We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Principe was Magnificent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Principe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Principe Hotel
Ranked #208 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“The Principe was Magnificent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2008

My family and I stayed at the Principe in mid July 2008, and our stay was outstanding. Giuliano Nissi, the proprietor and his excellent staff made us feel most welcome and accommodated our visit in every way. We will most definitely stay at the Principe on our next visit to Florence. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cschwand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    99
    37
    10
    5
See reviews for
52
147
30
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2008

We stayed here for our 25th wedding anniversary and booked a "standard double room" through airmiles. On arrival we were allocated a room with terrace overlooking the Arno, which was a lovely surprise. The hotel decor was quite dated and our room was a little shabby although spotlessly clean; we stayed for 4 nights and the bed linen was changed twice! In the evenings the bed was turned down and the curtains were drawn while we were out.
The breakfast was fabulous and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic and the view from the rooftop terrace is beautiful.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — decor
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethmacmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greystones, Ireland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2008

We stayed in the Principe for one night and were very impressed.
It's ideally located close to the city centre and also overlooking the river. It also has car parking, which is a big plus. The owners were incredibly welcoming and friendly. We were offered the choice of two rooms, which we were shown. What other hotels would do this? The first room with a river view was very small but the second room with the garden view was much bigger and had amazing old fashioned decor and a warm feel to it. We opted for the larger room as they were the same price (the smaller room really was very small!!!). I was also allowed to use their computer to surf the internet for no charge (again, main stream hotels would charge for this "privilege") . The breakfast was included and was simple enough, but then again Italians don't really do breakfast. Again, however the service was warm and friendly and couldn't be fautled. The air conditioning in the rooms was excellent, which was a major plus given the temperatures outside. The hotel had a lovely dated feel to it and the decor and paintings, etc, make you feel like you're in old Italy, and are very much in keeping with the ambience of Florence.

  • Liked — Service and old world feel
  • Disliked — Lift was very small
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diarmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2008

I have just returned from 15 days in Florence and Tuscany. I stayed at the Hotel Principe for 8 nights. This was my second time at the Principe and I highly recommend it. It is ideally located, includes beautiful views of the Arno and is surrounded by a wonderful walled garden. Most importantly, this family run establishment welcomes you into their home. Rooms, furnishings, and staff make you feel like a guest at an old palace. I highly recommend this hotel for the total experience and for a good value.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank BellaItaliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison,wi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2008

This is the most magnificent hotel-villa along the Arno to stay in Florence! The owners will welcome you like family and treat you as royalty. You will love the room, gardens, location ... Don't miss this jewel!! The owners are a family and they are willing to share all the history of the villa which dates from1850 and was built for the Kings mistress.
Enjoy!!!

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank marcia26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2008

We were booked into the Hotel Principe by Airmiles and were so glad that they made this booking for us. Our total stay in Florence was 10 days so it gave us a good opportunity to judge the hotel. Firstly it was really good to stay in a small hotel owned by an Italian family rather than a large international hotel . The owners and staff went out of there way to make our stay a great experience. The hotel was friendly, very clean and comfortable. Florence is a buzzing typically noisy city, the hotel is nicely located on the River Arno and we can highly recommend the rooms overlooking the garden to the rear of the hotel which gave some degree of tranquillity from the city noises even with the windows open. Amenities such as rail and coach terminals, plus city centre and all facilities e.g. shopping, restaurants and sight seeing were all within walking distance. This hotel only provides bed and breakfast facilities (breakfast good choice for all cultures). We can highly recommend this hotel for a wonderful stay in the beautiful city of Florence.

  • Liked — Clean,comfortable with large window and balcony
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank equhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USVI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2008

We have just returned from our trip to Italy, and staying at the Hotel Principe made our visit to Florence a superior experience. Every staff member we encountered went out of their way to help. When asked tourist type questions, they not only gave the answer, but also provided similar options and services. Again, the staff is 5 star.

Staying at this hotel, a traveler can experience what it was like in Florence in the 18th Century. Authentic period rooms, furnished with period pieces. Just what my husband and I wanted for our stay.

Bathroom was magnificent, bigger than large, with luxury towels. Breakfast was wonderful having a continental breakfast that includes eggs if requested.

The only drawback we found (not the hotel's fault) was the smoking. As this hotel is small, non-smoking floors don't exist. Guests should know ahead of time that the quests in the adjoining suite might smoke, and there is nothing that can be done, even if you requested a non-smoking room.

Overall, a great experience. My husband and I recommend this hotel to travelers who want to experience Florence as it was, with the added bonus of staff who are willing to go the distance to make your stay great.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, room size, location, views, breakfast
  • Disliked — smoking
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chtddrzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Della Robbia
#198 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#249 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Villa Carlotta Hotel
#229 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#192 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Classic Hotel
#222 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#22 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Principe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Principe Hotel

Property: Principe Hotel
Address: Lungarno Amerigo Vespucci 34, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#96 Family Hotel in Florence
#99 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#102 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Principe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Principe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing