We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Poor Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Conference Florentia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Conference Florentia Hotel
Ranked #359 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Poor Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Having just travelled around Europe and Scandinavia this has to be the poorest hotel I have ever stayed in. The hotel is dark and the dinning room that we got our breakfast, well it was the pits. The so called hot food was cold, with a poor selection. The bedroom was fair to good. This hotel is badly in need of a do up.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    95
    150
    108
    73
See reviews for
71
110
22
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located- abstains just 6 kilometers from the most popular sightseeings in Florence. The facilities are simply superb as the rooms are spacious and well appointed. The morning buffet boasts a wide variety of absolutely delicious food to suit everyone's palate. The choice of drinks are quite satisfactory and the cost overall- reasonable.
The guests' needs are catered for 24 hours basis as the room service appears to be around the clock. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Family V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut , lebanon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel deserves better reviews than the ones in tripadvisor. Rooms are spacious and clean. Staff is excellent at all levels. They are really friendly and welcoming. Nice location even if out of town. Nice views. Good food.
The disadvantage is that the pool was closed in the middle of August for unknown reasons.
The hotel needs renovation and new look but for the given price it is still ok.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a night at the Sheraton Firenze as part of a tour. The hotel is about 20 minutes drive from the city centre. The building would've been a top hotel when it was built with spacious lobby and hallways. It's showing its age now but still in good condition.

The room was spacious too and mine had a great view overlooking green hills. There's a fridge with complimentary bottled water. The dinner was served in silver service style where foods are placed on your plate at the table.

Overall I had a comfortable stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
235 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We recently stayed at this apparent 4 star hotel with Globus tours for one night with our tour group.

Where do we start, how about the good things?
We survived two nights.

Now the areas that need improvement... and often significant improvements!!
1) Having water in the pool would be nice.
2) Having no weeds growing around the pool with no water would also be nice.
3) Mowing the weeds off the tennis court to allow you to play tennis would be nice.
4) When cupboard in our room states 'bar', that a bar and a fridge should be behind the door, not just an EMPTY space.
5) Reception staff are unwilling to provide you with a double bed (as booked) and state that 2 single beds are equivalent... although separated.
6) The hallways are equivalent to a dimly lit airport runway that lead to bouts of depression.
7) Breakfast... very little to choose from.
8) Windows 1995 obviously is very slow, and they only have one PC... this led to significant queues.
9) Location was terrible, too far away from town... unless you like looking at freeways.

In summary, the professional hotel rater rating this hotel probably did this by looking at the original plans (possibly not even on site) and not based from any recent experiences at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taqueeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

San Diego
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was with a tour group, and we stayed here for two nights. The beds were the most comfortable through the entire trip. The room was a good size. We watched TV (for once) and we had a difficult time turning the TV on, but it turned out it was my husbands "user error." The staff seemed annoyed over that, but we found it quite funny. The workout room is a pretty good size, and we definitely put it to use. The location is not central to anything; it's a bit out of the way, but personally it was one of my favorite hotels we stayed at.

One thing, and it was probably just our room, but the toilet was in an odd location. If you sat down on the toilet, the sink area was literally on top of you. I actually got a big bruise on my leg from the edge of the sink area from standing up and catching the corner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquelyn_San_Diego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is my first trip to florence. This hotel is located immthe outskirts of florence city. Service is real good as well as the food. But wifi is not free you have to pay 12 euro for 24 hrs usage. So i will give it a 4 on 5.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naina0176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
1.2 mi away
Italiana Hotels Florence
Italiana Hotels Florence
#164 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 793 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabriele D'Annunzio
7.0 mi away
Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Together Florence Inn
Together Florence Inn
#3 of 5 in Bagno a Ripoli
4.0 of 5 stars 580 reviews
4.7 mi away
Villa Le Rondini
Villa Le Rondini
#225 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Belvedere - Florence
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#168 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conference Florentia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conference Florentia Hotel

Property: Conference Florentia Hotel
Address: Via Giovanni Arcangeli 33, 50126, Florence, Italy (Formerly Sheraton Firenze Hotel)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Conference Florentia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Conference Florentia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Florence
Sheraton Hotel Florence Italy
Florence Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing