We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a cheap option for an american hotel in florence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Conference Florentia Hotel
Ranked #361 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a cheap option for an american hotel in florence”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

if u dont mind staying a little off the busy streets, this is a good option. reasonable pricing, good shuttle service, large rooms and comfortabe. the hotel is rather old and it shows up in its rather old looks..... Else, it provided a perfect stay for the family.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank suman_sasmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    106
    169
    119
    78
See reviews for
83
124
23
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

The room that we had was average for a Sheraton. We could not seem to get the room cool enough to sleep. When we complained, they sent maintenance man who said the the hotel turns off air conditioning from 9PM until 11AM. Since we were on the fifth floor, the heat from other floors rises up so it barely gets cool before it goes off. We were on the sunny side of the building and the manager offered to move us to the other side, but the people staying in the room across the hall said they had the same problem. I would recommend this hotel only for cooler months

This property is about 3km from the historical area of Florence. The hotel has a free shuttle bus, but they had recently cut back the number of trips. If you have to take a taxi, it runs about 10-20euros, depending on what route they take.

We only used their restaurant for modest breakfast buffet, so I can't comment on it.

The Sheraton has high speed internet access just off the lobby. It has a reasonable charge to your credit card for the minutes that you use.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glenn1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinton, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

The hotel provides shuttles to the historic region of Firenze (Florence) which means you don't have to spend time trying to navigate your way around unfamiliar territory or find a place to park...timing is VERY precise, so don't be late! It is nice to have an American-style hotel in Italy, with all the expected amenities. Nice restaurant, our group bought the B&B plan and the breakfast is typically Italian cold buffet, but totally adequate. Staff is exceptionally nice, offered their assistance, and made the visit quite pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJPVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at the hotel using SPG Cash and Points. The hotel is very outdated and need a total remodel. I was surprised that its a Category 3 hotel in the SPG program. If I had I pay, I would be very disappointed.
The hotel offered a free shuttle to town so it was ok but it did take 1/2 hour to get into the city so it feels really far. I think the distance stated on the hotel website is inaccurate because it feels a lot longer than the 4.75km stated. The people working at the hotel was nice to us and this hotel cater mostly to tour groups. There was no free internet either and even the Links@Sheraton in the lobby charges money.
I don't think I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dshih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

The hotel is just off the motorway, and quite easy to find (it was on our Sat Nav). We had a hire car and were happy to have free parking and not use the car for our 3 days in Florence (you cannot drive into the centre anyway).
The hotel is spacious and very clean, if a little dated. The piped music in the lobby could do with up-dating! We had a huge room, with interconnecting door to our sons' spacious double room. TV with English channels a bonus. Air-conditioning worked well and was welcome after hot days in Florence, as was the pool. Pool open 11am-7pm. Very clean, but very few sun-loungers (there are plastic chairs and tables mostly). Nice to have bar food and drinks served at the pool on a trolley table with linen table cloths and napkins!
Breakfast was good and we ate in the restaurant one night. Food was good, but not great. One night eating there was fine, but not every night.
The shuttle bus was very useful, but probably not frequent enough and the last bus back from the centre is 9.30pm, which might not suit some people. The shuttle bus was never full when we used it. 15- 20 mins drive into the centre. We got a taxi twice, which cost approx 25 euro, including tip.
I was glad I had read the reviews before we went, because I think if you hadn't, you might not be so impressed with the location and the somewhat dated hotel. However, it suited our needs perfectly and was a good price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nuggies186638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San diego
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

This hotel is located directly off the autostradq and is built so you cannot hear any noise. In fact the room was so quiet, I could hear the bubbles in my fizzy water pop. The hotel has a pool and they run a free shuttle to and from the city center from 0830--2130. The rooms are clean and the bathrooms are all white career marble. All rooms have. Tub and shower. Massimiliano works the desk and his English is excellent and he probably can speak jappanese since the hotel get tour groups. The tour companies know this is a good deal. The hotel employs Italians to clean the rooms vice cheap labor from foreign nationals and the rooms are as clean as if you were at home. Italian women are known for spotless homes. The rooms have both wifi and wired internet and room safes. There is an ice machine on the bottom floor. If you are traveling by car, stay here. This is ideal and right off the main road and you can day trip it to Chianti or Siena. There is a supermarket behind the hotel and you can reach the hotel via public bus number 31 and 32.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Webpuccino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warszawa
Level Contributor
107 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

Guests,

I really do not recomend this hotel at all. It is far away from Airport ( taxi $0 euro without traffic jam). Also from city center but there is a shuttle bus ( I do not know about it existence before going to hotel by taxi, I discover it at hotel. But the hours of trip are not flexible and are not often - really very rear.
Comparing to Hilton Florence metropole which is also outside the city the comunication is far from city center.

My opinion is negative because I do not like the clean level.
The rooms seems to ffeel quite old, unrestaurated. The bathroom is very small to small sqm to put bath, bidet & wc - better not to put all in toilet. When sitting on wc You do not have a space to sit frontally!

I receive the room with broken window - not full possibility of closing. When I call reception they do not change my room ( not fully bokked hotel) but send a technican for repair it. It takes 10 minutes but I can hear the cars still.


This hotel is good located for people going by own car. That's only plus!

The reception staff - it takes a while for make the invoice. not so kind. There was no hotel Boy while checking-in but when checking-out there was 3 of them fighting for luggage.

The room service and food quality was good. I do not saw the sens egoing so far to city center by shuttle bus while there was football mach on tv.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ksiazemati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
1.2 mi away
Italiana Hotels Florence
Italiana Hotels Florence
#170 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
4.8 mi away
Nilhotel
Nilhotel
#173 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
1.1 mi away
Relais Villa Il Sasso Historical Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Firenze Novoli
B&B Hotel Firenze Novoli
#203 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
1.3 mi away
Together Florence Inn
Together Florence Inn
#223 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
7.0 mi away
Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conference Florentia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conference Florentia Hotel

Property: Conference Florentia Hotel
Address: Via Giovanni Arcangeli 33, 50126, Florence, Italy (Formerly Sheraton Firenze Hotel)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Conference Florentia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Conference Florentia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Florence
Sheraton Hotel Florence Italy
Florence Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing