice gelato”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Seems authentic, but don't know about the green mint. Gelato was pretty good (had better and had worse). Overall, very good place for Gelato.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sactokw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,904 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,402
    402
    74
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
146 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great but Crowded”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

This place had wonderful gelato - others may too. Crowded but the real deal. Would go here again and do recommend it if nearby.

Helpful?
Thank WNDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Gelato!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Great Gelato. Creamy and wonderful. Maybe the best and definitely in the top 3 gelateria in florence.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouLamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I was really excited about visiting Gelateria Dei Neri but unfortunately I was disappointed in both the gelato and the service.

I'll start by saying that my problem with the gelato was probably mostly due to me choosing the wrong flavors which is why I didn't deduct too many points. I got the Rose and Marscapone. I usually like both of those flavors so I'm not sure why they didn't translate well into gelato... or maybe it's just me! This was the only gelato I had during our 2 week vacation in Italy that I threw out before finishing.

My biggest problem with this place wasn't so much the gelato, but the service. The girl behind the counter seemed annoyed that we were interrupting her conversation with her friend and even though I was smiling at her and doing my best to communicate with her in Italian, she didn't crack one smile back or say one word to us other than the total for the gelato. Sheesh!

This place has a lot of great reviews so I'd like to give it the benefit of the doubt and assume that I just selected incorrectly and happened to walk in while the crankiest employee was working. I don't think I would chance it by visiting Gelateria Dei Neri again though...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Gelateria”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is the best gelateria in Florence easily. I love this place! It is near the Uffizi but, not too close that there are a lot of crowds.

I highly recommend this place. I had to use self control to not eat there every day I studied there.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jenna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria dei Neri also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Gelateria dei Neri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing