We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“We loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of IO osteria personale

IO osteria personale
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
IO osteria personale is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #143 of 2,526 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The food was inventive, delicious and throroughly enjoyable. The service was attentive and knowing. We would go back in a flash. Excellent and reasonably priced vino. Our best meal in Firenze.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank edward w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    100
    16
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was without a doubt the best restaurant we visited on our recent trip to Florence. Its a small restaurant, full of local people. The service was brilliant and the food was exceptional.
What an amazing night we had, one not to be forgotten

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, Unusual Choices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

IO has a very unconventional menu: no anti-pasti or pasta dishes. Set menu gives you choices of fish, meat and vegetable dishes; you can choose from different varieties or all of the same (such as all fish dishes). Food quality and flavors are excellent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank taster70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food, an experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Was there with my girlfriend. We have enjoyed great atmosphere and the slightly experimental cuisine. Don't expect traditional Pizza & Pasta but the food is great and worth every Euro. Modern atmosphere.

Very nice and professional staff. Also reasonable priced.

A bit difficult to find but worth the way over the river!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An oasis for locovores and sophisticated palates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Attentive service, fine wines from small vineyards, and a committment to local suppliers for raw ingredients - all result in a surprising mix of flavors, textures and temperatures. The medallion of fresh cod, served on a bed of gaspacho cream, and topped with a small scoop of yellow bellpepper icecream is a palate pleaser. And desserts - when you're finished, there'll be no regretting the calories.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IO osteria personale also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to IO osteria personale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing