We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland,impersonal, avoid if possible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Conference Florentia Hotel
Ranked #358 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Bland,impersonal, avoid if possible”
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

A large, depressing conference style hotel that looks tired from the outside and proves to be so from the inside. Rooms are way too hot. Even in January had to sleep with the window open. The breakfast is of a typical Italian Sheraton standard, TERRIBLE. The only positive I could find was the staff, who were friendly, polite and welcoming.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank luckybrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    108
    176
    123
    86
See reviews for
88
127
26
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is trapped in the 80s - it looks like it has never been renovated and falls short of Sheraton brand standards. Lobby couches look like something out of a war zone. Beds are uncomfortable, couches are old, carpets are worn and stained.

Major issue with service at the hotel. The shuttle does not stop inside Santa Maria Novella station (web site is incorrect, and staff gave wrong information over the phone when I called), you need to go to track 16, walk all the way to the end and down the ramp, exiting at Piazelle Montelungo. You will see a bunch of signs for buses - if you stand near the sign that says "Baspi Bus", which comes between the ramp and the shelter, then you will easily get the shuttle.

The actual shuttle service was wonderful, it is free, with friendly drivers and a few stops in the city near tourist points. Shuttle tickets are available exactly 10 minutes before departure, but some staff do it 15 minutes before - you need to be careful.

Staff were rude in general, some additional highlights:

-One staff member refused to provide any help after we missed the shuttle due to being misinformed by the hotel staff. Another staff member finally explained the public bus (not the easiest way into town, but a good backup), and provided an easy to follow map.
-Same staff member as above was serving Italians before other guests - I had to tell him to serve me since I had been waiting in line.
-I was told no internet codes were available (also same staff member as above), and told to come back in an hour. Codes were visible on the desk. No offer to call to let me know when I could come.
-I noted two occasions where customers were yelling at staff. It might not have been the fault of staff, but it was clear from watching them try to handle it that they lacked basic customer service training, and both times it spiralled out of control.
-All staff refused attempts to speak to the manager, saying he wasn't there and refusing to record the shuttle complaint (eventually had to complain to SPG)

Only Sheraton I've ever been to where lobby Link@Sheraton computers are not free - it was something like 30 cents a minute!

Platinum treatment consisted of upgrade to a large suite (very clean except for black mould in the shower area). Otherwise Platinum treatment was weak - there was no lounge. Continental breakfast was fine but not spectacular, though it was nice that they made proper cappucino for you even though there's a self serve machine.

I will give SPG credit for the shuttle complaint - initially gave me form letter responses and didn't seem to care, but then another rep dealt with the situation very well and to my satisfaction. The hotel manager provided useless responses that didn't really address the complaint - it's clear that the poor service at this hotel starts at the top.

Overall, I wouldn't recommend this hotel unless you get a very cheap rate, and I would take detailed notes of any interactions with the staff here in case of problems.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank PolarBear777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Rooms are outdated but ok. Decent breakfast BUT THERE IS NO AC. CAN YOU BELIEVE IT.!! we could not have a resting sleep. Please charge me more but keep the AC on. The offer a free shuttle but you have to line up 10 minutes before departure to get a seat

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valdenio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Don't get the wrong impression. This isn't a bad hotel and it was super convenient to my business destination. It's just that in such a beautiful city the Sheraton is somewhat depressing. Service was good and prices are reasonable. Rooms are unspectacular. And if you're looking for something convenient to the city center it would probably be best to look elsewhere, though it may cost considerably more.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheathampstead, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night on business. It's a Sheraton last upgraded a long time ago. All would have been ok for 90 euro a night if the shower bracket had not fallen of the wall and landed on me. Not a word of apology or compassion from the receptionist when I gave the feedback

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sid122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Easy to find and park, this large Sheraton seemed to survive from the tour group bookings. One of our main reasons for booking was to drop off the car and take the free shuttle bus into the city, this worked a treat. The hotel had a good pool but was a typical dull and lifeless Sheraton at the end of the day. Poor quality and expensive internet, otherwise good value but well out off town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The website lists the hotel to be 3.6 kilometres from the city centre. Its actually over 12 km and a 20-22 euro taxi ride from SMN Florence Train station. Once I got the hotel, there was only one person at the reception desk and it took him 10 minutes to check me in. The exteriors are drab, the interiors of the rooms worse. Thankfully I had only one night to stay. Its a 15 minute walk to get to a bus stop to get to the city centre. They have a free shuttle service to the city, thrice before noon and thrice after. Did not have breakfast or any meals. I wish I had read the reviews on Trip advisor earlier. Can't believe SPG has this property on its list. Avoid unless you are driving and want to spend approx. euro 80 for a room to sleep in only. Then arrive at the hotel park your car there take the shuttle to the city and the last shuttle back and then drive on....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumeet_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
1.3 mi away
Together Florence Inn
Together Florence Inn
#289 of 412 in Florence
694 reviews
4.8 mi away
Nilhotel
Nilhotel
#189 of 412 in Florence
632 reviews
7.0 mi away
Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Villa Belvedere - Florence
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#192 of 412 in Florence
203 reviews
1.1 mi away
Relais Villa Il Sasso Historical Place
6.4 mi away
IH Hotel Firenze Business
IH Hotel Firenze Business
#220 of 412 in Florence
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conference Florentia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conference Florentia Hotel

Property: Conference Florentia Hotel
Address: Via Giovanni Arcangeli 33, 50126, Florence, Italy (Formerly Sheraton Firenze Hotel)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Conference Florentia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Conference Florentia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Florence
Sheraton Hotel Florence Italy
Florence Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing