We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money - Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Ranked #139 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Value for money. Great for families.
Great Location. Decent breakfast included.
Just be careful about directions from Station - its a short walk.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ram-chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aolap1, Owner at Hotel Kursaal Ausonia, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thanks for this review.
We are a simple, centrally located, clean, budget family run hotel and we are really pleased to have happy guests appreciating what we do.
Numbers is Florence are confusing because there are black and red numbers. We are in via Nazionale 24 BLACK and so you have to follow the BLACK numbers ignoring the red ones. This means that our 24 black is immediately after a 122 red!
Fascinating, isn’t it?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,030)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

As soon we we arrived, our room was supposed to be clean. Our bed was made, but there was a filthy towel on the bed. But as soon as we opened the door, you could smell it!!! It smelled like sewage! I believe it was actually coming from the bathroom. I kept the bathroom door closed all the time, but it didn't make much of a difference. Unfortunately, the smell alone made me want to move on the the next city in Italy.

The staff was nice and it was Eco friendly. But the smell just did it for me.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meowmeowmeow3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

I’m so sorry that you wanted to leave Florence because of the smell of the room.
The hotel and particularly our bathrooms have been remolded with new drains, pipes and tiles in 2007 and so everything is new.
Sometimes, especially when there is a changing weather or low pressure in the air, there is bad smell in the city and so as well in our hotel. The problem is that the smell comes and goes and each time chooses a different place (like it does in the city) and so it is not connected with a particular bathroom.
Normally the problem is solved letting some water drain for a while.
If you had informed us, perhaps we could have helped you or we could have moved you to another room. We always try our best to make you happy, perhaps next time simply mention it to us and perhaps we can do something about it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Florence was stop 7 of our honeymoon. Being a big trip we were on a budget and wanted to save on accommodation without compromising location, cleanliness and service. Kusaali Austonia were great. As long as you're not expecting the Hilton you'll get a clean room with the necessities. There is some hallway noise from neighbours, an unusual procedure to leave your key at reception whenever leaving the room (but this saves you from losing it and lets them know when is a good time to service your room), shampoo is a big budget bottle with no soap, air conditioner wasn't as cool as we'd like and toilet needed a jiggle on the button to stop the flushing. However you get a clean room, excellent service, basic breakfast, don't pay top dollar and get a good location. They only charge 10 euro for a load of washing... bargain! Location is good being just 10min walk from Firenze SMN train station and the grand marble wonder Santa Maria cathedral.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenAndDus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aolap1, Owner at Hotel Kursaal Ausonia, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
I only would like to better explain our procedure of leaving the keys at the front desk, that sometimes can be annoying.
We did several fire tests so that we all knew what to do in case of fire. One of the things to do was to ring the fire alarm and before leaving the building, be sure that everybody had left the hotel. The quickest way was to check the missing keys
If for ex. key # 5 was not with us we could quickly get the people out of their room.
That's why we want to hold on to the keys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed in three different hotels on our trip through Italy and the Kursaal was the only one we could not recommend. I have noted some reviews that have mentioned that it was clean and well located. It was clean, but in our three day visit the room was made up only once. It was also well located, but, quite frankly, Florence is very walkable so almost every hotel could be described as well located.
We rented a quad room as we were travelling as a family of four. The quad was a standard room with four beds jammed in it. I probably shouldn't nitpick on this item, but our hotels in Rome & Venice offered suite arrangements with their quads for about the same price.
When we arrived we quickly noted that the toilet flush valve on the wall did not work and immediately reported it to the owner. He said he would take care of it when we were out sightseeing but did not. The staff person on duty when we returned told us he had checked it and we weren't using it properly (not holding it long enough). That was nonsense and we had her give it a whirl to no avail either. We took the top off the tank and flushed by manually lifting the valve for our stay (we mentioned the continuing condition to staff each morning). There was no further action by the hotel.
The hotel offers a breakfast but the selection is nothing special by Italian hotel standards and you basically are offered a long communal dining table in a functional, charmless room. Try the Jolly Cafe a block or two down Nazionale instead. The beds were rock hard (I like, but the rest of the family does not),
The staff was very friendly and the AC worked well in some very hot weather, but I have to think there are better options for the price.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank thorsteinveblen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

It is the Province of Firenze that decides the stars of a hotel according to many criteria that the hotel needs to have and so we are three stars because we offer what a three star hotel is supposed to offer.

Let me apologize because the room was not cleaned.
Let me explain why:
our cleaning lady had a problem with her back and so did not come to work (she is still not working). So we had to substitute her quickly. The "job agency" sent us different people on different days (untill they could find somebody that could work for us everyday). They did not do 3 rooms. The cleaning ladies are given a list with all the rooms they need to clean and so I can only think of a mistake due to the fact they there was a lot to do and that the hotel was new to tghem.
We are a very CLEAN hotel and this is something that should not happen, I'm very sorry for that

Your room had a handicapped bathroom and toilet. The flush was not broken but only partially working. My husband (the man at the reception) went to check it but unfortunatelly he could not repalce the half broken piece because handicapped toilets need special pieces and so we needed to order it. Beeing Friday, we had it next Monday when the plumbman came to fix it.
My husband verified that, if keeping the flush pushed for a longer time, it would work and this is what you were told.
We took care of your problem but unfortunatelly could not fix it immediately and I am sorry you felt neglected by us. We always take into serious consideration what our guests say.

Our beds are to be considered medium. We did not buy the hard ones (that Italians love) and not even the soft ones prefered by others.
Our breakfast room offers a long table that is typical of Florence: it is called "fratina". It is the table of a home which we tried to recreate. We also have 5 separate tables for those who prefer something more private and are not willing to seat with other guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Of course, when staying in a city centre hotel you should expect some noise, so you close your window but then the room is so hot (even thought it wasn't even warm outside) and the aircondition is also extremely noisy. The breakfast was basic and you are sitting at one long table in a narrow room. I didn't like the idea that you should pay for wifi esp when we were todl that had we booked the hotel direct it would be free. (we booked through a booking agency). And the key for the safe is the same as your room key which you need to leave at reception when you leave the hotel. Staff was quite friendly though and the location is excellent.

Room Tip: possibly a room out the back but we didn't get one even though we stayed for 3 nights and would...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Braylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aolap1, Owner at Hotel Kursaal Ausonia, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

We are a budget hotel and so we are not luxury by definition. But sincerely I don't know if I would call ourselves very basic.
You did not like our idea of having breakfast like in a typical Florentine house. We have a long table where our guests sit together (we also have 5 small tables for those that do aboslutely not want the long one) From our experience our guests like to share their experiences with other guests and and in a way be more travellers rather than only simply tourists
. Our breakfast is absolutely not basic, at least from an Italian point of view. The normal breakfast in Italy is 1 capuccino + 1 crossant. We add as many coffes and crossants as you like, 2 types of juice, 2 types of cake, corn flakes, muesli, yogourt, jam, honey, ham and cheese. I agree that it is not an American/English type of breakfast but again we are not that type of hotel.
We thought that having 1 only key both for the room and for the safe was easier but you are not the first one that does not like this idea and so we simply changed the procedure. Thanks for pointing this out. We now have a separate key for the safe that guests can take with them and a key for the room to leave at the desk.
I would have appreciated a lot if you would have told this to me directly. We all like to improove and to listen to our clients' ideas

We give the guests that book with our official web site (so with us directly) a littel present: free wi-fi. It is our way of thanking them for having struggled a little bit more to book so to have a direct line with us. I this it is gentle and not unfair to the others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is a very good location hotel and the staffs all very helpful. They will answer all your questions and give you direction.
However, the room for four is very dusty and the shower is very bad. It will become very cool or very hot, never had a normal temperature. The bed is very soft and can feel the bed spring, can't sleep well at nite.
Average, if u look for good location this will be the best choice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank KualalumpurChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aolap1, Owner at Hotel Kursaal Ausonia, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

We respond to all questions and try to do our best for our guests and thier sleep and shower.
I'm glas you appreciated the friendliness and professionality of our syaff
The shower is normally working better than in the days you stayed with us. There was a problem with a "piece" of the heating of the water and the technician couldn't solve the problem at the first trial. He changed something but solved the problems in 3 days. I am sorry but sometimes things are hard to repair.
Regarding the beds I can only take your word because I have tried (for some minutes) the beds of quad rooms and for me they were ok. Normally people complain becasue they are too hard and not to soft. We bought an average, very normal hotel matrass. Perhaps we could have helped you if you had told us directly. We could ev. have substitute the matrass.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

5-day prepaid stay. Average room, but on a very, very busy and noisy street. Breakfst very limited, one of 2 worst of 7 we were at. Couldn't get 2 light bulbs replaced after 3 requests

Room Tip: Stay away from the street
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aolap1, Owner at Hotel Kursaal Ausonia, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

I'm sorry you did not like our hotel and saw only the disadvantages.
Every medal has got the other face to look at:
We are very centrally located and the centre of a town is loud.
For the light sleepers we have EXTRA quiet rooms that face the inner courtyards, for all the others, that are used to the life of a city we have double sound proofed windows.

Our breakfast is limited according to an English point of view but extremely rich for Italians.
The majority of our clients are Italians and for an Italian it is very hard to wake up and smell cooked food or eggs.
We needed to choose what type of hotel we wanted to be and we want to offer a typical atmosphere of a Florentine house and so no eggs or cooked food.

The bulb to be replaced was of the central light and one of the side table. My husband personally changed the one on the side table and only one of the central light.
This lamp has got 2 bulbs of 50 W (alogene) and we did not have 2 to replace, unfortunally we had run out of them, and so my husband replaced 1 bulb with 100W. It is true that only 1 bulb was changed but the light in the room was the same.
I do not remember if they had to ask for 3 times, if they did, I apologise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#97 of 411 in Florence
905 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#126 of 411 in Florence
793 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Gioia
Hotel Gioia
#152 of 411 in Florence
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#157 of 411 in Florence
312 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Monica
Hotel Monica
#243 of 411 in Florence
222 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#92 of 411 in Florence
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kursaal Ausonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kursaal Ausonia

Address: Via Nazionale 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $65 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kursaal Ausonia 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco friendly, simple, new refurbished hotel with all comforts - Very centrally located: 10 min walk to central railway station, cathedral & Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kursaal Ausonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kursaal Ausonia Hotel
Kursaal Ausonia Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing