We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Conference Florentia Hotel
Ranked #358 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Having just travelled around Europe and Scandinavia this has to be the poorest hotel I have ever stayed in. The hotel is dark and the dinning room that we got our breakfast, well it was the pits. The so called hot food was cold, with a poor selection. The bedroom was fair to good. This hotel is badly in need of a do up.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 546 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located- abstains just 6 kilometers from the most popular sightseeings in Florence. The facilities are simply superb as the rooms are spacious and well appointed. The morning buffet boasts a wide variety of absolutely delicious food to suit everyone's palate. The choice of drinks are quite satisfactory and the cost overall- reasonable.
The guests' needs are catered for 24 hours basis as the room service appears to be around the clock. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vassalou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel deserves better reviews than the ones in tripadvisor. Rooms are spacious and clean. Staff is excellent at all levels. They are really friendly and welcoming. Nice location even if out of town. Nice views. Good food.
The disadvantage is that the pool was closed in the middle of August for unknown reasons.
The hotel needs renovation and new look but for the given price it is still ok.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a night at the Sheraton Firenze as part of a tour. The hotel is about 20 minutes drive from the city centre. The building would've been a top hotel when it was built with spacious lobby and hallways. It's showing its age now but still in good condition.

The room was spacious too and mine had a great view overlooking green hills. There's a fridge with complimentary bottled water. The dinner was served in silver service style where foods are placed on your plate at the table.

Overall I had a comfortable stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We recently stayed at this apparent 4 star hotel with Globus tours for one night with our tour group.

Where do we start, how about the good things?
We survived two nights.

Now the areas that need improvement... and often significant improvements!!
1) Having water in the pool would be nice.
2) Having no weeds growing around the pool with no water would also be nice.
3) Mowing the weeds off the tennis court to allow you to play tennis would be nice.
4) When cupboard in our room states 'bar', that a bar and a fridge should be behind the door, not just an EMPTY space.
5) Reception staff are unwilling to provide you with a double bed (as booked) and state that 2 single beds are equivalent... although separated.
6) The hallways are equivalent to a dimly lit airport runway that lead to bouts of depression.
7) Breakfast... very little to choose from.
8) Windows 1995 obviously is very slow, and they only have one PC... this led to significant queues.
9) Location was terrible, too far away from town... unless you like looking at freeways.

In summary, the professional hotel rater rating this hotel probably did this by looking at the original plans (possibly not even on site) and not based from any recent experiences at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taqueeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was with a tour group, and we stayed here for two nights. The beds were the most comfortable through the entire trip. The room was a good size. We watched TV (for once) and we had a difficult time turning the TV on, but it turned out it was my husbands "user error." The staff seemed annoyed over that, but we found it quite funny. The workout room is a pretty good size, and we definitely put it to use. The location is not central to anything; it's a bit out of the way, but personally it was one of my favorite hotels we stayed at.

One thing, and it was probably just our room, but the toilet was in an odd location. If you sat down on the toilet, the sink area was literally on top of you. I actually got a big bruise on my leg from the edge of the sink area from standing up and catching the corner.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacquelyn_San_Diego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is my first trip to florence. This hotel is located immthe outskirts of florence city. Service is real good as well as the food. But wifi is not free you have to pay 12 euro for 24 hrs usage. So i will give it a 4 on 5.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naina0176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
5.1 mi away
Cosmopolitan Concept Hotel
Cosmopolitan Concept Hotel
#123 of 411 in Florence
594 reviews
6.4 mi away
IH Hotel Firenze Business
IH Hotel Firenze Business
#224 of 411 in Florence
193 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Raffaello Firenze
Hotel Raffaello Firenze
#354 of 411 in Florence
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto
1.2 mi away
Italiana Hotels Florence
Italiana Hotels Florence
#173 of 411 in Florence
1,111 reviews
2.2 mi away
Classic Hotel
Classic Hotel
#229 of 411 in Florence
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conference Florentia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conference Florentia Hotel

Address: Via Giovanni Arcangeli 33, 50126, Florence, Italy (Formerly Sheraton Firenze Hotel)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#125 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $102 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Conference Florentia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Conference Florentia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Florence
Sheraton Hotel Florence Italy
Florence Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing