We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small little B&B with a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Guest House Bel Duomo
Ranked #51 of 650 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Small little B&B with a great location”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This little gem is located around the corner from the the beautiful cathedral in the city center. This is the perfect place to stay for the independent traveler who is seeing the city via foot/bike and wants to be close to all of the sights and restaurants. The staff was fantastic, very helpful and friendly. You are given a key to the property so you are free to come and go as you please as the desk is not staffed 24 hours a day. They gave us excellent restaurant recommendations and helped us become oriented to Florence. The room was very clean, with some slight drainage problems with the shower. A very minor inconvenience for a overall pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaclyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    134
    10
    11
    8
See reviews for
130
174
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was traveling with a group of friends and we were lucky to find an opening at this great Bed and Breakfast. The owners were excellent and provided countless tips for ways to enjoy Florence. They are obviously well connected to the city and can provide you with information on the best places to eat, shop, and sight see. The rooms are very spacious and the location cannot be topped. Check this place out if you want an excellent place to stay in Florence!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The owners, Mandy and Giulio, are lovely people who go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. This was one of the best accommodation experiences I've had because of their recommendations and their help in booking our activities.
It is excellent value for money - we didn't expect something so central and such a nice place for the price we were paying! Mandy and Giulio's excellent hospitality are an added bonus.
Definitely go to Trattoria San Lorenzo down the road (Mandy recommended it to us) - it is the best and so close to the B&B too. Trattoria ZaZa was also an excellent recommendation by Giulio. We went to other restaurants but they just didn't match up to the ones that Mandy and Giulio recommended.
Don't think twice - stay here and you will definitely not regret it!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our family of two adults and two teenagers managed to wheel our suitcases from the train station to this B&B with ease. We were originally greeted by the cleaning girl who spoke no English, but one half of the friendly duo who run this B&B, Giulio, quickly arrived. He was very helpful, telling us where to go and not to go, where the best place to eat was (and he was right, we loved the restaurant at the end of the street, the food was devine) and even helped us with a phone confirmation for an upcoming tour elsewhere, as well as letting me print out some train tickets I had booked online. Nothing seemed to be a problem.
Before arriving I had also exchanged a number of emails with his wife, Mandy, who had also booked us tickets for the Accademia Gallery. This saved us about two hours, as the line to get in was huge. Suffice to say, before we had even settled into our room, we were loving the Bel Duomo B&B.
This was one of the least expensive options we found when researching Florence accommodation and we wondered if it was too good to be true. But we had nothing to worry about, it really was a bargain. The room we stayed in was huge, with a modern bathroom. The room was clean, you really had nothing to complain about - in this price range, it was more than we could have expected.The breakfast was very basic, but as we were rushing to catch a train this suited us perfectly.
As we were staying in the middle of July, it was very hot and so we needed to use the air conditioning unit. This was the only issue we had, as the air conditioning unit was quite loud, meaning we didn't get the best night's sleep.
That said, if we make it back to Florence one day (and we hope to), we will be heading back to the Bel Duomo B&B again. The perfect location just around the corner from the Duomo (and within walking distance of all the main sights) and the friendly hosts mean we wouldn't need to look anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robsalNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2012

indescribable experience.

We couldn't believe that in this world really have such great deal. Normally cheap things wont come with great thing, but they did it!!
With affordable prices you can get the B&B in excellent location, just located at the Piazza del Duomo. The services were excellent as well. The owners, Amanda & Giulio were both friendly and welcoming. On the day we reach, Giuolio gave us some great tips on everything and marked it on the map, so that we can refer it easily.

it is definitely value for money.



the best!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huipheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This B&B is ideally located, and the services were excellent. Mandy and her staff were very friendly, and always willing to help. The place is very quiet, despite the central location. Stepping out of the door and you are at the Piazza del Duomo! Room was very clean, and the was cleaned every day. Will definitely stay there again next time!
A few tidbits: every evening we strolled to Piazza della Signoria to enjoy the ambiance, which is better than Piazza del Duomo. You get to listen to street musicians under the sculptures of Loggia dei Lanzi, and do people watching.
Also, for those who'd like to take Florence buses and have a tablet (iPad), get the Avenza Florence ATAF pdf map app and turn on the location service. It shows where you are with respect of the bus lines. Florence ATAF bus system is complicated and bus stops are very difficult to find. With that app, we were able to utilize the bus with ease (did I mention the bus is free with Florence Card?).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cxcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Our experience at the B&B Bel Duomo was absolutely great! Mandy and Giulio were delightful and offered us some great recommendations for places to visit and restaurants to eat at. The room was very comfortable and a good size for Europe. The bathroom was across the hall, but that wasn’t an issue for us (some of the rooms have in-suite bathrooms). The B&B arranged for an Italian breakfast (cappuccino + croissant) at a nearby café (right next to the Duomo!) for 3Euro (would have been 12 otherwise!).

Will definitively be back!

Do yourself a favor though and try to avoid driving into Florence. The B&B is right in the historic center and they have arranged for parking at a nearby garage, but it was an absolute nightmare navigating the really narrow pedestrian streets.

Room Tip: Ask if you prefer an in-suite bathroom as our room didn't have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ndemberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
#18 of 650 in Florence
983 reviews
San Lorenzo
Alloro B&B
Alloro B&B
#36 of 650 in Florence
791 reviews
San Lorenzo
Locanda dei Poeti
Locanda dei Poeti
#17 of 650 in Florence
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
B&B Le Stanze del Duomo
B&B Le Stanze del Duomo
#39 of 650 in Florence
614 reviews
San Lorenzo
Tourist House Vittorio Ricci
Tourist House Vittorio Ricci
#101 of 650 in Florence
362 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Bellevue House
Bellevue House
#16 of 650 in Florence
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House Bel Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Bel Duomo

Property: Guest House Bel Duomo
Address: Borgo San Lorenzo 4, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly Bed and Breakfast Bel Duomo)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 650 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Guest House Bel Duomo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the pedestrians' only area, just 10 metres from the corner of Piazza del Duomo. Guest House Bel Duomo is about 600 metres (10 minutes walk) from the main railway station, Santa Maria Novella, from which Florence airport is easily reachable via a frequent shuttle bus service. Bel Duomo offers 11 spacious rooms on the mezzanine level, first and third floors of the historic building (without a lift, unfortunately) in which it is located. Every room has a private bathroom, 7 ensuite while 4 rooms have private external bathrooms. All rooms are equipped with free wifi, central heating, air conditioning, flat screen TV, hairdryer, refrigerator and kettle. A simple breakfast of tea, instant coffee and individually wrapped croissants, crackers and chocolates is included in the price, other than this, breakfast is an optional extra, available at a discounted price at a bar a few minutes walk away. Guests are assured of a warm welcome from the English/Italian family running B&B Bel Duomo. A map and tourist information including museum/tour/restaurant bookings are always offered on check in by the hosts, for whom courtesy and customer service are absolute priorities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Guest House Bel Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing