We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good bar food and strong drinks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Garter Steakhouse

Red Garter Steakhouse
Ranked #384 of 2,660 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $27
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Uffizi
Description: YOUR HOME AWAY FROM HOME. Next door to the famous RED GARTER you’ll find the Steak House. Popular with both tourists and locals, it is the ideal place to meet up with friends and enjoy a delicious meal. The wooden interior creates a warm and welcoming atmosphere. The service is excellent and the staff are friendly and helpful and make you feel at home. As its name suggests, the main emphasis is on meat, but there is also a varied menu which offers excellent first courses and starters. Open from the afternoon to late at night it is perfect for those who are looking for a full meal or just a quick bite to eat in the company of friends. SPECIAL EVENTS every night. MEGA MONDAYS (Double Size Your Burger For Free), TACO TUESDAYS (2€ Beef/Chicken/Veggie Tacos), WING NIGHTS on Wednesdays & Thursdays. Wide choice of hamburgers, Italian dishes, and refreshing beers on tap! Karaoke, Live Music & DJ set next door.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good bar food and strong drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a nice spot it have drinks before going out that night. The nachos and wings were unexpectedly good and the drinks were strong ( good). Overall we had a great experience and would recommend to any friends.

Helpful?
1 Thank jls512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonora_RedGarter, Responsabile at Red Garter Steakhouse, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your comment concerning your experience at Red Garter Florence.
We always try to improve our performances and service in order to guarantee the best night ever..
Our Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    54
    17
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good time for those wanting a feel of home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were in Italy for 2 weeks and wandering the streets found the House of Sizzle. Clean when walking in and the food was great. We had the mixed grill. After 4 days in Rome and not hearing your native language often, it was comforting to hear lots of people speaking english. The beers were cold, and the food was good. After eating dinner I saw they had NFL games there and talked to the guy who seemed to be running the NFL stuff and although he was a dirty Packers fan said they'd get the Bears game on if I was back the next night. We came back and they had a tabled reserved for us. Food and drinks were amazing again, and would recommend to any American who needs a taste of home.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonora_RedGarter, Responsabile at Red Garter Steakhouse, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Brad, thank you for your kind words posted on Tripadvisor and for taking the time to review our bar. We appreciate it very much.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Go Bears!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“If eating like this is your goal, maybe you should have stayed home.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I'll be honest, we've gone completely native during our 3 month visit to Italy. Eat well, nap in the afternoon and go to bed late. One thing I find difficult to be without is the NFL though . This restaurant is one of only two (in Tuscany) that show regular scheduled games, so we had to go.
Sadly, there was very little atmosphere (could have been due to the Giants getting crushed) and the food was mostly terrible. We had the beer, nachos, and a steak. The beer was fine (let's leave it at that.) Still, if you're missing your local TGIF, you will be happy to find this little football haven. Heck, I may actually have to be there myself if NFL withdrawal sets in again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MAXIPNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonora_RedGarter, Responsabile at Red Garter Steakhouse, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. As I can read, you are a NFL-addicted too! We are one of the few places IN ITALY to show international live sport. We do our best to show as many games as we can and to make all our American, Australians, etc friends feel home. We are extremely sorry for your comment regarding the food. Any constructive criticism is always appreciated in order to improve our performances. Hope you'll be back soon, and we'll make sure to make you change your impression! Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best steakhouse we found in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Finally some real American cooking! It's so difficult to find food that tastes like home! Hamburgers, Tacos and WINGS!! Excellent quality at a good price, considering that we are in the very center of Florence! The waitresses are so helpful! Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonora_RedGarter, Responsabile at Red Garter Steakhouse, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We are very pleased to see your LOVELY review and how much you have enjoyed your experience! I will make sure to deliver your positive comments to our chef and the rest of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you again! Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good beer.. ok food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I have been craving steak for weeks, and I finally found this place... I had a sirloin with Chianti wine sauce. The steak was cooked perfectly and was very tender. Portions were a good size for Italian standards. I was disappointed at the amount of sauce on the steak. There was so much sauce that the flavor of the steak was lost. A good sauce should compliment the steak not over power it. As for the beer, I was happy to see a stout on draught!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JessicaLizeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonora_RedGarter, Responsabile at Red Garter Steakhouse, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Many thanks for completing a review. We are very proud of the high quality of our meat, and we appreciate your comments about the tenderness and the cooking. I'm sorry about the sauce, I will personally take care of delivering your suggestions to our Chef. We are very much keen to take every customer comment into our consideration to keep our standards high. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Garter Steakhouse also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Red Garter Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing