We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Atlantic Palace
Ranked #137 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and my initial reaction to our room was....this is like a nice pension rather than a hotel. The first nights sleep was dreadful due to a poor quality mattress....I could feel the shape of the springs in my back all night, nothing like a poor nights sleep to make you miserable! So my husband went to reception the next day and they moved us to a much bigger room with a great bed, and the staff were very gracious about it all. The decor is old but in good condition and everything is spotless. I liked the cream leather couches in the lobby , very comfortable and although we had wifi in our room we often sat in the lobby on our smart phones.
The breakfast was only average,nothing special to report here but we ate enough to keep us going for the day. The location of the hotel is great, only a stones throw from Maria Novella station which is your starting point for most train journeys. If you're staying in this hotel, look for the McDonalds opposite the station with a 'Bata' shoe shop opposite it. Via Nazionale runs vertically between these two places, although its not called Via Nazionale until further up the street. Also theres an Tourist information Office directly opposite the station where you can pick up your Firenze cards if you've ordered them online.
Would I stay here again? Possibly, now that I've got my bearings from here already but there are loads of other hotels too, it would all depend on the price of my stay on the day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GalwayGirl007Galway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APM-GUESTSRELATION, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Atlantic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Good morning from Hotel Atlantic Palace,

Thank you so much for this review madame, we appreciate so much when clients are happy and satisfy. Regarding the beds we inform you that we have planned to substitute the beds, which are not requiring our qualitatives styles and for your next stay everithing will be ok! Then for you next don't worry, because we are sure that we will have the right price for you.
So see you soon and best regards

Diego (Responsable for relations with costumers)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

356 - 362 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

Located about a ten minute walk to the Duomo and a twenty minute walk to the Uffizi/Ponte Vecchio, the Atlantic offers decent but average accommodations. The b'fasts are ample and the rooms are adequate with a helpful staff. There are smaller boutique-style hotels on Florence's side streets that are just as nice, as close to the Duomo and a tad cheaper.

Room Tip: As anywhere and as always - away from the main streets!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APM-GUESTSRELATION, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Atlantic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Good morning from Hotel Atlantic Palace,

Thank you so much for this review madame, we appreciate so much when clients are happy and satisfy. Regarding your comments we inform you that we have planned to increase the services in order to do not be just an average hotels but a good a very good hotel
So see you soon and best regards

Diego (Responsable for relations with costumers)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I was very happy with the service, location and price offered by the hotel. It's located just 5 minutes walk from the railway station (where the stop for the airport bus is) and 5 minutes from the old town. Amazing market street starts just around the corner! It's close to the old town, Duomo and other sights, but you can find cheap (and great!) tratorias and nice non-touristic Italian coffee places around. Also a good supermarket! The staff is very friendly and helpful, the breakfast pretty good (continental style, but better than in other places) - in general great value for money!

Room Tip: I stayed in 2 rooms (2 separate stays) and I liked them both. One had a view over the street, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karolina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APM-GUESTSRELATION, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Atlantic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Customer, thank you for the positive comment which makes happy all the staff in the structure. We would like to be able to welcome you again soon and we wish you a happy continuation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed 4 nights in this very nice hotel situated in an old monastery - thus for some of the rooms expect some winding hallways, some stairs, and unusual configurations - but to be expected in this situation. We booked a superior double - it was a large lovely room with huge bathroom containing walk-in shower stall & jacuzzi tub & double sinks...ahhh! Also a small terrace with table & chairs. Room was quiet although situated on a major street very near to the Santa Maria train station. The hotel cleanliness was excellent. The breakfast buffet was tasty with very kind staff - especially Valentina :) Hotel front desk staff was professional, courteous, and helpful - couldn't ask for more!
The hotel is within walking distance to historic sites and also right near the alleys where the street vendors have their stands offering souvenirs, clothing, leather products, etc. Note talso that up the street is a sizeable grocery store where one can purchase fruit, veggies, deli products, etc - very convenient. And across the street from the hotel a few steps down Via Faenza is a GREAT restaurant - Nerone's. We ate there every night (thanks Carlo!). Awesome ambiance, great food & nice staff. Delicious pesto pasta as well as other great pasta dishes - also great steak, good hearty soup & salads too. They are well known for their brick oven cooked pizza but, being of Sicilian descent, we are fans of southern italian thick pizza so we don't eat pizza this far up north.
Would definitely recommend Hotel Atlantic Palace - thanks so much for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank our_joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APM-GUESTSRELATION, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Atlantic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Customer, thank you for the positive comment which makes happy all the staff in the structure. We would like to be able to welcome you again soon and we wish you a happy continuation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good place (very close to the Duomo), nice and very helpful staff (the concierge arranged a dinner reservation at a very good restaurant with a long waiting list just with a simple phone call). Would stay again, for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre_Mattos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APM-GUESTSRELATION, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Atlantic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Customer, thank you for the positive comment which makes happy all the staff in the structure. We would like to be able to welcome you again soon and we wish you a happy continuation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Atlantic Palace, 10 days back. The biggest and main advantage is the location. It comes across as a straightforward, quick and absolutely practical place to stay. The room we got was away from the main street. The room was big and away from the hustle bustle of the street. This place is meant for everyone who is looking for a hassle free trip on foot around Florence and is not so much into getting into the nitty gritty of how beautiful the view from the room was, etc. I do feel that the bathroom was good but the shower cubicle could have been larger so as to have a shower without knocking the shower doors. The front desk was quick, hassle free...they guided us well around town and infact gave us the bus nos, etc. The breakfast is simple, wholesome and just what anyone on a trip would require...cereals, fruits, cheese, milk, variety of tea and a service with a smile. I do not recall the name of the gentleman near the reception but he was great...attentive and very well mannered. He was older, with spectacles and ready to help attitude. Just a piece of advise to the management, we would have liked the lighting the room to be brighter...had to keep the bathroom door open to use the bright light from there to lighten up the room :)

Room Tip: Rooms which have natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chocolates72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APM-GUESTSRELATION, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Atlantic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Customer, thank you for the positive comment which makes happy all the staff in the structure. We would like to be able to welcome you again soon and we wish you a happy continuation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The reception rooms were impressive but the room itself was very disappointing and nothing like the standard portrayed on the website. The service was reasonable and breakfast was average. For an overnight stop it was adequate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trish k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APM-GUESTSRELATION, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Atlantic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Good morning from Hotel Atlantic Palace,

Thank you so much for this review madame, we regret that we didn't satisfy the standards you planned to received. Regarding your comments we inform you that we have started to increase the services in order that when you will come to us everthing will be perfect.
So see you soon and best regards

Diego (Responsable for relations with costumers)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
#201 of 410 in Florence
1,195 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#82 of 410 in Florence
1,201 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Embassy
Hotel Embassy
#141 of 410 in Florence
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Sempione
Hotel Sempione
#125 of 410 in Florence
457 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#92 of 410 in Florence
864 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#50 of 410 in Florence
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantic Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantic Palace

Address: Via Nazionale 12, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#129 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#140 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $70 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantic Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Palace Hotel is an ancient palace built at the beginning of the XVII century, located in the very city centre. Our hotel in Florence is close to the Duomo, to Santa Maria Novella railway station, to the Expo Centre, and 200 metres away from the "Fortezza da Basso". The rooms are furnished in florentine style, and are equipped with all modern comforts and have been recently renovated as the common areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Atlantic Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Palace Florence
Atlantic Palace Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing