We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Flavoursome with moments of true delight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of IO osteria personale

IO osteria personale
Reserve with
Save up to 25% when you reserve online *
IO osteria personale is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #123 of 2,511 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Santo Spirito / San Frediano
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Flavoursome with moments of true delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Dinner here with two friends who also happened to be in town. Serendipity.

The food was generally very good and had some wonderful flavours. I have to recommend the amazing celery sorbet for dessert, thought the chocolate soufflé with basil ice cream also went down a treat with friends.

The steak tartar was apparently very good and both octopus and squid dishes were beautifully cooked and presented but lacked the extra wow. I love deep fried courgette flowers in a tempura batter but I have to say that these weren't a patch on the one's - stuffed with goat's cheese and drizzled with honey - that you find at Dehesa in London.

We had a couple of bottles of very good pink fizz, and four bottles of water. No coffees. €205 for four.

The ambience of the place isn't really 'romantic', it is contemporary and very clean. Great bathrooms.

Service .... well we didn't add more to the service charge because it was a little hit and miss, though the taxi did appear when requested.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    98
    16
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Firenze
Level Contributor
194 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Creative Osteria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Florence is the capital of turistic restaurants and having an osteria in the left Bank that escapes from the ubiquitous recipes of the region is a kind of miracle.
The menu is not divided into starter and main courses, but basically everything can be What you want to be (probably the reason Why io, personal osteria).
The decor of the room is ok, anything too cosy or special, but even anything wrong, may be a little luckying of privacy.
The food is a kind of creative/moder maybe not super special but the chance to choose between meat and fish is quite rare in town and some inedited combinations make this restaurant a good choice among the numerous tourist traps

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mgiornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles, Belgique
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A topper: nice atmosphere, great tastes and personal service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We enjoyed this restaurant very very much!
It's located a bit outside the touristic zone but is certainly a top restaurant in Florence.

I would highly recommend to book in advance.

They served tasting menu, where you we could try several dishes in small portions.
You can choose to have 3 or 4.
Sure enough to eat ;)

They also have a great winelist and the Spumante was delicious.

The atmosphere is quite modern, but intimate. We enjoyed our little table next to the bar.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katmo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exceptional dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Situated outside the main tourist drag in Florence, this food here is well worth the charming walk alongside the river Arno to get to it. A small and intimate place tucked away in a quiet street, the quality of the food and charming understated service made this a memorable meal and a fantastic evening out. The menu is not the usual tourist fayre and provides innovative eating which makes a wonderful change in such a touristy city and is appreciated by people who take food seriously. The beef cheek was delicious and was wonderfully complemented with the choice of interesting deserts. I chose the chocolate mouse with balsamic ice cream and was not disappointed.We were very impressed and will definitely visit again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mopo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The food was inventive, delicious and throroughly enjoyable. The service was attentive and knowing. We would go back in a flash. Excellent and reasonably priced vino. Our best meal in Firenze.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank edward w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IO osteria personale also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to IO osteria personale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing