We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Conference Florentia Hotel
Ranked #355 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Beirut , lebanon
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good and comfortable stay”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel deserves better reviews than the ones in tripadvisor. Rooms are spacious and clean. Staff is excellent at all levels. They are really friendly and welcoming. Nice location even if out of town. Nice views. Good food.
The disadvantage is that the pool was closed in the middle of August for unknown reasons.
The hotel needs renovation and new look but for the given price it is still ok.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    108
    175
    123
    82
See reviews for
86
126
25
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a night at the Sheraton Firenze as part of a tour. The hotel is about 20 minutes drive from the city centre. The building would've been a top hotel when it was built with spacious lobby and hallways. It's showing its age now but still in good condition.

The room was spacious too and mine had a great view overlooking green hills. There's a fridge with complimentary bottled water. The dinner was served in silver service style where foods are placed on your plate at the table.

Overall I had a comfortable stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We recently stayed at this apparent 4 star hotel with Globus tours for one night with our tour group.

Where do we start, how about the good things?
We survived two nights.

Now the areas that need improvement... and often significant improvements!!
1) Having water in the pool would be nice.
2) Having no weeds growing around the pool with no water would also be nice.
3) Mowing the weeds off the tennis court to allow you to play tennis would be nice.
4) When cupboard in our room states 'bar', that a bar and a fridge should be behind the door, not just an EMPTY space.
5) Reception staff are unwilling to provide you with a double bed (as booked) and state that 2 single beds are equivalent... although separated.
6) The hallways are equivalent to a dimly lit airport runway that lead to bouts of depression.
7) Breakfast... very little to choose from.
8) Windows 1995 obviously is very slow, and they only have one PC... this led to significant queues.
9) Location was terrible, too far away from town... unless you like looking at freeways.

In summary, the professional hotel rater rating this hotel probably did this by looking at the original plans (possibly not even on site) and not based from any recent experiences at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taqueeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was with a tour group, and we stayed here for two nights. The beds were the most comfortable through the entire trip. The room was a good size. We watched TV (for once) and we had a difficult time turning the TV on, but it turned out it was my husbands "user error." The staff seemed annoyed over that, but we found it quite funny. The workout room is a pretty good size, and we definitely put it to use. The location is not central to anything; it's a bit out of the way, but personally it was one of my favorite hotels we stayed at.

One thing, and it was probably just our room, but the toilet was in an odd location. If you sat down on the toilet, the sink area was literally on top of you. I actually got a big bruise on my leg from the edge of the sink area from standing up and catching the corner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquelyn_San_Diego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is my first trip to florence. This hotel is located immthe outskirts of florence city. Service is real good as well as the food. But wifi is not free you have to pay 12 euro for 24 hrs usage. So i will give it a 4 on 5.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naina0176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I know that most people have lambasted this hotel. I agree with what others have said about dated architecture, an impersonal '80s retro feel, deserted lobby, no internet connection, antique TV and telephone, non functional pool etc etc. But then there are may positives as well. I would try not to be biased and jot down a neutral review!

Locality

Since the hotel is located virtually in the Chianti Hills outside the city, one gets a fantastic view of the surrounding countryside from the rooms. One disadvantage of that is there are no pubs or restaurants nearby. But then there are lovely walks just outside the hotel through peaceful village roads. See the pics I have uploaded.

Access

The hotel is located outside Florence. Its a EUR 25/ 20 km/ 25 min taxi ride from Florence's Santa Maria Novella Railway Station (Firenze SMN) to the hotel. From the Duomo (approximately the city centre) to the hotel is EUR 20/ 17 km/ 20 min.

There are free hotel shuttles to and from the city centre and railway station. Three in the morning and three in the evening. Timings are quite convenient. We used those. Check the hotel website for timings.

Guests

It seemed that this hotel caters mainly to tour groups and conferences. Saw many tour groups arriving and leaving by bus. Also saw conferences being organised with many participants staying at the hotel as well. I would imagine that for such guests the relatively remote location would not be a disadvantage. During our 3 days' stay at the hotel we did not see too many individual holiday travelers like us.

Rooms

Large, spacious, clean, well furnished rooms and everything worked. Sure the TV and telephones were antiquated. But at the price one gets this hotel for, the large rooms with a view well compensated the lack of a modern TV! See pictures of the room I have uploaded.

Food and Room Service

One major disadvantage is that there aren't any bars or restaurants around the hotel. One has to depend on either the hotel's La Primevera restaurant or the Rendezvous Bar. Rates are on the higher side.

Room Service has limited choice but quick service and prices slightly on the higher side. Main courses are around EUR 10/15. The large breakfast buffet has good selection and priced at EUR 20. That's expensive.

Internet

On major disadvantage there are no internet services. There are just a couple of Desktops in the lobby from which one can take turns to access the net. This was a rather nasty surprise!

Conclusion

Rates vary depending on season. That's normal for any hotel. If you get this hotel for EUR 100 per night on a double occupancy basis then this could be a very good deal. Anything more than that and one should look for better options within the city. There are plenty of those. We were happy with our choice and enjoyed our three days here.

I am rating this hotel Average because of the large rooms, good views and peaceful location. Service, facilities etc were below expectations.

Room Tip: The view from the rooms facing the Chianti Hills and the A1 highway are very good. Higher floors off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArupGhosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

For a brand property, the Sheraton Firenze is a let-down. The only positive I could find for this hotel was the location. It's close to the Incisa outlet mall and the city which is probably what generates most of its guest base, because it sure isn't for the decor. The dated look and feel of the hotel struck me upon first arrival, it was like stepping back into eighties America and I just didn't like it. It's not elegant or modern in any way and just feels tired and dark. The rooms also reflect this feel and as such weren't welcoming or anything to look forward to. We didn't find the staff that friendly which was disappointing but they did fulfil our requests as required.

We definitely wouldn't stay again unless it was at a very cheap rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zteu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
4.8 mi away
Nilhotel
Nilhotel
#195 of 411 in Florence
626 reviews
6.4 mi away
IH Hotel Firenze Business
IH Hotel Firenze Business
#223 of 411 in Florence
167 reviews
7.0 mi away
Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Italiana Hotels Florence
Italiana Hotels Florence
#160 of 411 in Florence
996 reviews
1.3 mi away
Together Florence Inn
Together Florence Inn
#271 of 411 in Florence
681 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Belvedere - Florence
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#178 of 411 in Florence
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conference Florentia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conference Florentia Hotel

Property: Conference Florentia Hotel
Address: Via Giovanni Arcangeli 33, 50126, Florence, Italy (Formerly Sheraton Firenze Hotel)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Conference Florentia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Conference Florentia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Florence
Sheraton Hotel Florence Italy
Florence Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing